Let's DELL

wadsad

The Alienware 17 R3 has a number pad. The other smaller models ie Alienware 13, 17 dont include them.

As mentioned before, having a number pad is essential to gamers as many games utilize it during gaming. The Alienware 15 got a ton of space by the sides of the keyboard, surely Alienware can find a way to fit a numberpad inside..

Surface Pro of course cannot compare to Alienware. Its simply a ultrabook in a different form factor. Same goes for the XPS.. its a ultrabook. Alienware is upgradable to the GTX 980M while XPS 15 is fixed at GTX 960M it seems. http://www.dell.com/sg/p/xps-15-9550-laptop/pd

I guess you can't call the Alienware 15 a ultrabook but rather a regular laptop since it weighs over 2kg. Nevertheless, it can still provide the mobility which users need. It is still surprising though, how they are able to fit such powerful performance graphics in such a thin gaming laptop.

yup. its like comparing apple to orange.

agreed that dell have done a great job in making the dell alienware laptop as light as possible. hope to see them continue doing this.

mosmos

I wonder what cell brands they using internally. This can very be worth its stated SRP until Xiaomi came into existence....

Since the Dell Power Companion cost more than $100, Dell should be using better quality cells such as Sony. I trust their internal battery of Dell Inspiron 17 7000 or even the Alienware 17 R3 should be of good quality also.

It's not like Xiaomi, telling buyer they use either XX or ZZ battery, consumer also unsure what brands cells are inside unless you dismantle it~ :s22:

Link: http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/review-xiaomis-10400mah-mi-power-bank-review-and-teardown-s14-crazy

Xiaomi-Mi-Power-Bank-LG-cells.jpg

Ohayo!

TBH, Dell Alienware series is totally new to me. dun really know much of this sleek machine, so everyday spend 1~2 hours come here to learn some new knowledge, get to know 'chim' term and ideas from experts, like Ohayo, MoneyFace, xiaowhois, wasad and the others.

Not only Alienware series, also learnt something new on Dell Inspiron 15 7000 4K UHD touchscreen plus Dell Inspiron 24 7000 with Intel RealSense with Windows 10 Hello etc.

Thanks guys... :s12::s12:

So my conclusion is if I really want to get a Dell laptop, will consider Dell Inspiron 15 7000 series. :)

Got pro and cons to laptop vs desktop i guess.

Alienware laptop with Alienware Graphics Amplifier will consume less powerpoints than desktop users :s13:
Desktop require CPU, Monitor, Speakers(or dont need if using headset).

Its good for gaming la. Play with friends games like CS:GO or DOTA 2 should be able to run high settings even without the Alienware Graphics Amplifier. Those games dont really require high performance cards. That is the whole point of portability and mobility.

I prefer desktop for gaming though. Having a bigger screen is always better for gaming. :o

Admittedly, all these campaign really help do raise awareness about their products. Before this I didnt even know Alienware had such thing as Graphics Amplifier. Im not that expert compared to the rest, but i try to type in simple terms so that everyone including layman can understand.

mosmos

tbh 1st thing i would do with the alienware would be to sell it. i dun need another desktop. :s13:

agreed.. the only white elephant in the prizes is the alienware alpha :s13:

if want to use still need to get a monitor for it.. at most use it as HTPC

I also agreed that Dell Alienware Alpha is just an elephant size for many even for gamers, most would prefer a sleek and stylish design AIO like the Dell Inspiron 24 7000.

Dell Inspiron 24 7000 got the Intel Realsense Camera, another gadget to play and haolian for a while with family and friends during this holiday seasons.

maxresdefault.jpg

mosmos

1st prize Dell XPS 13 no idea what specs right? can assume its the lowest end?

$1.7k
i3-6100U
4GB ram
128GB SSD
onboard graphics
13" 1080p screen
1.2kg :eek:

at least it has backlit keyboard, and the exterior material is CNC-machined aluminium

$200 more only gives you i5-6200U instead :s22:
as compared to Dell Inspiron 13 7000 that weight 2.8kg and Dell Alienware 13 R3 at 3.8Kg, Dell XPS 13 was so much light and portable~

I wonder if the battery life will be good, consider the battery will be very slim and under capacity as compared to Dell Inspiron 13 7000 and Dell Alienware 13 R3.

dell_xps13-8.jpg

but according to dell website there's no xps 13 config that cost $1799 :s22::s13:

maybe it's a special edition for Hardwarezone, a bit cheaper configuration?

what88

Got pro and cons to laptop vs desktop i guess.

Alienware laptop with Alienware Graphics Amplifier will consume less powerpoints than desktop users :s13:
Desktop require CPU, Monitor, Speakers(or dont need if using headset).

Its good for gaming la. Play with friends games like CS:GO or DOTA 2 should be able to run high settings even without the Alienware Graphics Amplifier. Those games dont really require high performance cards. That is the whole point of portability and mobility.

I prefer desktop for gaming though. Having a bigger screen is always better for gaming. :o

Admittedly, all these campaign really help do raise awareness about their products. Before this I didnt even know Alienware had such thing as Graphics Amplifier. Im not that expert compared to the rest, but i try to type in simple terms so that everyone including layman can understand.

I can't really digest everything but glad that I am much clearer now on Dell Inspiron and Alienware products than before. :)

kimsix

So now we changed the topic to ALienware R3 X51 har ?! =:p:D:D

I find alienware x51 r3 is an attractive product being a full blown powerful pc gaming in a size about xbox1. The r3 version even comes with its own water cooling unit! The gpu is a standard fare one you can buy in sim lim as long as it is the size of stock gtx970 and the power usage also around there, meaning next year you can change it for the more powerful gtx1070…!

mosmos

kimsix

oh yah, you are right.
It is stated as "Graphics powered by a custom-built NVIDIA GeForce GTX GPU 2GB GDDR5" in the dell website. Nothing much liao.

It is about gtx 960mm inside the alpha. I seen some pc with 'custom' graphics card by nvidia, like the surface book, wonder why nvidia is so secretive when a simple gpuz run will take the full specs of the gpu.

Nonetheless gtx960m is good enough for fullhd console games

kimsix

Yes, I am confused as well initially, especially when all ended with 7000, Inspiron 15 7000, Inspiron 24 7000 and even venue 8 7000, as if all are from the same range.

I believe the 7000 denotes the yearly series numbering of Dell annual line up. So next year lets Dell contest we will talk about 15 8000 inspiron!

xiaowhois

It is about gtx 960mm inside the alpha. I seen some pc with 'custom' graphics card by nvidia, like the surface book, wonder why nvidia is so secretive when a simple gpuz run will take the full specs of the gpu.

Nonetheless gtx960m is good enough for fullhd console games

maybe custom = downgrade version for the Dell Alienware Alpha?

xiaowhois

I believe the 7000 denotes the yearly series numbering of Dell annual line up. So next year lets Dell contest we will talk about 15 8000 inspiron!
at the moment 7000 series is highest tier model version for Dell Inspiron

xiaowhois

Seems like whenever Dell got a great invention like Dell Power Companion or Dell Alienware Graphics Amplifier, other maker sure copy their technology.

Energizer has a similar 18000mah power companion for the laptops, able to power any brands of laptop including Dell Inspiron 17 7000 or Alienware 17 R3

Link: http://www.laptopmag.com/reviews/accessories/energizer-xp18000a

xpal_g04.jpg

xpal_g06.jpg

Del dont make battery while Energizer their focus in on battery maybe they oem from Energizer

MoneyFace =p

think its more for other operations bah. u are still on windows os. theres so many things u can do with a touch screen. u will still be using the laptop for other purposes other than gaming.

If you are already acclimatised to regular keyboard and mouse usage, why chap in a 3rd variable? I am using an Acer touchscreen laptop on Windows 10, and i find myself either using touchscreen or keyboard with mouse all the time. It won't be both cos i find it rather ley chey to keep shifting up and down between screen and keyboard area.

MoneyFace =p

Dell Bluetooth speakers has very nice aesthetics~

Since the tiny speakers of Dell Inspiron 17 7000 or even the Alienware 17 R3 speakers unable to produce any thundering sounds during gamings or movie watching, this Dell Bluetooth speakers comes in handy without even create a messy wiring on the table~

Dell-AD211-Bluetooth-Portable-Speaker.jpg

Looks pretty normal leh. Unless this is the Creative OEM model, you are better off with wired discrete speaker system. Those bailing this out can offer review?

MoneyFace =p

I can't really digest everything but glad that I am much clearer now on Dell Inspiron and Alienware products than before. :)
Yeah last time also not too familiar with Alienware 17 R3 and Alienware Graphics Amplifier. Now crystal clear with ll the discussion going on... :flash:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.