xiaowhois

Ya lor. Says the one who won all of these from all Rewards campaigns thus far:

LG Rewards: 4-8th prize: LG Photo Pocket Printer worth $198
Samsung Rewards: 1st Prize: Samsung T1 Portable SSD 1TB worth $899 :vijayadmin:
Dell/Intel Rewards: 1st Prize: XPS 13 worth $1799 :vijayadmin:

U both imba dont need fight~ earn the most bonus points from this Dell Intel Reward program~ one will get Dell XPS another will get AlienWare Alpha.

mosmos

Yes I agree with you. The Intel RealSense camera is not really needed for Alienware since not many games support them yet. 4k UHD and FHD also has too little difference on 15 inch screen.

Maybe Dell can introduce 4k UHD screen for 17 inch and above Alienware laptops.

I thought Dell Alienware already have 4K UHD screen, though no touchscreen only.

Since you are paying 50% more for the Dell Alienware stickers pasted on the casing, why not settle for more features such as Intel Realsense Camera and 4K UHD touchscreen.

A cheaper Dell Inspiron 24 7000 has everything in a very compact and portable size also, only lack of a battery pack to power the unit.

xiaowhois

Alienware laptop also got glowing lights but you can customised the colour themes or switch off by using AlienFX from Alienware Command Center.

think you will wanna set it once on the Dell Alienware laptop and left it there dont think so hardworking every week different colour themes haha. such customisation on the Alienware laptop usually set it once than close shop than once in a blue moon change colour.

xiaowhois

No problem. It's very good since its like Office 365 subscription. This means you will always be able to update to the latest version of Office as long as you are still studying.

I was able to update from Office 2013 to 2016 earlier this year.

Alienware Graphics Amplifier has room for upgrades so unless Alienware stop supporting it or the graphic cards get longer/bigger and unable to fit into it or PSU not enough else i think it can support future cards

https://na.alienwarearena.com/forum...al-support-1/alienware-graphics-amplifier-faq

Will the Alienware Graphics Amplifier support future generation graphics cards from NVIDIA and AMD?

Yes.

As such, I think it is a pretty good investment for current or future owners of the Alienware laptops as they can enjoy high performance gaming on the newest graphic cards.

i believe as long as the PSU power enough to support the GPU and still using same port standard should not have any issue on Dell Alienware laptop using the Alienware Graphics Amplifier within next 3-5yrs within your laptop warranty period

mosmos

Maybe got Dell fanboys lo want all dell brand products

but too bad look like cannot since the sideway PCB restricted blocked the extension even you custom build ur casing

Look like the PSU is generic Desktop PSU which possible you can change to your own PSU to power more effective/power

alienware_graphics_ampflifier_test-08.jpg

The Dell Graphics Amplifier seems like the problem is with the PSU occupied more than 50% of the space inside~

They can just put a laptop size power adapter inside instead to allow more space for better graphics card or water cooler for Alienware R3 laptop. Better if Dell Inspiron 17 7000 can dock onto this Graphic Amplifier.

xiaowhois

I think by adding a touchscreen to Alienware laptop, it will make the pricing less attractive liao since Alienware already cost a premium. Also are there any good games that utilised touchscreen?

At the moment touchscreen still a marketing incentive than a demand by users how often you will use touchscreen on Dell Alienware laptop when you gaming? users will prefer use mouse to point and click(first player game) or controller to make the movement.

xiaowhois

I thought Dell Alienware already have 4K UHD screen, though no touchscreen only.

Since you are paying 50% more for the Dell Alienware stickers pasted on the casing, why not settle for more features such as Intel Realsense Camera and 4K UHD touchscreen.

A cheaper Dell Inspiron 24 7000 has everything in a very compact and portable size also, only lack of a battery pack to power the unit.

Dell Alienware 4K screen only come by default for Alienware 17 most expensive version the rest you need to topup few hundreds to upgrade it to 4K screen

24inch not very portable leh~ if want portable get Inspiron 14 series lo 14inch screen less bulky

xiaowhois

The Dell Graphics Amplifier seems like the problem is with the PSU occupied more than 50% of the space inside~

They can just put a laptop size power adapter inside instead to allow more space for better graphics card or water cooler for Alienware R3 laptop. Better if Dell Inspiron 17 7000 can dock onto this Graphic Amplifier.

if use laptop pattern of power adapter think the price for the Dell Graphics Amplifier will increase, indirectly cost you pay more tgt with your Alienware R3 laptop

xiaowhois

:s22: Not sure whether Dell Alienware or MSI invented the Graphics Amplifier first~

But one thing for sure, it was a silly invention for a laptop, since is a powerful gaming portable unit, why do we still need an external driver unit that was not powered by a battery? :s22:

The cost of these gaming laptop already at sky high prices for average citizens~

But a problem if you DIY upgrade may void the Dell warranty.

I guess most would just settle for Dell Inspiron 17 7000 for the 4K UHD touchscreen for added feature.

Target high tier gaming people who want high tier gaming laptop like Alienware 17 R3. DIY upgrade as long as dell dont put stickers and u dont damage the physcial + put back the original parts to the laptop there will be any issue with claim warranty

xiaowhois

Sure! There are a lot in fact. You can check them out on the Steam url below.
http://store.steampowered.com/tag/en/TouchFriendly/#p=0&tab=NewReleases

It is especially useful for those detective games where you have to tap on items/clues to play the game.

Alternatively, you can play your Android games on your PC using emulators like Bluestacks http://www.bluestacks.com/ or GenyMotion https://www.genymotion.com/.

At the very least, it will consume less powerpoints than desktop users :s13:
Desktop require CPU, Monitor, Speakers(or dont need if using headset).

Its good for gaming la. Play with friends games like CS:GO or DOTA 2 should be able to run max settings even without the Alienware Graphics Amplifier. Those games dont really require high performance cards. That is the whole point of portability and mobility.

I also prefer desktop for gaming. Having a bigger screen is always better for gaming. :o

p.s i dont suggest run blackstack it somehow consume many of mine resources unless u got high tier laptop like Alienware to let it drain resources

MoneyFace =p

There is room for Dell to improve their Alienware Graphics Amplifier, at least to make it smaller and smaller, so that easy to bring it out .

may be next coming model Dell will include this Intel Realsense Technology to make use Windows 10 Hello.

Not possible to make them much smaller. You can'i defy physics leh. You can only pray graphics card vendors to make their cards smaller, like R9 Nano... :s12:

MoneyFace =p

looks cool but not very partical unless you wanted to sit down on the chair and play on the table, the glowing lights are distracting to eyes too~ :s22:

I still prefer a laptop like Dell Alienware 17 R3 or Dell inspiron 17 7000, sometimes tired can just unplug from the mains and put the laptop on bed or sofa to continue my gaming or net surfing~

Your Alienware also got bling bling LED what... :s22:

Try to play game on your sofa or bed is gonna be neck-breaking. :s16::s16:

MoneyFace =p

:s22: Not sure whether Dell Alienware or MSI invented the Graphics Amplifier first~

But one thing for sure, it was a silly invention for a laptop, since is a powerful gaming portable unit, why do we still need an external driver unit that was not powered by a battery? :s22:

The cost of these gaming laptop already at sky high prices for average citizens~

But a problem if you DIY upgrade may void the Dell warranty.

I guess most would just settle for Dell Inspiron 17 7000 for the 4K UHD touchscreen for added feature.

Neither nor! It's AMD! :eek:

AMD first came out their external graphics idea, termed external graphics platform or in short, XGP

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_XGP

http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/04/amds-ati-xgp-external-laptop-graphics-platform-goes-legit/

Also using proprietary connector based on PCIe. That time the PCie consortium is also deriving specification for External PCI Express. But seemed that performance is so bad and the lack of popularisation with exclusivity of connector technology to AMD to make them dropped the entire thing, and move on to Thunderbolt....

MoneyFace =p

Looked like Dell is going full scale in gaming desktop/laptop, all videos related to gaming using Dell machines, be it from Inspiron or Alienware. The gaming market must be good to make $$, I supposed gamers are more than willing to fork out $$ for superb visual and audio experiences in gaming?

But for a laptop, I still maintained the same view, best leave it for a bit of gaming and on the move usages. Furthermore I seldom see people gaming on the move using laptop. Or those serious gamers always bring the Alienware 15 R2, Alienware 17 R3 + the Alienware Graphics Amplifier to each other's houses for gaming sessions overnight, mass gaming orgies??? =:p Siao leh, dunno need how many multiple plugs... Of course if free one, i certainly dun mind. :p

I think only alienware 13 met my criteria for gaming on the move with a 13.3" screen. Hardcore gaming, would preferred desktop like the Alienware Alpha and at home.

I don't think Alienware Alpha can do hardcore gaming as they never reveal the underlying Nvidia GPU model. Seeing only 2GB worth of GDDR5 available i guess it is a GTX 750 Ti or 950...

wadsad

@whitehunter, im going for the 27" monitor. calling it quits liao. mentally shagged liao. :s13: u still got chance if u have 7 good posts + potential early BP. good luck.

good luck to the rest too. :s13:

thanks dell, intel and hwz. see u all next time round. :s13:

what88

@whitehunter, im going for the 27" monitor. calling it quits liao. mentally shagged liao. :s13: u still got chance if u have 7 good posts + potential early BP. good luck.

Which mean you will be here for another 4 days only ?! :D:D

kimsix

I don't think Alienware Alpha can do hardcore gaming as they never reveal the underlying Nvidia GPU model. Seeing only 2GB worth of GDDR5 available i guess it is a GTX 750 Ti or 950...

The alienware alpha use a 860m or 750ti, it can be overclock also, the middle alpha model uses a full quad cores cpu, so it can do better than consoles performance. For some, it may do good enough because steam games sales are cheaper than consoles game prices and PC do not need to pay to play online

WhiteHunter

Dell Alienware laptops do not come with touchscreen but there is an option to opt for it. for laptop there is really no need for 4K uhd screen as fhd is more than enough. this is because our eyes can hardly detect true 4K picture and there are hardly true 4K stuffs.

maybe an additional Intel RealSense 3D Camera would be good.

WhiteHunter

don't think i got chance. 7 posts to get bonus pts is quite hard.

WhiteHunter

Sure! There are a lot in fact. You can check them out on the Steam url below.
http://store.steampowered.com/tag/en/TouchFriendly/#p=0&tab=NewReleases

It is especially useful for those detective games where you have to tap on items/clues to play the game.

Alternatively, you can play your Android games on your PC using emulators like Bluestacks http://www.bluestacks.com/ or GenyMotion https://www.genymotion.com/.

At the very least, it will consume less powerpoints than desktop users :s13:
Desktop require CPU, Monitor, Speakers(or dont need if using headset).

Its good for gaming la. Play with friends games like CS:GO or DOTA 2 should be able to run max settings even without the Alienware Graphics Amplifier. Those games dont really require high performance cards. That is the whole point of portability and mobility.

I also prefer desktop for gaming. Having a bigger screen is always better for gaming. :o

if you pair Alienware 17 R3 laptop with Alienware Graphics Amplifier, you can connect a bigger screen monitor, mouse and keyboard to the Graphics Amplifier and use it like a desktop and have the ultimate gaming experience.

if you only play games like dota 2 or cs then get either Dell Inspiron 15 7000 or Dell Inspiron 24 7000. they are also future proof and you can use Intel RealSense 3D Camera with Windows 10 Hello. the graphics cards also won't be outdated that fast for both systems.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.