Knife sharpening services

menthol28

Anyone knows where got knife sharpening service? I've got a few kitchen knives $100-200, I've tried those DIY stones and those that you roll the knife in-between the rollers. Nothing seems to sharpened the knife to it's original sharpness when new. The stones need some kind of skills and patience to sharpen but I've neither

menthol28

red hill market there got a shop
Is it facing the coffeeshop? I remembered passing by there and saw before, but everytime it's closed and I stay in the east. Any idea whats the opening hours?

menthol28

Just buy sharpener
I've bought at least 4 types of sharpeners, dun really work. I might be using incorrectly but all 4 the same results.
I always see on YT those sushi chefs or butchers slice the fish meat or meat so effortlessly and clean cut.

BlackWing1977

Anyone knows where got knife sharpening service? I've got a few kitchen knives $100-200, I've tried those DIY stones and those that you roll the knife in-between the rollers. Nothing seems to sharpened the knife to it's original sharpness when new. The stones need some kind of skills and patience to sharpen but I've neither
Avoid the rollers lar.. those are not good.. whetstone is fine but you need practice first... but please get a range of grit.. minimally 2 grit like around #1000 for basic sharpening (not repair of edge hor), #3000 for basic polishing (remember basic polishing not for very fine.. those are even higher grit) if you feeling you want to polish further can get something like #6000 or #8000 the key is not to jump overly high grit..

BlackWing1977

I've bought at least 4 types of sharpeners, dun really work. I might be using incorrectly but all 4 the same results.
I always see on YT those sushi chefs or butchers slice the fish meat or meat so effortlessly and clean cut.
If you want to get someone to sharpen and learn as well as get a set of stones.. you can visit the knife shop near Tiong Bahru area.... it is at Tan Boon Liat Building, just at 1st floor. I think the boss there or staff will teach you how to do it if you buy whetstones from them.

dotarian007

Is it facing the coffeeshop? I remembered passing by there and saw before, but everytime it's closed and I stay in the east. Any idea whats the opening hours?
yup

Professional Knives & Sharpeners​

Address: 79 Redhill Ln, #01-62, Singapore 150079
Hours:

Monday2–8 pm
Tuesday2–8 pm
Wednesday2–8 pm
Thursday2–8 pm
Friday2–8 pm
Saturday10 am–8 pm
Sunday10 am–8 pm

menthol28

Avoid the rollers lar.. those are not good.. whetstone is fine but you need practice first... but please get a range of grit.. minimally 2 grit like around #1000 for basic sharpening (not repair of edge hor), #3000 for basic polishing (remember basic polishing not for very fine.. those are even higher grit) if you feeling you want to polish further can get something like #6000 or #8000 the key is not to jump overly high grit..
When u get such fine whetstone? I've been to so many hardware or those market stalls , they usually carry 1-2 types of whetstone. Yes, those rollers I noticed really grind and wear out the steel faster and still not sharp enough

BlackWing1977

When u get such fine whetstone? I've been to so many hardware or those market stalls , they usually carry 1-2 types of whetstone. Yes, those rollers I noticed really grind and wear out the steel faster and still not sharp enough
That knife shop at Tan Boon Liat Building lor.. they sell Japanese knives one... and the boss sharpen the knives himself.. usually... or else is his staff doing it.. but also trained by him lar..

menthol28

Bro his knives are expensive hor... that Pow Li auntie is jitao put to the grinding wheel to grind.. got sparks one.. got thick scratch mark across the whole blade leh. :sick:
Not really so expensive, I've seen $300+ knives. Mine is just normal lesser than $300, always buy wanna pretend to be sushi chefs or MasterChef 😂

menthol28

Anyone bought this Horl knife sharpening set? Seems like very good but heart pain to buy, 1 set is $200+

BlackWing1977

Anyone bought this Horl knife sharpening set? Seems like very good but heart pain to buy, 1 set is $200+

You buy this and you buy into the sharpening system lor.. you learn to sharpen with whetstones... you keep the skill with you and you dun have to stick to a certain brand of stones or sharpening system... :sick:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.