Let's DELL

enenyi

Congratulations! You've won 1000 bonus points for post #4937! :p
Nah, he will take the remaining prizes, ask Dell's rep for permission, then hold an internal lucky draw to give out the prizes to the rest of SPH's HWZ staff...:s13:

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Nah, he will take the remaining prizes, ask Dell's rep for permission, then hold an internal lucky draw to give out the prizes to the rest of SPH's HWZ staff...:s13:

:s13::s13::s13: Only in our dreams. But thanks enenyi for contributing too. Always nice to see the different perspectives and sharing new knowledge in this forum.

MoneyFace =p

I think there is one last feature awkwardly overlooked by everyone, including me, that is also another main selling point of Dell XPS 13 - Corning Gorilla Glass NBT

Having Corning Gorilla Glass NBT over conventional soda lime glass, it not only is more resistance to scratches like all Gorilla series glasses are renowned for, it also reduces flaw visibility and have better retaining strength to counteract any blemish forming on screen.

So ladies and gentlemen with long fingernails, specially those ladies with their long nail art manicure, no longer have to worry their sharp nails from scratching the glass surface with such toughness and durability. Even if a deep scratch forms users also need not worry about potential breaking of screen having the deep scratch as point of weakness.

Too bad despite having all these scratch preventing properties, Corning Gorilla glasses are (still) never made to breakage-resistant. I was already made aware of this since with my original Samsung Galaxy S (1st version) in 2010 for being the first Galaxy phone to comes with Gorilla glass. But there are many oblivious users to think that Gorilla glasses won't break and many friends also fault phone manufacturers for misleading claim. :s22:

With newer iteration of reinforced Gorilla glass, they are lesser prone to breakage, but by means still not resistant to it.

Another thing to take note is that this Corning Gorilla Glass NBT also DOES NOT comes with oleophobic coating, i.e. resistant to fingerprint (from to bodily oil). So please do not blame Corning and Dell for seeing oily fingerprint smudge on your screen. Corning Gorilla Glass is tough but does not mean it is a bao ka liao (all rounder) glass. :s22:

Ohayo!

How come I read money face reply to me like so hostile. Chill man.

Anyway boss I think next time better don't announce when you are giving out points.. Else we would see the same thing happen again. I prefer consistency. Last minute start posting but only a few people read it since everyone bail out already.

MoneyFace =p

Imagine Dr.Vijay picking lucky draw like this.. :s13:

win8playtest21.jpg

Ohayo!

Ultrabook chargers are not bulky at all. They are rather small and light at credit card size since they do not have high power requirements. So i do not know why you willl say that.

I can't imagine if Starbucks really implement that sort of wireless charging table at their cafes. Wireless charging will naturally induce heat on the charging surface due to imperfect energy transfer. You will never hit 100% efficiency. Imagine laptop user has been wireless charging his laptop there for, say 3 hours. The amount of energy carried over to the laptop battery and heat induced on the table will be pretty signficant over such long time. Once the user left Starbuck, the table will also be left warm (or even hot). I really can't foreseen the reaction of next customer trying to use that table... :eek:

And mentioned earlier, the magnitude of electromagnetic waves carried across the surroundings will also be much greater with such charging capability, great enough to be adverse to human's health. Just like why doctors are recommending to use less of mobile phones due to the long term adverse effect of radiation to the brain, especially when holding it to your ear for calls. Sure, such technology may be cool and seen many potentials, but IMO the benefits underweighs the disadvantages. Until they manage to convince me about the EM wave part, i will steer clear of such technology.

That's why I said need for the technology to improve in order to make it a reality. :s22:

Less heat more efficient surely people start using it.

MoneyFace =p

Anyway boss I think next time better don't announce when you are giving out points.. Else we would see the same thing happen again. I prefer consistency. Last minute start posting but only a few people read it since everyone bail out already.
How is my tone hostile? :s22:

I'm not too sure if you are being paranoid. Just to made clear to you that i don't feel anything to you. :)

Probably i am puzzled with the need to talk about trivial features such as antivirus and SD card reader. :s22:

MoneyFace =p

That's why I said need for the technology to improve in order to make it a reality. :s22:

Less heat more efficient surely people start using it.
As said EM waves still will be gao gao due to nature of EMI in such technology.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Ok chill people. Remember, don't let emotions get the better of you.

MoneyFace =p

Didn't have much time on first few days to post all these la. :s22:

Ohayo!

I believe it is done to prevent/slow down thermal deterioration of the print due to the heat from the base of laptop. Even though my old VAIO CR does not implement such flap, Sony is meticulous enough to paste a plastic flim over the serial number sticker and the Windows COA sticker unfound on other brand, say Acer :s22:

Over the years, i finally see the benefit of having such protective flim. Note that the flim did not cover the entire area of the COA and serial number stickers. The unprotected area started fraying and tearing over the years while leaving the protected area well intact, as it also turned yellowish at the same time. While i've seen my friends Acer laptop without protection on sticker becoming so dry and cui that the product key has become unreadable.

So having this flap protect the serial number info from direct exposure to surroundings and it particular useful especially if user need to RMA his laptop 3-4 years down the road (if he also extend warranty till that long too).

Which is why he mentioned laser etching. I don't think laser etching will fade due to heat or wear off over time

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator

Points are not just limited to both of you, but also extended to others who have posted previously and who are still lurking around.

But still, will take that into considerations :D

MoneyFace =p

Which is why he mentioned laser etching. I don't think laser etching will fade due to heat or wear off over time
Lase etching is already expensive, somemore etching such small size serial number and barcode. I don't wish my future XPS 13/14/15 to cost another $200 just for the precise laser etching...

enenyi

Coz that's the nature of the game when only 2 of u are left in the competition. Like the previous Samsung contest, trust me, both of u will run out of things to say the moment u start agreeing with each other on currently discussed issues. So to clock maximum points (and allow for bonus points), both of u have no choice but to take sides on issues raised, so that discussion can be generated, rather than spiralling down to a 'agree with Dell' or 'disagree with Dell' monologue.

MoneyFace =p

Points are not just limited to both of you, but also extended to others who have posted previously and who are still lurking around.

But still, will take that into considerations :D
I personally think random bonus points giveaway will be much more fun and will induce members into heavier discussion since we wont know when coming mah. :s12:

Ohayo!

Didn't IKEA already started releasing their home smart furnitures with wireless charging capability?

screen-shot-2015-04-15-at-1.40.53-pm-100579504-primary.idge.png

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/m/tech-news-ikea-announces-qi-enabled-furniture-collection-mwc-2015

http://www.computerworld.com.sg/print-article/84322/

Yes I know. I was referring to tie ups with Starbucks furniture supplier and wireless charging supplier

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Coz that's the nature of the game when only 2 of u are left in the competition. Like the previous Samsung contest, trust me, both of u will run out of things to say the moment u start agreeing with each other on currently discussed issues. So to clock maximum points (and allow for bonus points), both of u have no choice but to take sides on issues raised, so that discussion can be generated, rather than spiralling down to a 'agree with Dell' or 'disagree with Dell' monologue.

Yup. So do remember to remain calm in discussion. No need to get so agitated over it.

Ohayo!

So all admin and mod accounts also have the points system implemented? I thought you all have some sort of different kind of account...

Mai snatch Alienware Alpha from me la.. :sad:

End of today you can redeem liao. Dont need to post quality post to redeem it :crazy:

MoneyFace =p

This is first time reaching near the very end leh. So i also won't know what to post. Heng i still got material to talk about, that i wasn't able to do so during the past few days. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.