M1 Data Passport

cpuer

I think M1's preferred network is NTTDoCoMo (If i am right). So once you land, on your Handset, then do a manual search on network to NTT DoCoMo, after which it will register and it will stay on NTT, on your data, & data roaming.

but, If the signal is weak on any places and the network jump to another one, dont worry, if you got activate network lock, it will NOT on the data on that network. just search for the network again then your data will come back.
I would do the above as well. Its kind of double protection together with network lock and a manual network lock as you specifically selected that Docomo network. The set back is you will experience no signal/network when you phone is out of Docomo coverage. But then if Docomo is not able to cover, then doubt other smaller telco has coverage.

calkel20

Now no activation fees anymore?
Or just subscribe will do?
Last time is activation plus subscription to one country.
Can anyone update?
Thank you.

Gixxerfied

used before once when i went HK and China. I only registered for HK passport with network lock so when i went over to China for 3 days I switch off my data roaming and only use the Hotel Wifi.

when bills came, HK was not charged but i got charged data roaming for the 3 days when I am in China. I had a cap per day at $18 for Pay-Per-Use Roaming and everyday i hit $18. I confirm never use any data roaming cause my whatsapp msg all these never comes in until i connect to Wifi.

Called the CSO and she said even if you switch off data roaming settings in the phone, the phone can still be consuming data because of some background activities. Then she say the network lock only use in HK but i never register China's lock so data can still run when I locked onto one of the telecomm in China. Sian and lan lan paid for those charges I never use.

Side note, i've been charge 2 times for that $18 on 2 trips..

1st time - Was in Msia(Brought datasim + my mifi), off data roaming as usual on both phones(iOS and Android) and kena..Called in, they explain to me(Must completely off mobile data if not cell will send small packets and i will get charge) and proceed to waive off.

2nd time(Just a few weeks back) - Go msia again with the another datasim + mifi, this time i off mobile data on both phone..Still kena charge(On the Android device), so it happens not only must off mobile data but also must switch to GSM only for network..They were kind enough to waive again..Didnt happen on my iphone thou..

So i got them to completely turn off data roaming for both lines..

angcsbenny

I also experienced the same bs data roaming charge even when I switched off data roaming. Never had same problem with singtel for the same phone. But encountered twice for m1. They told me last time to waive so I just totally disabled data roaming on their side.

Sent from OPPO X9076 using GAGT

gentoro

Yeah lor, their Data roaming is basically useless when you get datasim or passport data.

For data passport, to avoid jumping of network, do set the network at manual setup. "OFF" Auto search!

reggaez

Now no activation fees anymore?
Or just subscribe will do?
Last time is activation plus subscription to one country.
Can anyone update?
Thank you.

Let me share my experience with Data Passport!

1) There is an activation fee of $10 per country u are going , so if Japan + Korea = $20
2) Activation can be done via m1 mobile app or call in the CSO if u feel not confident
3) For Data passport to work perfectly fine, there are 4 items to be activated inside your plan

Pay per use roaming, Data Roaming, Network Lock and $100 Data Roaming Cap

4) I didn't activate the $100 data roaming cap for my Japan Trip and hence i got locked out when i hit $100 for data roaming, i called in from Japan via Skype and my data passport was activated again

5) I have since use data passport for Indo, HKG, Malaysia and Japan. No funny charges incurred.

PS: I am not an M1 supporter but this data passport is definitely cheaper than buying Japan SIM imo.

buzzmario

Let me share my experience with Data Passport!

1) There is an activation fee of $10 per country u are going , so if Japan + Korea = $20
2) Activation can be done via m1 mobile app or call in the CSO if u feel not confident
3) For Data passport to work perfectly fine, there are 4 items to be activated inside your plan

Pay per use roaming, Data Roaming, Network Lock and $100 Data Roaming Cap

4) I didn't activate the $100 data roaming cap for my Japan Trip and hence i got locked out when i hit $100 for data roaming, i called in from Japan via Skype and my data passport was activated again

5) I have since use data passport for Indo, HKG, Malaysia and Japan. No funny charges incurred.

PS: I am not an M1 supporter but this data passport is definitely cheaper than buying Japan SIM imo.

is there a fees to paid for $100 Data Roaming Cap? $100 data would be like many many data g i suppose?

Gixxerfied

I see. Maybe will try it out. Since a data dim in jap would br more than $27?

Last year I data sim one phone and data passport another..

Now in Shinjuku, took changi recommend mifi for $60(could have been $50 instead but I collect 1 day earlier due to redeye flight and returning one day later due to landing after mn)..unlimited 4G data for 2 phones..

Wife and me no need to conserve data before trip..

purpleberry

Now in Shinjuku, took changi recommend mifi for $60(could have been $50 instead but I collect 1 day earlier due to redeye flight and returning one day later due to landing after mn)..unlimited 4G data for 2 phones..

How's the performance indoors?

swordspirit

that 1 use what network? seem like only good to rent when there is promo, if not will be very ex. i have 5gb, so maybe still can do with datapassport

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.