Let's DELL

xtramadness

buyers would prefer to get Dell Alienware 17 R3 gaming laptops with Alienware Graphics Amplifier since it doubles as latpop as well as desktop and you can carry it around. it should be quite well selling than other models like their Dell Inspiron 15 7000 or Dell Inspiron 24 7000 with Intel RealSense 3D camera.

Can I borrow one Dell Alienware 17 R3 with the Alienware Graphics Amplifier to play COD: BO3? :o:o

xtramadness

Alienware 17 R3 with Alienware Graphics Amplifier is more than enough for normal gaming even those AAA titles. laptop is always better than desktop and Area-51 is more expensive than Alienware 17 R3.

Why do one need so much graphics juice?? The Alienware Graphics Amplifier for the Dell Alienware 17 R3 already so much graphics juice liao. haha

WhiteHunter

Yea.. The Roar was not bad. Nice to see them wake up!

The Dell Alienware 17 R3 has it... But The Dell Inspirion why not using it leh? :(:o

the roar 2 is even more power. you can actually watch movie with it as they demo during the pc show.

WhiteHunter

Can I borrow one Dell Alienware 17 R3 with the Alienware Graphics Amplifier to play COD: BO3? :o:o

this one you must ask boss liao. ask him/her to put it as one of the prize then you go redeem it. heard alot of good reviews abt black ops 3. make me gian to get also.

WhiteHunter

Why do one need so much graphics juice?? The Alienware Graphics Amplifier for the Dell Alienware 17 R3 already so much graphics juice liao. haha

Area-51 if you get the top end got dual graphics card in sli and think can triple. its more for future gaming purpose as the games in future may need more graphics juice. Alienware Graphics Amplifier can only put one card.

kimsix

Erm, you mean it is already selling outside? =:p I never see it in any major superstore, courts, best denki etc. Where do you see it?

I think the video is Dell Alienware 15 R2 or 17 R3, seems big.

The latest Alienware 15 is on display at Best J8. It is not that big in real life and the design looks nice and not 'loud' in a way of most designed for 'gamers' stuffs. It is rather subdue in the edginess while retaining a gaming style. You can still manage to lug it around, because some professional uses mobile workstation that weighs about same with that large amount of processing power needed.

kimsix

Dell Alienware 17 R3 already comes with GTX970M.. why still need to use Alienware Graphics Amplifier :s22:

data taken from here. unless you really have a lot of money to spend, it's not worth spending extra $400 for the Alienware Graphics Amplifier and extra $450-$500+ for a GTX970.

I will not consider the Graphics Amplifier at this moment. I may wait for revision 2 to dabble with one. However i will just get Alienware 15 with GTX 980M if i need all the graphics possible. The GPU will be enough to last the generation of console ports at 1080p FHD.

The additional space taken up by the graphics amplifiers defeats the purpose of buying a gaming laptop. There are people who prefer gaming laptops because of the all in one-ness, and the designs of gaming laptops look like owning a fast sport car or fighter jet, rather than a ordinary big PC box. So to have another big box and cables all around, lessen the cool and neatness factor.

koreanlover

there are people who want to have GTX Titan X for their laptop but their laptop is a i7. with Alienware Graphics Amplifier, they need not buy a new laptop but just add the GTX Titan X to it.

different people have different needs and they too have different budget. some with more budget than another and dun mind spending more to get what they want or need.

the Alienware Graphics Amplifier is introduced to give gamers an extra choice and it is still better than spending another few thousands to change to a brand new desktop with GTX Titan X right??

Hmmm, it would be better if the Alienware Graphics Amplifier supports other brands laptops instead of just Alienware. Then more people might buy it.

Mahdara

Hi guys, bought an alienware 15 last week. Just want to check, how do I know my aw 15 is R what? Specs i7 4720HQ, gtx 970m and 16GB ram.

And also, i heard that with this alienware graphics amplifier, I don't really have to upgrade my laptop in few years time, because I can just buy the amplifier and slot in the latest graphic card?

Lastly, do you guys think my laptop specs able to run all the latest game in high settings etc? Or should I get the graphics amplifier?

Sorry, noob in gaming and thank you for your time!

Edit: do you guys think I made the right choice for getting the aw 15? Or should I get the aw 17?

koreanlover

Hi guys, bought an alienware 15 last week. Just want to check, how do I know my aw 15 is R what? Specs i7 4720HQ, gtx 970m and 16GB ram.

And also, i heard that with this alienware graphics amplifier, I don't really have to upgrade my laptop in few years time, because I can just buy the amplifier and slot in the latest graphic card?

Lastly, do you guys think my laptop specs able to run all the latest game in high settings etc? Or should I get the graphics amplifier?

Sorry, noob in gaming and thank you for your time!

Edit: do you guys think I made the right choice for getting the aw 15? Or should I get the aw 17?

You can check the version at http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04

H11GA5R.png

Source

koreanlover

there are people who want to have GTX Titan X for their laptop but their laptop is a i7. with Alienware Graphics Amplifier, they need not buy a new laptop but just add the GTX Titan X to it.

different people have different needs and they too have different budget. some with more budget than another and dun mind spending more to get what they want or need.

the Alienware Graphics Amplifier is introduced to give gamers an extra choice and it is still better than spending another few thousands to change to a brand new desktop with GTX Titan X right??

The Alienware Graphics Amplifier does sort of future proof your laptop so that you can upgrade to the latest single Nvidia graphics card. But Dell really needs to reduce the size of it.

koreanlover

Dell Alienware 17 R3 Creative Sound Core3D-EX is powered by Sound Core3D and heralds a new age in 3D gaming audio and online voice communication. Hardware-accelerated THX TruStudio Pro audio technologies deliver unsurpassed audio playback quality, while the innovative CrystalVoice processing lets you communicate with crystal clear vocal fidelity in your multiplayer games, online chats and video conferencing.

sound is very important in gaming as you can hear the enemies or the footsteps coming towards you in a first person shooter. voice communication has to be clear and crisp where your team mates can hear you clearly and understand what you are doing and what they are suppose to do in the game. team leader usually will give strategies or plans to the team mates so you must be able to hear him/her clearly.

besides having a good graphics card for gaming, getting a good sound card is equally important. some laptops fail to deliver good sound quality but Alienware 17 R3 laptop obviously can deliver a powerful gaming experience with good graphics and good sound quality.

of course the price is also very good and as one say you get what you pay for :s13:

Yes for certain games the 3D gaming audio is important such as CS, for others like DOTA maybe not so important. So maybe CS should be played at home where your speakers are correctly placed and where you have the Dell Alienware Graphics Amplifier.

WhiteHunter

just went to see the price for that config.......

$7k+ :eek::eek::eek:

even if i'm rich i won't spend on that :s22:

you think this way cos you are not rich yet but when you become rich your thinking may change.

Alienware 17 R3 laptop is really good for the price and with Alienware Graphics Amplifier, it take gaming up one level for laptop users.

WhiteHunter

Hmmm, it would be better if the Alienware Graphics Amplifier supports other brands laptops instead of just Alienware. Then more people might buy it.

if that is the case then buyers would not buy Alienware laptops. Alienware Graphics Amplifier is meant to enhance the gaming experience for Alienware laptop users.

kimsix

The alienware graphics amplifier will need to be specially made for alienware laptop so Dell can control how well it works. It does not use standard thunderbolt because Dell find that it is limiting to what they want.

NobunagaOda

Alienware for gamer to love but non gamer wont love it~ if got choice ofcause make it lighter cheaper faster :s13::s13:

lighter => alienware 15/17 series heavy for portable usage

cheaper => who dont want buy it at cheaper price?

Faster => gaming is about fast processing :)

Don't think Alienware can make it cheaper considering the materials used and the goodies in the laptop but I am sure they can reduce the price for Alienware Graphics Amplifier.

NobunagaOda

The alienware graphics amplifier will need to be specially made for alienware laptop so Dell can control how well it works. It does not use standard thunderbolt because Dell find that it is limiting to what they want.

Alienware Graphics Amplifier should be made so that it can work with other Dell models.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.