Knife sharpening services

yperic

Anyone knows where got knife sharpening service? I've got a few kitchen knives $100-200, I've tried those DIY stones and those that you roll the knife in-between the rollers. Nothing seems to sharpened the knife to it's original sharpness when new. The stones need some kind of skills and patience to sharpen but I've neither

Your knife you use for how long if it a few year you never sharp your knife you need to use machine to sharp back the sharpness try red hill market

BlackWing1977

Your knife you use for how long if it a few year you never sharp your knife you need to use machine to sharp back the sharpeners try red hill market
To be honest, I think machine should only be used when you need to repair the edge of the blade like removing a chip... and need to grind down the entire blade then thin it.. or else everything use machine.. the blade will wear out very fast one.. for cheap knives maybe dun need to think too much lar.. but TS knives like not cheap...

menthol28

To be honest, I think machine should only be used when you need to repair the edge of the blade like removing a chip... and need to grind down the entire blade then thin it.. or else everything use machine.. the blade will wear out very fast one.. for cheap knives maybe dun need to think too much lar.. but TS knives like not cheap...
I will most likely go to both since I'm around there. Bring a few knives let the Redhill market sharpen and then to Razorsharp to buy accessories 😆

menthol28

Didn't know so many knife enthusiast here, I always thought not many ppl interested in such boh liao things. My wife always scold me for buying expensive knives 😂

vespaguy

If you want to get someone to sharpen and learn as well as get a set of stones.. you can visit the knife shop near Tiong Bahru area.... it is at Tan Boon Liat Building, just at 1st floor. I think the boss there or staff will teach you how to do it if you buy whetstones from them.
Razorsharp. You can bring your knives to them. $15 if simple sharpening and min 3 (so $45). They do a fantastic job.
Pakcik also sharpens but does not take on commissions right now

menthol28

actually how sharp is considered sharp? i sharpened my knife till can slice newspaper happy leow :p
I think that's what I'm looking for, able to slice a piece of paper effortlessly. When u cut or slice meat it's a clean cut

ceestudent

Actually use wetstone quite simple one.
Can apply the marker to check if your angle is correct before start.

Then when sharpen, only apply pressure when you pull away from the edge. Don't push your edge to the stone.

Double bevel knife won't be as sharp as single bevel (jap sushi chef type) one, but is good enough for kitchen use lah. Unless you want to cut sashimi or what.

Just practice and practice. Not practical to keep paying people to sharpen, unless your edge is damaged and to form new one.

Oh, don't anyhow grind your expensive knife. The tempered steel can spoilt if too hot during grinding process.

menthol28

Actually knife above how much is considered expensive? And if wanna buy $200 jap knife what brand should I look for

hotamp

to be honest knives dont sharpened until very sharp lah, very dangerous, few months back i was gutting fish, then the knife slipped and the blade cut right through one of my finger nail and into the flesh behind...knn got a shock of my life 😓 , luckily not that deep, faster do compression after a while blood stop oozing....now i wear a wired glove (majam like michael jackson) while gutting fish leow :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.