...lai liao...Unfair If Home-Based Diners Who Could Earn $1Mil Annually Exempt From Govt Regulations, Says Ex-Restaurateur

zuoom

I had dinner at the said million dollar home business Sam Wong's house before.

His terrace is segregated into 3 or 4 eating rooms, some big and some small. Some can accommodate 12 pax, some 8. I think overall 30 pax is accurate.

He charges $130 per diner and his food, some good some okok. His specialty duck soup was pretty good. Crayfish kway teow was ok ok only

The thing is, he is always full house, and I am not surprised when the article says he is fully booked till Mar 2026.

So not surprising that his revenue is close to a million. With lesser overhead, I believe his profit margin can reach 50% or more. His only costs are ingredients, condiments, electricity, water and gas.
His Instagram page.
https://www.instagram.com/luckyhouse_privatekitchen/?hl=en

Full_Cream_Milk

Save cost is save cost.

To make that $2700 in revenue means every single day, there is say 20 pax paying $135.

Every single day.
That person who complain

Must be thinking those home based profit

Drop from the sky

Don’t need to work

seeseelooklook

That person who complain

Must be thinking those home based profit

Drop from the sky

Don’t need to work

It's hard work for sure. he said he spent many hours cooking on his own and with some help from his family members.

But the place is not really conducive for private dining. I have the constant fear of lizards dropping down from the ceiling while dining there in the biggest room which is near the cooking arear in the yard. Cos the place is not new and sparkling clean type. Typical old terrace house with many random things around the house.

fortunehunter

Rent a swee sweet condo at marina area oversee view of MBS for 15k per month.

Turn the condo into a home base restaurant that can house 20 pax at one go.
Charge one pax for 150 SGD.

fortunehunter

Rent a BBQ pit at ecp.
Set up 2 tables with nice setting.
Charge 200 per couple for the BBQ and grill seafood.

Godeau

But there is some truth abt what is mentioned regarding regulation and home-based food business.

It's easy to say "you choose to eat, u tio food poisoning, ur problem" - the same can be said abt regulated restaurants.

Problem is how u take them to task when there are such cases...

Or issit wait until "something" happen (food poisoning, rat infestation, fight break out etc) then police investigate, then open can of worms to realise sales exceed $1mil, noise and nuisance to neighbours, never clean problem cause pest infestation affect neighbours etc...

How clean the preparation environment is, u also dunno. No A B C cleanliness label. Granted u can say that mark doesn't mean anything, that u saw grade A stall look super dirty bla bla, but those are outliers rather than the norm, degradation over time - but at least u know "someone" will "audit them" some day.
But some edmwer here says that that's their house, of course they'll keep it clean, no worries. :s22:

The truth is that it is usually far from it.

Zinna

Usually, those in landed properties can then earn 1million from home-based business. Those staying in HDB are unlikely to get it
Support taxing those gao gao

woonwoonjiakbeehoon

revenue 1m, $2739 collected in revenue per day, very easy to achieve this number to be honest

lets just say your profit margin is 10%, which is 100k
you only make $7000+ per mth after taxes
If purely home-based and no commercial rental still so little profit margin?

priore

But some edmwer here says that that's their house, of course they'll keep it clean, no worries. :s22:

The truth is that it is usually far from it.
Ya lor, everyone will think their house is clean one. Just dunno by whose standard.

In sure all the boomer hoarder uncle and aunties we see on news, hoard until cockroach infestation and need to sleep on corridor or void deck, I'm sure they also think their house no need to clean up.

rlskyline

I had dinner at the said million dollar home business Sam Wong's house before.

His terrace is segregated into 3 or 4 eating rooms, some big and some small. Some can accommodate 12 pax, some 8. I think overall 30 pax is accurate.

He charges $130 per diner and his food, some good some okok. His specialty duck soup was pretty good. Crayfish kway teow was ok ok only

The thing is, he is always full house, and I am not surprised when the article says he is fully booked till Mar 2026.

So not surprising that his revenue is close to a million. With lesser overhead, I believe his profit margin can reach 50% or more. His only costs are ingredients, condiments, electricity, water and gas.
$130 is very high profit margin

moonlighter_sg

HK should be only the rich can do this home base business since their land very limited?
This idea is not new, 30 years back already got Hongkies setting up this home base business in New Zealand and Australia. I got invited to attend once. They decorate one dining room beautifully for fine dining. The boss is a retired chef from Hong Kong.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.