M1 5G is here!

Hi1307

Don’t give me false hope leh :(

I just selected their 5G sim only plan and it still says not compatible with esim.

Because you are selecting SIM only, not Bespoke. If I'm giving you false hope why am I on an eSIM and connected to 5G?

6zbcGkl.png

Slavor

Because you are selecting SIM only, not Bespoke. If I'm giving you false hope why am I on an eSIM and connected to 5G?

6zbcGkl.png
Thanks for your reply but I went through the bespoke SIM only checkout process and it didn’t give any option for an esim 5G - at the end of it still asked for delivery address…

Probably have to clarify with their customer service…

EuroR_CL7

I wonder what's happening with M1 recently, their 1627 hotline makes it impossible to connect to a cs for support. Anyone has shortcut what to press? seems like all options given no CS help.

When I finally got them on the line, I was told by their support staff that iPhone with M1 5G is a known issue and it's an iPhone issue not M1. Im constantly not able to connect to the internet and frequently loose connection making it an issue staying connected for work. Signal is showing present with 5G shown, however nothing connects randomly and I have to switch to my ST eSim for data and back before it resolves.

Anyone knows more about this? I can't use an intermittent network and may need to switch telco? I asked for M1 to provide a statement that its an known issue with Apple iPhone but have not gotten a written responses as requested.

cyberet

I wonder what's happening with M1 recently, their 1627 hotline makes it impossible to connect to a cs for support. Anyone has shortcut what to press? seems like all options given no CS help.

When I finally got them on the line, I was told by their support staff that iPhone with M1 5G is a known issue and it's an iPhone issue not M1. Im constantly not able to connect to the internet and frequently loose connection making it an issue staying connected for work. Signal is showing present with 5G shown, however nothing connects randomly and I have to switch to my ST eSim for data and back before it resolves.

Anyone knows more about this? I can't use an intermittent network and may need to switch telco? I asked for M1 to provide a statement that its an known issue with Apple iPhone but have not gotten a written responses as requested.
I think 16.1.2 has some improved compatibility with wireless carriers

Slavor

6zbcGkl.png
I just got off the line with M1 - they confirmed their 5G plans currently only available for physical SIM cards and not esim.

some more your screenshot shows you’re on physical SIM card now…

Slavor

My app definitely offers 5G eSIM. They keep promoting it.

Screenshot-20221212-124642.png
LOL their left hand dunno what their right hand talking sia. So you’re currently on their 5G SIM card plan but they’re offering to convert you to 5G esim?

why not just offer new subscribers esim straight away sia.

edit: some more charge $37 sia. Crazy when it’s literally just data!!

EuroR_CL7

I think 16.1.2 has some improved compatibility with wireless carriers
no unfortunately still the same for me. Over the weekend had more time to go around and noticed that im still frequently not connected despite what cellular bar is showing. Worst of all turning on/off airplane mode won't fix it. Luckily with another eSim I switch data and back fixes it.

But is it really a compatibility issue that iOS/iPhone related?'

@lhurgoyf187 seems to have same issues. Except I dun really make calls often given all those wifi calling being available.

EuroR_CL7

LOL their left hand dunno what their right hand talking sia. So you’re currently on their 5G SIM card plan but they’re offering to convert you to 5G esim?

why not just offer new subscribers esim straight away sia.

edit: some more charge $37 sia. Crazy when it’s literally just data!!
What irks me about the telco is that you are after all paying them for subscription and they constantly want to bill you for SIM cards. Worst if it's eSim.. environmentally friendly but doesn't seem like telco's are keen on that route.
Each time u change phone for eSim need to rescan barcode or download. Again u need to pay. tsk..

Slavor

Lol now I realise circles life esim users can add 5G. Okay bye M1 I go try 5G there first lol.

EuroR_CL7

Lol now I realise circles life esim users can add 5G. Okay bye M1 I go try 5G there first lol.
they are the same right?... except it seems like circles has better CS given the changes M1 has recently. I've heard 1627 about 10times still cannot figure out the combination for simple customer service or technical support.

Slavor

they are the same right?... except it seems like circles has better CS given the changes M1 has recently. I've heard 1627 about 10times still cannot figure out the combination for simple customer service or technical support.
Yea CL uses M1 backend.

CL uses app CS, so not everyone may like it.

EuroR_CL7

Yea CL uses M1 backend.

CL uses app CS, so not everyone may like it.
haha initially I hated it. but now that I compare it against M1. its miles ahead!! lol

I cannot believe that M1 will use their app to push you to an internet based chat that frequently disconnects during the wait, they're ending your queue. Good luck if u are queue no 2 and they come back as queue 50... and also that you cannot even leave the app/page otherwise disconnect as well.

It feels like m1 took 10step backwards on their customer support this time.

natas

Same problem.... My home, happy happy 5G, not happy 4G. Happy no signal, happy 1,2 bars. With 4G or 5G, download, surfing net is like flipping of coin, depending on network mood. Getting worse n worse. How bad can a paid service offered by a telco? Look at the attached pics. Show them to the CEO, will he feels proud n continue monthly fat pay or hara-kiri? :D

Sadly, we do not have a strong, trustworthy org to monitor all these.

Unlike in other country. https://www.reuters.com/business/me...-inaccurate-internet-speed-claims-2022-11-11/

Whats-App-Image-2022-12-12-at-21-33-57.jpg
Whats-App-Image-2022-12-12-at-21-40-07.jpg

Hi1307

Same problem.... My home, happy happy 5G, not happy 4G. Happy no signal, happy 1,2 bars. With 4G or 5G, download, surfing net is like flipping of coin, depending on network mood. Getting worse n worse. How bad can a paid service offered by a telco? Look at the attached pics. Show them to the CEO, will he feels proud n continue monthly fat pay or hara-kiri? :D

Sadly, we do not have a strong, trustworthy org to monitor all these.

Unlike in other country. https://www.reuters.com/business/me...-inaccurate-internet-speed-claims-2022-11-11/

Whats-App-Image-2022-12-12-at-21-33-57.jpg
Whats-App-Image-2022-12-12-at-21-40-07.jpg

The article you sent is completely different. They were fined because they claimed that broadband will be a certain speed, when in reality it was less than half that. A good analogy is you paying for 1Gbps internet but only getting 400Mbps maximum.

For LTE/5G, your speeds are never promised. Telcos always say that you will get up to 1.2Gbps or up to 256Mbps on LTE, but of course speeds will vary depending on network load and location. M1 has poorer coverage than most other telcos, which means u can consider another telco. That doesn't mean that they are misleading you. Plus, you're indoors, IMDA doesn't regulate indoor coverage except at malls, so you could have no internet at all and IMDA wouldn't care.

natas

The article you sent is completely different. They were fined because they claimed that broadband will be a certain speed, when in reality it was less than half that. A good analogy is you paying for 1Gbps internet but only getting 400Mbps maximum.

For LTE/5G, your speeds are never promised. Telcos always say that you will get up to 1.2Gbps or up to 256Mbps on LTE, but of course speeds will vary depending on network load and location. M1 has poorer coverage than most other telcos, which means u can consider another telco. That doesn't mean that they are misleading you. Plus, you're indoors, IMDA doesn't regulate indoor coverage except at malls, so you could have no internet at all and IMDA wouldn't care.

I was just taking an example, an org "fighting" for consumers rights, not an apple to apple comparison.

Again, I was voicing deteriorate network in my place comparing to past and showing the examples for how bad current network is. I was not looking at "promise" or whatever SLA but downloading speed at less than 2mb?

On why I complain, simply sharing my current situation, like others reviews. Yes, I am reading reviews on other telcos and moving on after 10+ yrs with M1.

Need to add, all my comments are personal experience, no intent to discredit anyone. There are customers having good experience with M1 but my case, it is different.

Hi1307

I was just taking an example, an org "fighting" for consumers rights, not an apple to apple comparison.

Again, I was voicing deteriorate network in my place comparing to past and showing the examples for how bad current network is. I was not looking at "promise" or whatever SLA but downloading speed at less than 2mb?

On why I complain, simply sharing my current situation, like others reviews. Yes, I am reading reviews on other telcos and moving on after 10+ yrs with M1.

Need to add, all my comments are personal experience, no intent to discredit anyone. There are customers having good experience with M1 but my case, it is different.

I understand. You're likely being connected to LTE Band 8 only (long range), which M1 doesn't have enough spectrum for. That's why you're only seeing less than 10Mbps. Since your indoors, try looking for indoor antennas from the other telcos (they will look like a square box (or a cake for SingTel) or a 🍆)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.