[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

whiteflag

retail store tends to offer packages.. like in my case, epicentre offered me a 99$ 3 year apple care upon purchase of a alu macbook.. :D

Does retail store have discount for tertiary student like what is offer on apple store?

n0d3

Hi guys got another question here. It's about shutting down. The guy at the shop recommended me not to use the Shut Down button on the top right corner of the keyboard. May i know why is that so? He said that it was better to click on the apple logo on the desktop and select Shut Down.

Is he correct?

Which shop is this? Either way you shutdown through the OS what. E.g. you click the apple icon>shut down and you press the button you still have to click shut down from the options dialog.

Please let me know who offered you this piece of "advice" so I can avoid him.

elusified

hey guys, beside SLS, any neighbourhood shopping centers have shops providing the service of screen protector for macbook?

sharshar

Which shop is this? Either way you shutdown through the OS what. E.g. you click the apple icon>shut down and you press the button you still have to click shut down from the options dialog.

Please let me know who offered you this piece of "advice" so I can avoid him.
somehow, i think the salesman meant not to hold down the power button (think >3s) to shut down.. :o

LESTER_xoxo

hi, i am very new to mac. when i inserted videos through a thumbdrive into my mac, i can't view it using quicktime. do i have to install any codec to view my hk drama?

skipper

whats the format ? you have to tell us that unless you want us all to guess :s11:

htancl

My Macbook unibody doesn't go to sleep when closing lid. Only can put to sleep by selecting from menu. I had the moshi palmguard and trackpad protector, and the specks plastic casing. Is this obstructing the sleep mode sensor or something. Any advise is very much appreciated.

BigBirdMan

wow, u have exactly the same moshi palm guard/trackpad and spec see-thru casing as me. Perfect protection huh....But...... i have no sleeping issue here. Assume u stick the palm guard swee swee....the dirt will still stick to the glossy screen. haha, have to rub off more oftenly.

Ok, macbook takes a while to go sleep. observed the power LED on the bottom right.

But i never used sleep. I only forced in to hibernate. Sleep mode also takes the juice out of your bat.

using SmartSleep. http://www.jinx.de/SmartSleep.html

htancl

wow, u have exactly the same moshi palm guard/trackpad and spec see-thru casing as me. Perfect protection huh....But...... i have no sleeping issue here. Assume u stick the palm guard swee swee....the dirt will still stick to the glossy screen. haha, have to rub off more oftenly.

Ok, macbook takes a while to go sleep. observed the power LED on the bottom right.

But i never used sleep. I only forced in to hibernate. Sleep mode also takes the juice out of your bat.

using SmartSleep. http://www.jinx.de/SmartSleep.html

Hi Bro..ye.. the best combination.. but i still thinking of getting a crumpler hymn case for me to carry my MB around..

Will check out the SmartSleep.

iamwxx

Anyone knows why my mac always hangs like for less than a second then goes back to normal.
Happens more often when watching videos online too

BigBirdMan

Is Itouch consider ipod Touch ? If yes

Then does Ipod Touch allow sim card to be inserted ?

Coz 3G is for sim card only.

skipper

1st of all your "itouch" is suppose to call ipod touch coz there is no such thing as "itouch" from apple and ipod touch is a muti-media player not a cell phone,so why the hell in this world would you want to insert a 3G SIM into it :s22:

2nd,you have posted your question in the wrong forum if you did not know there is a ipod,itune and iphone sub forum in apple clinic than i am telling you now.

3rd,you are obviously making use of the forum to post out of the world question to promote your mass order of apple sauce(scratch polishing soluion for ipod and iphone).

4th,worst of all i can still see people here reply to his question knowing that he has post his question at the wrong forum.:s22:

And One More Thing,i need to tell you.

WRONG FORUM

keiiii

I must thank you all for this thread, very helpful for first time convert like me. I read through all the pages and found many useful things for my macbook. Now I have a question which I know is somewhere in this thread cause I remember reading it yesterday but the search wont allowed me to search for 3-letters word. My screen will dim after a few mins altho I set it not to dim in Energy Saver, where is the other location I can change the settings?

viper0419

hi,

i have a question on my Macbook.
As i am downloading stuffs, I kept my macbook on using Insomnia and i disable hibernation.
However, when I check it after a few hours, the wireless network is not connected and will only connect a few minutes afterwards. (means all these time the macbook is on but now downloading). Why is that and how to solve it?

Thanks!

n0d3

Wireless incompatibility with your router lor maybe. Normal usage after long period got D/C boh?

n0d3

no leh... i also dun have this problem with my PC or my 2 other notebook.:s11:

You just answered your own question, with your PC and 2 other notebooks. Why you need InsomniaX anyway? Usually I just configure it not to sleep from system prefs and I won't recommend you closing the lid, the heat builds up.

I suggest you try again this time without InsomniaX and with the lid open.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.