M1 Data Passport

ahcool1019

restarted many times, still cant.

my wife one was disconnected till 3pm, then i try pff on it works.

but mine still cant. M1 cant help.
Yesterday happen to me when im in jb.today i using it in tokyo okie liao.ask m1 to reset network for me

hkwaycc

My case confirmed Telco (not sure M1 or HK) issue. Because both phones were cut-off right after 1200AM.

tg0703

Hi
Just returned from Kyushu over the weekend, had been using M1 Data Passport till a sms came in saying my Data Cap had reached its limit. Had to ctc M1 to remove it and reset (power off) handset. Took a good 6 hours to have roaming on. Other than this little hiccup, I got good reception all the way even in the mountains.
Just remember to remove Data Cap before your trip.

maleman

Hi
Just returned from Kyushu over the weekend, had been using M1 Data Passport till a sms came in saying my Data Cap had reached its limit. Had to ctc M1 to remove it and reset (power off) handset. Took a good 6 hours to have roaming on. Other than this little hiccup, I got good reception all the way even in the mountains.
Just remember to remove Data Cap before your trip.

Do we need to enable before we leave Singapore or still can activate after arrival overseas?

Gixxerfied

Wife is on data passport now..reception rather good in Osaka, Kyoto, Kawaguchiko and currently Tokyo..

Rem need to activate before leaving as need about 2hrs before receiving confirmation sms and also enable data roaming then manually select network once here..

hkwaycc

M1 FAQ said better activate before going oversea. However, just in case you forgotten to activate, you still able to do so via M1 App and *123#‧

Yes, Roaming cap better disable, as per M1 suggestion.

chesscub

M1 Data Passport Review

Hi everyone,
I went for a holiday in Japan and decided to use M1's Data Passport as I have a mobile broadband data plan with them.

Activation was simple, but not instantaneous. I activated it via my account page on M1's website but only received SMS confirmation the next day. In view of this, you should activate it at least a day before you intend to use it.

As you're roaming on a foreign network, you'll need to turn on data roaming. M1's network lock means your SIM will only be able to connect to their roaming partner's network (Softbank in Japan).

And because my phone was in roaming mode, the "R" symbol took over the usual symbols for the data network connection (i.e. LTE, H+, etc). So I downloaded an app that would display the network type in the status bar (I'm using an Android phone).

To my disappointment, I discovered my phone could only connect at HSPA+ speeds at best even though my plan with M1 was a 4G plan. Even then, it was fast enough for me. M1's roaming agreement probably only covers up to HSPA+ speeds. For those who need LTE speeds, you may want to consider getting a data SIM once you arrive, but note you'll end up paying a lot more than $12.

My phone experienced frequent network disconnections, sometimes as long as 15 minutes. I spent the first half of my trip cursing at Softbank, thinking their network was no good. That was until I discovered that I had left the "preferred network type" (android phone) as 4G. As mentioned above, the roaming agreement probably covers up to HSPA+ connections only and the frequent disconnections were due to the phone trying to connect to 4G without success. There were no more network disconnections after I changed the "preferred network type" settings to 3G midway through my trip.

All-in-all, the speed was acceptable, given that I paid $12 as compared to $40+ to buy a data SIM. I used 1.7GB over 9 days, mainly looking at maps, browsing the web while on the shinkansen, posting to social media and tethering my phone to the laptop when the hotel's wifi slowed to a crawl every night :(

Is M1's data passport worth it? For Japan, probably yes, considering the high cost of a data SIM. For other countries like Malaysia and Thailand, a prepaid SIM with a data plan is the way to go.

Hope this helps :)

dimitri_can

Hi everyone,
I went for a holiday in Japan and decided to use M1's Data Passport as I have a mobile broadband data plan with them.

Activation was simple, but not instantaneous. I activated it via my account page on M1's website but only received SMS confirmation the next day. In view of this, you should activate it at least a day before you intend to use it.

As you're roaming on a foreign network, you'll need to turn on data roaming. M1's network lock means your SIM will only be able to connect to their roaming partner's network (Softbank in Japan).

And because my phone was in roaming mode, the "R" symbol took over the usual symbols for the data network connection (i.e. LTE, H+, etc). So I downloaded an app that would display the network type in the status bar (I'm using an Android phone).

To my disappointment, I discovered my phone could only connect at HSPA+ speeds at best even though my plan with M1 was a 4G plan. Even then, it was fast enough for me. M1's roaming agreement probably only covers up to HSPA+ speeds. For those who need LTE speeds, you may want to consider getting a data SIM once you arrive, but note you'll end up paying a lot more than $12.

My phone experienced frequent network disconnections, sometimes as long as 15 minutes. I spent the first half of my trip cursing at Softbank, thinking their network was no good. That was until I discovered that I had left the "preferred network type" (android phone) as 4G. As mentioned above, the roaming agreement probably covers up to HSPA+ connections only and the frequent disconnections were due to the phone trying to connect to 4G without success. There were no more network disconnections after I changed the "preferred network type" settings to 3G midway through my trip.

All-in-all, the speed was acceptable, given that I paid $12 as compared to $40+ to buy a data SIM. I used 1.7GB over 9 days, mainly looking at maps, browsing the web while on the shinkansen, posting to social media and tethering my phone to the laptop when the hotel's wifi slowed to a crawl every night :(

Is M1's data passport worth it? For Japan, probably yes, considering the high cost of a data SIM. For other countries like Malaysia and Thailand, a prepaid SIM with a data plan is the way to go.

Actually, before i started my own service, i was also on M1. I think it's not that bad. For $12, why not? =)

The speed is still quite fast to my satisfaction.

nomoney25

Hi everyone,

Very good comprehensive review. I am going osaka next feb and will activate the m1 data passport too.

chesscub

Hi everyone,

snip

I'd like to add that you must be aware of your billing cycle. If the start date of your billing cycle occurs during your trip, you'll get hit with another $10 (but your data allowance will also reset). So bear that in mind. Oh, and don't forget to deactivate once you return to Singapore...

Gixxerfied

I'd like to add that you must be aware of your billing cycle. If the start date of your billing cycle occurs during your trip, you'll get hit with another $10 (but your data allowance will also reset). So bear that in mind. Oh, and don't forget to deactivate once you return to Singapore...

Ya..I activate on 10th, trip from 11th to 21st Nov..By the time i reach home already mn, new billing cycle starts on 22nd..22nd noon i login to cancel..They charge extra $10 to my nov bill..

Called in and got them to waive off..

calkel20

Ya..I activate on 10th, trip from 11th to 21st Nov..By the time i reach home already mn, new billing cycle starts on 22nd..22nd noon i login to cancel..They charge extra $10 to my nov bill..

Called in and got them to waive off..
Eh... I thought u didnt want to use?
Anyway i think convenient one. Next time u can pre arrange and get them to off it on whichever day.

Gixxerfied

Eh... I thought u didnt want to use?
Anyway i think convenient one. Next time u can pre arrange and get them to off it on whichever day.

Told u for my wife ma..

I use the umobile sim..the mifi was on 3G as the 4G bands not compatible..So end up nv use mifi..Just plug the umobile sim straight into my phone..

cpuer

Very good comprehensive review. I am going osaka next feb and will activate the m1 data passport too.

Told my colleague about the turning off 4G in her iphone and indeed it worked flawlessly.

calkel20

Told u for my wife ma..

I use the umobile sim..the mifi was on 3G as the 4G bands not compatible..So end up nv use mifi..Just plug the umobile sim straight into my phone..

Wa! Wasted sia.
Use 3G also quite fast too.
So you didn't use your phone to tether for her?
Can save a bowl of ramen...
Or at least 10 gyozas!
Songz!

Gixxerfied

Wa! Wasted sia.
Use 3G also quite fast too.
So you didn't use your phone to tether for her?
Can save a bowl of ramen...
Or at least 10 gyozas!
Songz!

My battery buay tong one day of tethering for her sio..

Myself use, one day out is like can use till flat liao..

At least i wont get a hot thigh... :s13:

calkel20

My battery buay tong one day of tethering for her sio..

Myself use, one day out is like can use till flat liao..

At least i wont get a hot thigh... :s13:

Hot goreng pisang!
I left it on powerbank, need to use the flash out from bag.

Gixxerfied

Hot goreng pisang!
I left it on powerbank, need to use the flash out from bag.

Somemore she save like 2.5gb of data for the trip, dont use also wasted..

Reach back SG left 0.1GB nia, by the time reach home, new billing cycle starts..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.