[Mac 101] Ask your questions here!

meggidodimus

anyone here tried doing this before?
put a piece of paper (a4 sized) over ur keyboard ( trackpad including)
maybe like after 5 mins when u go back to try using the trackpad, u cant use it for maybe 1 -2 mins, after which it
becomes normal agn. repeat the process and the same thing happens.

anyone knows the cause of this cuz this is happening to my mbp

PetPet

anyone here tried doing this before?
put a piece of paper (a4 sized) over ur keyboard ( trackpad including)
maybe like after 5 mins when u go back to try using the trackpad, u cant use it for maybe 1 -2 mins, after which it
becomes normal agn. repeat the process and the same thing happens.

anyone knows the cause of this cuz this is happening to my mbp
Well, ever wondered why whenever you type on your keyboard the cursor disappears from your MBP screen?
Because your hands are on the keyboard, it automatically disables the trackpad.

Understood what happened?

n0d3

yeah i have the same issue. u have bootcamp with windows on? i believe thats whats causing me the problem.

i have a question: my MB is acting oddly. whenever i start up my mac, the time is not updated. I have to manually click on the time settings before it will update itself to the correct time. anyone with the same issue?

Windows stores the local time to the hardware clock, whereas most other OSs store UTC to the hardware clock. If you are connected to the internet in both OSes with clock sync on it shouldn't be a problem. It's been this way since Boot Camp was introduced.

meggidodimus

Well, ever wondered why whenever you type on your keyboard the cursor disappears from your MBP screen?
Because your hands are on the keyboard, it automatically disables the trackpad.

Understood what happened?

hmm i understand wad ure saying, but after putting the paper over, i remove it, i try moving my finger over the trackpad, i can see the cursor, but it doesn't move.

equiox1

case

Can Someome recommend me a very good casing for old gen macbook white!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

InnocentBlood

anybody know's a gd place locally to purchase s/w such as toast titanium? i know that apple shop online is selling @ SGD$165. i was hoping to find it cheaper in the local shops... any input would be appreciated thanks :)

kyonite

hey i have a macbook pro 13" latest gen one, entry level. i tried playing games with it and i must say i'm quite impressed with it when i played warcraft on parallels windows 7.

i heard the graphic card can't be upgraded and upgrading ram above 3GB is unwise as the computer utilizes only 3.33GB at most. Is that true? I allocate around 1.25GB RAM into my parallels when playing games.

Thanks.

leinad

hey i have a macbook pro 13" latest gen one, entry level. i tried playing games with it and i must say i'm quite impressed with it when i played warcraft on parallels windows 7.

i heard the graphic card can't be upgraded and upgrading ram above 3GB is unwise as the computer utilizes only 3.33GB at most. Is that true? I allocate around 1.25GB RAM into my parallels when playing games.

Thanks.

That's for Windows, not OS X.. 32-bit Windows has a memory hole above the 3.2-3.4GB region that's hardcoded as inaccessible. It's the architecture. Even though there are hacks to make the full 4GB available, it's also strongly advisable not to since programs and drivers that aren't specifically written to access that region can and will crash that OS.

A proper 32-bit OS should be able to handle 4GB of RAM fine. And OS X, since an early incarnation, can handle >4GB of RAM perfectly well - it just pages 4GB of RAM max to each application in 32 bit mode.

/Dan

skaade

Windows stores the local time to the hardware clock, whereas most other OSs store UTC to the hardware clock. If you are connected to the internet in both OSes with clock sync on it shouldn't be a problem. It's been this way since Boot Camp was introduced.

what do you mean clock sync? is that an additional program or is it found under settings? i have already tried to tweak with all possible logical settings but its still not working and i'm connected to the internet. previously it only affected osx but now it has spread over to Windows XP. :s11:

n0d3

what do you mean clock sync? is that an additional program or is it found under settings? i have already tried to tweak with all possible logical settings but its still not working and i'm connected to the internet. previously it only affected osx but now it has spread over to Windows XP. :s11:

If you turn on internet time sync under Time/Date Settings, it should automatically sync to the correct time via the internet.

kyonite

oh okay.. so if i wanna upgrade my ram i should go for the 4gb one?

the graphic card's not upgradable right?

Amaterasu_X

hi guys, i have recently installed windows 7 on boot camp.
i find it too bright and the brightness is unadjustable
i've tried to install the drivers from the SL cd, but it didnt work, there were no drivers in the both of the cds provided. then i tried to install the graphics card drivers and it failed too..
what should i do now? thanks.

renfred89

hi guys, i have recently installed windows 7 on boot camp.
i find it too bright and the brightness is unadjustable
i've tried to install the drivers from the SL cd, but it didnt work, there were no drivers in the both of the cds provided. then i tried to install the graphics card drivers and it failed too..
what should i do now? thanks.

When you r in windows, you cannot adjust the settings like how u adjust in mac.

In windows, the function keys will only work if you hold down the Fn key, follow by F1 to decrease the brightness...

Full Screen Mode on Windows 7

Hi, I have two question, hope pple there can help...

I having iMac 27" i7 running on Windows 7 (bootcamp), when I open Safari or Internet Explorer on Windows 7, all the words are in the middle with two white row on the left & right of the screen...

Same when playing video on media player (real player), when I right click "full screen", the video are on the middle with two black row on the left & right... The video didn't take up the whole iMac Screen...

I don't have this problem in my office which run iMac 21.5" runnings on Vista (bootcamp)...

ITretard

hi.. do u all have any stands for mbp?? cos i dun wan it to let my mbp lay flat on my table..

PetPet

Hi, I have two question, hope pple there can help...

I having iMac 27" i7 running on Windows 7 (bootcamp), when I open Safari or Internet Explorer on Windows 7, all the words are in the middle with two white row on the left & right of the screen...

Same when playing video on media player (real player), when I right click "full screen", the video are on the middle with two black row on the left & right... The video didn't take up the whole iMac Screen...

I don't have this problem in my office which run iMac 21.5" runnings on Vista (bootcamp)...
Normal, some websites aren't optimised to 27 inchers.

ITretard

You can try something like Mstand.

whre can i get it leh??

my mbp always getting very hot :s22:

another question. anyone noe where can i get moshi palmguard (the store oso help to apply)

ITretard

errr.. hi. can anyone help? the gif i save in my folder will not move.. how can dis b solve?? and how do i resize gif?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.