Let's DELL

wadsad

:s22: seems like Dell Alienware need to change their current GPU in the laptop into latest one. Else I wonder how many will go buy the Alienware Graphic Amplifier.

Maybe getting a Dell Inspiron 17 7000 with 4K UHD Touchscreen would be a better gaming experience with the touchscreen and maybe Intel Realsense camera external unit.

really need to depend on how difficult it is to make the next high end graphics card into a gpu.

if can say almost same time as the release of the desktop graphics card, then gg liao dell.

Ohayo!

Dell can do another mitx alienware that is more powerful than that alienware alpha, and shaped like a gigatenic aliens head, with water cooling and the radiator can be part of alien skull. I feel people who will buy fully built pc wants something special and not possible with diy. Apple has a dustbin Mac pro which is powerful but still compact because they invested in a custom designed to work in such small footprint

This is a very interesting idea! or maybe shape it like some UFO also can. Add some LED lights on the outside can look like real UFO :s13:

jtec14

its going for 299$.
i think sure got ppl bo liao enough to diy until it can fit a long graphics card. :s13:
Wah, the dell alienware already so expensive, this optional item Graphic Amplifier with suitable GPU sold separately is not cheap also. :crazy:

mosmos

The alienware graphics amplifier will need to be specially made for alienware laptop so Dell can control how well it works. It does not use standard thunderbolt because Dell find that it is limiting to what they want.
Dell Alienware Graphic Amplifier external wiring connection was too messy, I wonder how many would bother to plug in and out the cables everyday for 365 days a year.

Maybe a better solution would be using a ultra fast 5G wireless connection at 1Tbps between the laptop and Graphics Amplifier

maxresdefault.jpg

Link: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/5g-researchers-achieve-1tbps-record-connection-speed-uk-1489525

Researchers from the University of Surrey have achieved the fastest 5G wireless transmission speed ever while developing a wireless network, achieving one terabit per second (1Tbps), which is many thousands of times faster than 4G.

The breakthrough was made at the university's 5G Innovation Centre (5GIC), which was founded by a host of telecoms industry partners including Huawei, Fujitsu, EE, Aircom, BT, Samsung, Telefonica, Vodafone, Aeroflex and Rohde & Schwarz, as well as the BBC.

jtec14

I think this proprietary cables and port is one of the way how Dell will make serious gamer did die must get their Alienware series in order to make use of the Alienware Graphics Amplifier. :s8:
sounds like apple lighting cable.

wadsad

Wah, the dell alienware already so expensive, this optional item Graphic Amplifier with suitable GPU sold separately is not cheap also. :crazy:

yeah. quite an expensive investment.

but it brings about a sense of future proof bah. can use the laptop for years.

kimsix

Dell Alienware Graphic Amplifier external wiring connection was too messy, I wonder how many would bother to plug in and out the cables everyday for 365 days a year.

Maybe a better solution would be using a ultra fast 5G wireless connection at 1Tbps between the laptop and Graphics Amplifier

maxresdefault.jpg

Link: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/5g-researchers-achieve-1tbps-record-connection-speed-uk-1489525

I think in due time when the wireless specs mature, alienware may look into doing just that. The graphics amplifier is a sign that alienware dare to research into unconventional means to make interesting gaming systems.

But gamers will need some convincing to do something wirelessly, the common idea is wireless is bad for gaming

jtec14

Dell Alienware is a portable high performance gaming laptop without sacrifice the dimension .
However, the weight of Alienware 15 R2 is 3.2KG is much more heavier than Dell Inspiron 15 7000, not as easy as just slot into backpack.
But again Dell Alienware does not have Intel Realsense Camera or 4K UHD touchscreen, a disappointment when other Dell laptops having better specs at cheaper pricing.

Link: http://www.dell.com/sg/p/alienware-15-r2/pd?ref=PD_OC
wvgy3AI.jpg
IMHO, Since they are touted as gaming machines, it does not make any sense to include intel realsense camera and 4k UHD due to the below:
1. The alienware family are already selling at a premium, why make it even more expensive by adding more premium stuffs?
2. There are not much games that make use of intel realsense camera at this point of time. (Dell Inspiron 24 7000 and Dell Venue 8 7000 need it to justify the prices =:p )
3. Dell do know that a FHD is sufficient for gaming for a 15"+ screen, can't really see the differences. (It is available in Dell Inspiron 15 7000 to justify the price too =:p )

Ohayo!

For me all the laptops that listed in the picture can see cannot touch. :o

These are high end gaming laptops plus the weight and their price are the few factors that stopping me to get them. :o

Hmm if they really put a desktop GTX 980 into a notebook.. surely it will provide powerful graphic performance at a cost. I dont think its a great idea since you will compensate it from long battery life. So unless you use switchable graphic else sure suck your battery like free. It will weigh a ton too.

I think ill still choose Alienware 15 + Alienware Graphics Amplifier :s13:

MoneyFace =p

This is inevitable. If you want desktop GPU performance, this is the least you can settle for. Already very good wor. Smaller than desktop CPU.

Anyway seems like nobody mentioned about the Alienware screen not being touchscreen. I suppose this would add greater value for gamers. Dell Alienware should make this optional for the consumers too.

Having touchscreen functionality on high end gaming oriented laptops is totally meaningless and superfluous as there's no mainstream AAA game that involves touch gesture gameplay. You also don't see it featuring on any other competing brand laptops too.

Even if there's such games available on the market, imagine gamers playing to typing on keyboard while trying to press on the screen at the same time. That's very unergonomic for gamers. I also wouldn't want to see fingerprints smudges colonising my beloved screen when i'm playing regular games with keyboard and mouse.

If i want to play touchscreen games like Clash of Titans, i will rather consider a mainstream convertible laptop/tablet than doing it on a touchscreen gaming notebook. IMO they are just 2 different gaming experience that you cannot simply fuse them, at least for now.

mosmos

Not only its price, I think Dell will also going to make slimmer version of Alienware Graphics Amplifier for mobility and portability purpose. :)

if graphics card maker don't want to improve the size of gpu, Dell Alienware Graphics Amplifier would still have to make the whole case as big as a shoebox to accommodate the GPU card~ :s22:

Ohayo!

Alienware 17 R3 does not have a powerful GPU as compared to Desktop GPU? :s11:

Else, why are consumer paying more for Alienware 17 R3 when a dell inspiron 17 7000 is just less than 50% of the price? :s11:

Since need to get a Alienware Graphics Amplifier for Alienware laptop, the Alienware laptop like handicapped.

Branding i guess? All that design and lighting too. Build quality also counts.

Alienware notebook is optimized for gaming so probably you can get better and more powerful performance.

xiaowhois

Wow ...so late le, still nobody leeport this Dell thread...

Like alone walking in the desert sia...

the peak is 7-9pm mah~

where everybody reported in this dell thread, tml is new video for Dell Alienware video~ wonder what will be show for Alienware?

mosmos

Budget user can get Dell Alienware Alpha instead of Alienware R3 laptops or Dell Inspiron 24 7000. A Dell Alienware Alpha only cost $1699 with equally powerful GPU and CPU at recent PC show.

Get a 32" FHD TV and PC accessories, I guess the final price for a full gaming console would be less than $2000~

better deal than getting Dell Inspiron 24 7000 :s22:

Link: http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/pcshow/view_brochure/8434/#.VkSGZrcrLiw

alienware-1b.jpg

xiaowhois

Alienware Graphics Amplifier should be made so that it can work with other Dell models.

It will be good if Alienware Graphics Amplifier could be use with Dell Inspiron series laptop~ win win situation lightweght when go out for normal usage while back at home extended GPU for high tier gaming experiences.

But back to reality i think Dell dedicated this Alienware Graphics Amplifier for their alienware gaming laptop series doubt will provide to Dell Inspiron series laptop as it will affect their alienware sales perhaps this is a unique selling point for alienware laptop too. By adding this special port/function in Dell Inspiron will also increase additional cost to the laptop

jarred1223

Budget user can get Dell Alienware Alpha instead of Alienware R3 laptops or Dell Inspiron 24 7000. A Dell Alienware Alpha only cost $1699 with equally powerful GPU and CPU at recent PC show.

Get a 32" FHD TV and PC accessories, I guess the final price for a full gaming console would be less than $2000~

better deal than getting Dell Inspiron 24 7000 :s22:

Link: http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/pcshow/view_brochure/8434/#.VkSGZrcrLiw

alienware-1b.jpg

They didn't state specifically what GPU they are using.. Disappointing

2gb video memory sounds like entry level gpu or mobile gpu.

This Alienware Alpha I think more of Steam machine too.

mosmos

MSI has a copycat version of Alienware R3 Laptop with external Graphic Amplifier unit.

Not only the MSI laptop with gaming dock is cheaper but also lighter and portable too!

I guess Dell Alienware or Dell Inspiron series need to work harder to design something that consumers want, cheap, portable and powerful.

msi-gaming-dock-next-gen-1_w_600.jpg

Link: http://www.straitstimes.com/tech/pcs/msi-gs30-2m-shadow-comes-with-gaming-dock

The MSI GS30 is not your typical gaming laptop. Weighing just 1.2kg, it is lighter than the 13-inch Apple MacBook Air.

This idea is not new. Alienware's Graphics Amplifier accessory also works the same way.

Its Gaming Dock has a built-in subwoofer and speakers, which makes it more useful than Alien- ware's version. This dock also has four USB 3.0 ports and a Gigabit Ethernet port like typical expansion docks.

xiaowhois

yeah. quite an expensive investment.

but it brings about a sense of future proof bah. can use the laptop for years.

at least the GPU insert into the Dell Alienware Graphics Amplifier can upgrade when time to come and the Alienware Graphics Amplifier PSU got enough juice

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.