Let's DELL

wadsad

This event seem like less ppl taking part maybe a suggestion to the HWZ admin, instead of having top 1-3 prize expensive item i suggest to spread out the prize value to lure more users to take part in such "reward event" so that omost all the users whom take part will have a prize no matter small or big. For example previous samsung memory card event the prize is small but there is many quantity for users to redeem thus more active posts. This event even though the top 2 prize is good but if you decrease the budget value for the top prizes and give out more smaller prize(not discount coupon unless it is super attractive). Win win situation for hwz to achieve marketing/promote product objective and users who take part will not be empty handed :)

think more to do with the sponsors.

xiaowhois

think more to do with the sponsors.
maybe sponser also win win situation as sponser will spend lesser total cost for example Redeem an Alienware Alpha worth $1699 for 1150 points!

if use 1699 can exchange become additional 5 powerbank & 5 external hard disk yet save 150bucks on their "SRP" price yet more people(since t&c stated one NRIC only can redeem one prize) will willing to take part in this reward program. high prize top prize only attractive if like lucky draw. Such pts gain program to redeem if too little prize less ppl will take part as they will know it is hard to win the top prize anyway. Those will take part will take part still even the top prize is not that high value prize. :)

wadsad

maybe sponser also win win situation as sponser will spend lesser total cost for example Redeem an Alienware Alpha worth $1699 for 1150 points!

if use 1699 can exchange become additional 5 powerbank & 5 external hard disk yet save 150bucks on their "SRP" price yet more people(since t&c stated one NRIC only can redeem one prize) will willing to take part in this reward program. high prize top prize only attractive if like lucky draw. Such pts gain program to redeem if too little prize less ppl will take part as they will know it is hard to win the top prize anyway. Those will take part will take part still even the top prize is not that high value prize. :)

yup agreed. this one have to do with their objective i guess. gain awareness and/ or business.

when dell decided to give vouchers instead, u know what they are after liao. :s13:

but can imagine by the 10th day, u will only see those who had started, still carrying on. cause for the rest, no chance liao. :s13: bad planning bah this one have to say. unless got ppl aiming to get the PCs or laptops.

Valour

Gribber

yup agreed. this one have to do with their objective i guess. gain awareness and/ or business.

when dell decided to give vouchers instead, u know what they are after liao. :s13:

but can imagine by the 10th day, u will only see those who had started, still carrying on. cause for the rest, no chance liao. :s13: bad planning bah this one have to say. unless got ppl aiming to get the PCs or laptops.

indeed. I hope i could win something this time - but think not.

Valour

hopefully this year end IT show will have some demo booth to showcase the Intel RealSense technology..

And since all laptops/desktops/AIO will come with Windows 10, it will be good to showcase the Intel RealSense technology working with Windows 10 Hello.

It can cater to business users as well, conference calls/meetings with overseas people using the new technology for video chat.

https://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/realsense/topic/597890

people using matlab with it :eek:

With demos to play and things to see then more lik IT show mah, if not every time like market, lelong lelong always. If they really turn up, I will go have a look.

Valour

AIO ultra thin saves space in the small rooms in new HDB flats and looks stylish too!

I have a AIO, really saves space when u need them, lagi best if is those touch screen type, quite shiok to use. Only thing is performance and if one specific part got problem, headache liao.

Valour

This happened for the last event, only those top ones are talking mostly, they need to find a way to make things more balance and interesting.

Valour

other than having facial expression, head movements or hands legs movement, maybe Intel RealSense detector can built in brain scan~

article-0-0CBFB9F7000005DC-319_468x422.jpg

This looks really cool, Intel should hold one event where users can try out the real thing and have a actual feel.

WhiteHunter

less ppl take part cos of the way the system reward the user points. if everyone's points reset on the same timing then you will see more ppl posting and taking part in discussions.

now the system is the fastest guy or rather one who 24/7 on hwz will win the top few prizes. that is why you always see the same old guys.

the new ppl or those who are slow dun feel its worth to allocate their time to post just to redeem some discount vouchers since they are not looking to buy laptops unless the vouchers are from ntuc, cold storage or courts etc. furthermore the low end prize like bluetooth speakers and powerbanks are not attractive at all.

then this topic is on Intel RealSense 3D Camera using Intel RealSense Technology. how much can one talk about it since most of us do not own one laptop with this technology or know anything about it apart from reading other user reviews. if we copy too much from reviews, it is deem as spam and points will be deducted.

Valour

Seems like Intel RealSense can have more possibilities and uses...

Intel Perceptual Computing SDK 2013 Advantages:

• Smaller and less expensive: The Intel camera (produced by Creative) is smaller than a Microsoft Kinect for Windows sensor, is powered over USB, and is designed to sit on top of most computer displays.
  • Close-range tracking: It is specifically built for close range tracking, with a range of 0.5ft to 3.25ft (and a diagonal frame of view of 73 degrees).
  • Hand posture/gesture recognition: The SDK allows recognition of hand postures like thumbs up, thumbs down and peace, and gestures like waving, swiping and circling with a hand. Other gestures like grab and release or pan and zoom can be implemented by examining the openness of the palm and fingertip positions.
  • Facial analysis: The Intel SDK provides capabilities for face tracking, recognition and detection as well as age and gender determination. Expressions like smiling and winking can also be detected.
  • Speech: Developers can leverage speech recognition by specifying a predefined list of commands, or multiple lists constituting a grammar. The SDK also has built-in support for speech synthesis powered by Nuance.
  • Raw data: Developers have access to raw color and depth data from the sensor along with a confidence map to account for distance and light conditions.
  • Framework support: The Intel SDK supports frameworks like Processing, Unity and OpenFrameworks and ships with basic examples to make setting up and writing simple apps with these frameworks easier.

Intel Issues:

• Getting some of the deeper features (like age and gender detection) to work is a bit tricky.
  • Due to the close range of the tracking system, hand gestures must be designed such that a user’s hand doesn’t occlude their own view of the display.

Best for:

Desktop/laptop applications where the user will be seated in front of the PC.
Close range applications where features, apart from hand tracking and recognition, are necessary without too much precision or accuracy.

Info from https://stimulant.com/depth-sensor-shootout/

Good read, they should start making more interesting YouTube videos to bring more awareness, I been searching around, some are quite old.

wadsad

less ppl take part cos of the way the system reward the user points. if everyone's points reset on the same timing then you will see more ppl posting and taking part in discussions.

now the system is the fastest guy or rather one who 24/7 on hwz will win the top few prizes. that is why you always see the same old guys.

the new ppl or those who are slow dun feel its worth to allocate their time to post just to redeem some discount vouchers since they are not looking to buy laptops unless the vouchers are from ntuc, cold storage or courts etc. furthermore the low end prize like bluetooth speakers and powerbanks are not attractive at all.

then this topic is on Intel RealSense 3D Camera using Intel RealSense Technology. how much can one talk about it since most of us do not own one laptop with this technology or know anything about it apart from reading other user reviews. if we copy too much from reviews, it is deem as spam and points will be deducted.

tbh i dunno can talk about what liao. :s13:

WhiteHunter

tbh i dunno can talk about what liao. :s13:

can talk about how to change your online avatar in youtube videos using Intel Technology. think this is something everyone know since we can't really discuss on the games using Intel Technology as we never played them before.

xiaowhois

HWZ want you to regularly visit hwz forum so that you can see when they release new event haha

fastest dont mean sure win top prize if admin hardworking to give out bonus points :)

reset at same timing wont work to be honest~

for example if timing was reset at 12midnite all will flood in to comment at 12midnite than the rest of the timing total silence while now everyone have different timing so at least balance out(at the moment should be from evening to night time) :)

yesterday already got ppl comment the timing for reset to earn pts maybe more than 24hrs not really that accurate that all. If hwz wanna play harder they can set random timing(from minutes to hours) inbetween post to make all harder to earn pts

WhiteHunter

HWZ want you to regularly visit hwz forum so that you can see when they release new event haha

fastest dont mean sure win top prize if admin hardworking to give out bonus points :)

reset at same timing wont work to be honest~

for example if timing was reset at 12midnite all will flood in to comment at 12midnite than the rest of the timing total silence while now everyone have different timing so at least balance out(at the moment should be from evening to night time) :)

yesterday already got ppl comment the timing for reset to earn pts maybe more than 24hrs not really that accurate that all. If hwz wanna play harder they can set random timing(from minutes to hours) inbetween post to make all harder to earn pts

more ppl taking part or only 14 ppl comment on the same thing. which would you prefer?

royfrosty

I ran out of ideas lol. After i see the prize i think back, nevermind ba, i give up. Not worth it. Give everyone a better chance to get what they want or need.

Apparantly i dont see the need of a new laptop using vouchers for discount. I dont need a laptop, monitor etc. I have everything that i want and i need.

So yeap. Good luck to everyone whom is trying hard to win something.

enenyi

I ran out of ideas lol. After i see the prize i think back, nevermind ba, i give up. Not worth it. Give everyone a better chance to get what they want or need.

Apparantly i dont see the need of a new laptop using vouchers for discount. I dont need a laptop, monitor etc. I have everything that i want and i need.

Exactly my thoughts. Somemore the monitor is S series, so even if win the monitor still have to deal with glossy screen reflection. At least if got P series or U series, even if just discount vouchers i wouldnt mind. And top prize is laptop...if not aiming for a laptop, winning it isnt gonna matter anyway. Guess the HWZ admins cant change the competition format or prizes (since Dell already paod for them via sponsorship), so all the best for those still in the 30-day rat race.

Gribber

Exactly my thoughts. Somemore the monitor is S series, so even if win the monitor still have to deal with glossy screen reflection. At least if got P series or U series, even if just discount vouchers i wouldnt mind. And top prize is laptop...if not aiming for a laptop, winning it isnt gonna matter anyway. Guess the HWZ admins cant change the competition format or prizes (since Dell already paod for them via sponsorship), so all the best for those still in the 30-day rat race.

:(:(:(

Change to monitor vouchers please!!!

The voucher should be applicable to all dell products not just limited to a product.

what88

Same thought. If most of the people withdraw from this thread within next few days, what will happen after that. :s22::s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.