Lastest S$ Deposit updates - Part 3

vsvs24

the tick is don't go to the main branch, smaller branch is faster
Agree. I ever went to city area of a Malaysian bank. They were so slow.

But when I went to the branch at HDB estate, they have a lot more counters and queue move faster. Think they are used to large crowd and so have already formed some process to handle queues better than the not so crowded city area branch.

semiret

aiyo... why need to vent your anger on the poor counter staff, they also cannot control staff deployment, you should go to the branch manager if you want to give ppl a piece of your mind mah.

Yea lor, why have to behave so ugly, not as if the staff on the ground can control anything or make any decision. Why cannot have 1 staff to handle FD? Not as if you are the CEO of UOB. If cannot wait go other bank, which you already did, still need to drama in the branch before walking out.
I didn't scold the counter staff lah. I just highlighted to her the way Banks treats the FD customers that needs to open new FD it's just counter-productive lor. It'll turn away a lots of potential customers. As in front of me still got around 8 customers. If 1hr the queue no doesn't moved makes no sense for me to wait another 5 or 6hrs. That's why I told them they can skip my no and walks off.

3XTR3M1ST

wNBITyB.jpg

last night placed several 10ks for 18mth 4.15%. now thinking if I shall cancel a few and shorten the period

Sent from Poco F3 using EDMWER app!
What bank?

Mickey01

I didn't scold the counter staff lah. I just highlighted to her the way Banks treats the FD customers that needs to open new FD it's just counter-productive lor. It'll turn away a lots of potential customers. As in front of me still got around 8 customers. If 1hr the queue no doesn't moved makes no sense for me to wait another 5 or 6hrs. That's why I told them they can skip my no and walks off.
isn't it most of the banks are affected by the crowd nowadays and no matter what services you want, you join the main Q? Today I was at one of the banks inside a shopping mall, just to change my e token (battery dead). I entered the branch n get a Q number at 12.30pm. As my number was further down, I decided to go for lunch before i return to the branch. When I returned at 1.30pm, the Q LED display moved only 10 numbers. I finally replaced the token and left the branch at 3.40pm ... 3 hours after i obtained my Q number :oops:

semiret

isn't it most of the banks are affected by the crowd nowadays and no matter what services you want, you join the main Q? Today I was at one of the banks inside a shopping mall, just to change my e token (battery dead). I entered the branch n get a Q number at 12.30pm. As my number was further down, I decided to go for lunch before i return to the branch. When I returned at 1.30pm, the Q LED display moved only 10 numbers. I finally replaced the token and left the branch at 3.40pm ... 3 hours after i obtained my Q number :oops:
You wants to discourage FD holders to break their FDs. You set another queue for this group of peoples. Anyway UOB already separate by different queue group. But for new account opening is your new customers. Yet you tekan them by providing such lousy service. Your case is 1hr 10 numbers. My case is 1hr 0 number moved. Yours still moving but my one just stuck there. Actually the banking hall still got a lots of staff quite free walks here and there. They for sure will knows what's the situation inside their banking hall. They should allocated more man power to speed up for opening of new accounts. Just my thought.

Mickey01

You wants to discourage FD holders to break their FDs. You set another queue for this group of peoples. Anyway UOB already separate by different queue group. But for new account opening is your new customers. Yet you tekan them by providing such lousy service. Your case is 1hr 10 numbers. My case is 1hr 0 number moved. Yours still moving but my one just stuck there. Actually the banking hall still got a lots of staff quite free walks here and there. They for sure will knows what's the situation inside their banking hall. They should allocated more man power to speed up for opening of new accounts. Just my thought.
blame the scammers for the heightened security in the financial industry esp the banks. Previously I can call CSO and they are willing to post the token via mail (that was a few years ago). If this is an option, i am prepared to wait 3 to 5 business days and I don't even want to step into a bank branch (y)

jywy2005

Agree. I ever went to city area of a Malaysian bank. They were so slow.

But when I went to the branch at HDB estate, they have a lot more counters and queue move faster. Think they are used to large crowd and so have already formed some process to handle queues better than the not so crowded city area branch.
Some banks they deploy their RM to help with the account openings or FD. At the same time, try to sell you structured deposits.

vsvs24

Some banks they deploy their RM to help with the account openings or FD. At the same time, try to sell you structured deposits.
That's my encounter at POSB for tbills using CPF. Used to be at teller than changed to the investment desks. The guy say need to update my profile in the system. Ask this and that including salary. I say everything is in the system. No change.

Later from email received turn out he was filling up the financial profile and Customer Account Review (CAR) and Customer Knowledge Assessment (CKA).

Probably wanted to sell me something that requires them. But my face so black and I was very impatient so he did not try to sell but help me process the tbill application.

Tacky667

Think might wait till Jan before I deposit, in case banks got some CNY promos..
Which banks currently good to park funds ah? Last month already use RHB, think now eSaver is next best option? 3.8%

jywy2005

Hope CPF board will review their rates in Mar, since many people are withdrawing their funds to buy T-bills or place FD.
Let’s see whether the banks will roll out online placements of T-bills using CPF funds by Mar next year.
Then, the queue at the banks can get much shorter.

Devilsire

Think might wait till Jan before I deposit, in case banks got some CNY promos..
Which banks currently good to park funds ah? Last month already use RHB, think now eSaver is next best option? 3.8%

esaver 3.8% or UOB 5% 100k with mthly $500 spend + salary or 3giro (3%)

Sent from Poco F3 using EDMWER app!

yuppieboy

esaver 3.8% only promo Dec and jan bonus interest only right. After that no more?
My understanding is anytime from now till mth of jan, 3.8% is applicable unless the rate revises upwards, then follow the new rates. Otherwise end of jan will revert back to 2.8% till March.

vsvs24

esaver 3.8% only promo Dec and jan bonus interest only right. After that no more?
My understanding is anytime from now till mth of jan, 3.8% is applicable unless the rate revises upwards, then follow the new rates. Otherwise end of jan will revert back to 2.8% till March.
Esaver every 2 mths they will announce new cycle. Current cycle is 3.8% for Dec to Jan. Reference mth Nov.

On 31 Jan or 1 Feb they will announce the rate for Feb to Mar, reference mth Jan.

Above referring to the published rates open to everyone, not the invitation.

Caesar

Hi all,

Am new to this whole FD thing…

Got a spare $250k in my DBS account

Happy to take it out and put into a new bank account for 12 months FD

Which bank & plan would you suggest?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.