...lai liao...Unfair If Home-Based Diners Who Could Earn $1Mil Annually Exempt From Govt Regulations, Says Ex-Restaurateur

icebleue

joke la... home based diner cant earn $1 million... open 24 hours also cannot make that amount.

Dracky

Restaurants should convert to HBB, move to residential areas, and create food hygiene and noise pollution problems, to get the government to act.

The government is inclined to just monitor until problems arise.

iluvchickenwing

funny how gov dont allow air bnb but allow such private home based dining biz. if im the boss, i will charge another $150 for overnite makan. jiak bah bah liao then u can go upstairs and sleep. :LOL:

glarerder

funny how gov dont allow air bnb but allow such private home based dining biz. if im the boss, i will charge another $150 for overnite makan. jiak bah bah liao then u can go upstairs and sleep. :LOL:
That would be short term hotel biz. Got to deal with possible vice related activity which seek to mask the intent

krikering

Why not blame the greedy landlords when they are the ones responsible for this in the 1st place?

In fact, some of the home-based businesses are forced to do so due to the rising rental expenses, etc.

They should be directing all the anger/unhappiness towards Capitaland/JTC/Surbana Jurong/Mapletree and CDL/UOL/Far East, etc. in the 1st place.

Optrex

who ask restaurants collect service charge? earn 1 million a year can liao ma. who ask them to earn more than that and make diners pay gst? open another company UEN la, or use sole proprietor. who ask them start PTE LTD and incur extra expense? really go and toh better

not only service charge for non existent service hor. many also exclude the gst from menu price. u get bill shock when u pay... really is they deserve to fail.

OddEye

I can't see home based business able to earn 1 million unless they earn across multiple homes around the island

niefeng80

own citizens suck thumb and LL. but if u implement Airbnb, the international hotel chains will get affected and they will exit sg

kreja

I already said in other thread. This will open flood gate. Soon theres no difference between commercial retail space and residential space.

tExtra

Why not blame the greedy landlords when they are the ones responsible for this in the 1st place?

In fact, some of the home-based businesses are forced to do so due to the rising rental expenses, etc.

They should be directing all the anger/unhappiness towards Capitaland/JTC/Surbana Jurong/Mapletree and CDL/UOL/Far East, etc. in the 1st place.
He could be a MIW mole trying to sensationalise / make a case for state intervention. Stirring landlord = stirring his master.

TrollAndOgres

One day, can just rent the space and do several businesses while staying there. Example, photography / home studio, hair salon, nail / facial, while the porch or living room area can be for cafe. Or can do things like tuition, music or art lessons etc. Apparently can register a few businesses.

Good idea for those who can cook and household has someone with other talents.

cpuer

Save cost is save cost.

To make that $2700 in revenue means every single day, there is say 20 pax paying $135.

Every single day.
must have a large teams of free labours to assist too, wife, kids, relatives etc

Ethan_

home based how to earn 1mil?
the smaller space will restrict earnings also ma
Think seems like trying to throw 'sai' at the wall see what stick. The thing is home based tends to be very small scale business with limited number of customers. Beyond certain scale, they need to get a proper business premise liao. So, unless is sell very expensive stuff one person can earn alot of money. If not, think there is no way in hell most home based earns alot of money. Many are just people with free time make some small change only.

Visor9999

Why is the owner complaining? He can also buy a terrace house and start a million dollar home business

Solidus_GZ

I had dinner at the said million dollar home business Sam Wong's house before.

His terrace is segregated into 3 or 4 eating rooms, some big and some small. Some can accommodate 12 pax, some 8. I think overall 30 pax is accurate.

He charges $130 per diner and his food, some good some okok. His specialty duck soup was pretty good. Crayfish kway teow was ok ok only

The thing is, he is always full house, and I am not surprised when the article says he is fully booked till Mar 2026.

So not surprising that his revenue is close to a million. With lesser overhead, I believe his profit margin can reach 50% or more. His only costs are ingredients, condiments, electricity, water and gas.
Can meh like that? He save alot on rental le, this guy smiling to the bank

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.