Knife sharpening services

FireEmblem

Actually knife above how much is considered expensive? And if wanna buy $200 jap knife what brand should I look for

Expensive may not be good.

Those Germany zwilling knife expensive but compared to japanese knife are lousy.

You can even get cheap vg 10 knife from china that are better then zwilling

Way too many japanese knife. Can try japanesechefsknife.com to look around

Nuclear Boy

I concur with the other users suggesting you to buy whetstones and learn to do it yourself. It is a useful skill to have.

You can buy some cheap kitchen knives to practice on, before sharpening your own sayang.

jazz2005

There's a small hardware shop that provides knife sharpening service at Blk 226C Ang Mo Kio St 22 just opposite kebun Baru Market. I brought my mom's kitchen knifes there for sharpening before. The one at Redhill will try to sell a new knife from Taiwan which I ended buying but my mom said the Taiwan knife not very good. 😭

BlackWing1977

There's a small hardware shop that provides knife sharpening service at Blk 226C Ang Mo Kio St 22 just opposite kebun Baru Market. I brought my mom's kitchen knifes there for sharpening before. The one at Redhill will try to sell a new knife from Taiwan which I ended buying but my mom said the Taiwan knife not very good. 😭
Taiwan knife expensive or not?? :oops:

BlackWing1977

Actually knife above how much is considered expensive? And if wanna buy $200 jap knife what brand should I look for
If you talking about the knife in the demo.. that one if I am not wrong is a customed knife made from swedish steel AEB-L I think customed hardness of the steel...

This is the specs from the video description, price not sure...... I think could be $400++ google shows a result from 5 years ago promotion at $400... so now with the crazy inflation... o_O

Knife Specifications:-
Name: Ashi Ginga Gyuto 240mm
Blade Steel: AEB-L, HRC 61~62
Handle: Western Composite Handle
Blade Length: 245mm (Heel to Tip)
Total Length: 376mm
Blade Height at Heel: 51mm
Spine Thickness at Heel: 2.38mm
Total Weight: 214.4g

Vitacimin

Expensive may not be good.

Those Germany zwilling knife expensive but compared to japanese knife are lousy.

You can even get cheap vg 10 knife from china that are better then zwilling

Way too many japanese knife. Can try japanesechefsknife.com to look around
Zwilling makes Japanese knives in Japan, those like lousy too?! :oops:

Dracky

All knives can be sharpened but it is the more expensive ones that hold their sharpness better because their steel is harder. It is also important to hone your knives every few days if you use them everyday. Professional kitchens sharpen or hone their knives everyday.

I think any knife above $200 is about marketing hype. I use a 2nd hand Shun Japanese knife bought from Carousell and am happy with it.

yperic

actually how sharp is considered sharp? i sharpened my knife till can slice newspaper happy leow :p

If your knife can slice through paper it is sharp alway remember a blunt knife is a dangerous knife cause you are using force to cut through if you accidentally cut your hand or finger it will be a very deep cut.

Taloona

I throw away and buy new ones. My knives cost less than $50 each. How to dispose old knives? Wrap in newspapers and throw into rubbish chutes?

testerjp

Go youtube find project farm. He got test what's the best knife sharpener. It's not whetstone. It's some funny gadget iirc.
I will DIY if I'm u.

If your metal is not hard enough, it will go blunt again very easily. Too hard also got another problem, I forgot what is it,maybe harder to sharpen. :(

kuti-kuti

actually ño use sharpening it. once the original outer coating grined off, the inside material will not be as tough, will keep wearing off.

BlackWing1977

actually ño use sharpening it. once the original outer coating grined off, the inside material will not be as tough, will keep wearing off.
What outer coating???

If you talking about clad knives.. those are quite common.. like the most venerable Tojiro DP that I am using, cheap but good... VG10 core steel softer stainless cladding outside, but the edge keeps sharp very well, but some are made entirely of the same hard steel.. that is why some have premium price tag... especially more so if they came from a maker that is very good at tempering the steel as in not mass produced...

I mean if you look at all the so called pretty Damascus out there.. they are made the same way.. except the clad steel is nicer looking with the pattern. There is still the core steel clad right in the centre.

BlackWing1977

Go youtube find project farm. He got test what's the best knife sharpener. It's not whetstone. It's some funny gadget iirc.
I will DIY if I'm u.

If your metal is not hard enough, it will go blunt again very easily. Too hard also got another problem, I forgot what is it,maybe harder to sharpen. :(
Depends on how blunt it gets lor... soft steel knives loses the edge very easily and you have to sharpen it often unless you can live with a blunt edge... which is terrible and dangerous... by the way those sharpening steel thing dun quite work for Japanese knife with certain hardness hor... it only works for german knives or softer steel knives.. unless your sharpening steel is actually made of ceramic or coated with diamond coating.

Enola88

Anyone knows where got knife sharpening service? I've got a few kitchen knives $100-200, I've tried those DIY stones and those that you roll the knife in-between the rollers. Nothing seems to sharpened the knife to it's original sharpness when new. The stones need some kind of skills and patience to sharpen but I've neither
Bring to the sushi shop, ask the chef to sharpen for you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.