March BTO 2012

lookers

CCCBBBBBBBBBBBBBB... The prices for the HDB minus the furnishing = price of the DBSS Trevelis....

SO WHY ARE WE HAVING TO PAY SO MUCH FOR THE HDB? :(

3-Room

$322,000 - $400,000

4-Room

$438,000 - $576,000

5-Room

$550,000 - $679,000

wai

clementi so ex some more standard flats!!! Those DBSS owners must be laughing now...

not really, when times are good, premium flats worth more

but when times are bad, it will be opposite

gnixer

Chill... Depends on location laaaa

Buy bukit panjang lor, 4 room from 240k only..
5 room from 300k...

If good locations are same pricing, then many pple will queue and end up, got $ no luck also cannot buy ma..

almost 100% jump from normal 4 rm flat.
ask people stay near parent yet give such ridiculous price.
they think we are earning 15k a month.
they are going down for sure again in 2016

bau_ong

Actually in my personal opinion (you can disagree with me), the prices of Clementi BTO are pretty expected.

Some of you say that because there is a wait period of 3 years it should be cheaper than SOBF, but i don't think HDB takes that into consideration based on my research. They usually look at the current market prices, especially the resale prices of the same area when they price their BTOs, or even SOBFs for that matter. The prices of some of the SOBFs have been marked up so high (eg. Clementi SOBF above the current mall) compared to it's first SOBF pricing in 2009.

A fellow member mentioned that a 5 room unit SOBF in clementi was going for $515000 (118sqm), which falls within the 4 room pricing for the coming BTO. But did you notice the location (blk 723 is quite some distance away), the level (#03-180 super low), as well as the age (1 jan 1981 lease commence so long ago!) of that unit? You probably would have to splash a ton of money on the renovation as well assuming that it's in original condition. No way of finding out condition anyway :(

Recent Casa Clementi SOBF Price range for 4 room: 412-526k
Clementi Ridges BTO Price range for 4 room: 438 - 576k
Taking both locations into account you can't say that the prices are very unexpected :(

So i would say that HDB took into account those factors before pricing the new BTO. Location top factor, PLUS it's next to Trivellis DBSS. That being said, this is a price I can't afford unless i am going for the much lower levels :s22:

Oh, btw, those who say that the prices of the current Clementi BTO are same as Trivellis, did you see the size of the trivellis flats? I went to the showroom and in my opinion, Trivellis was overpriced. The size of a 4 room is 80-82 sqm but includes a 10sqm air con ledge and balcony. Internal area is only slightly bigger than a usual HDB 3 room! My partner and I felt it was a marketing gimmick, you are paying a 4 room price for an atas 3 room space. So you are getting a more cramped space in fact. If i'm not mistaken, even if you replicate the interior furnishing it'd still be cheaper than the DBSS itself.

Waiting for H88 to release their verdict on these BTOs. They are the experts so for those of you intending to get this place and can afford it, can wait for their review.

Elnin0

it is good to get a HLE from HDB first... means must know how much HDB/bank willing to lend u based on u and partner income...

No point buy a 500k flat where they can only loan u 300k. if u and partner cpf only 100k now. u need to top up 100k in cash leh.... so do yr maths.

So i need to do it before I queue for the number (paying the $10 fee)? If loan from HDB, go to Toa Payoh HDB hub? what are the things to bring?

lampano

that y, puts me into dilemma, wan to try but abit worry
this BTO confirm confirms win over DBSS.
Cheaper and bigger alot

Ask yourself as a buyer, which will you pick if you wanna buy a unit at that site?

trinity4ever

Agree with bau_ong's view. Is quite expected. Check out the latest resale/valuation prices of the HDB units nearby & you will know HDB does take into account mkt price.

If you look at Clementi Ridges map/site plan, govt still fork up $ to build park as Ridges is designed to be like a home within a park. For the pricing, i thk quite worth liao (considering today's pty mkt). If you want such parks in condo, u hv to pay hor... Though i kw some will argue that the park is open to public. Then hor... HDB is public housing mah. Of course facilities are to be shared with the rest of the residents :)

To me, yes HDB pricing is high but in today's mtk, i thk the pricing for this proj is considered quite reasonable as compared to DBSS. Like i said, some Clementi residents who bought at resale are shelling out similar amt (excl reno) for older flats. So if anyone get a unit, be happy hor cos i can't even apply for 1 :sad:

Actually in my personal opinion (you can disagree with me), the prices of Clementi BTO are pretty expected.

Some of you say that because there is a wait period of 3 years it should be cheaper than SOBF, but i don't think HDB takes that into consideration based on my research. They usually look at the current market prices, especially the resale prices of the same area when they price their BTOs, or even SOBFs for that matter. The prices of some of the SOBFs have been marked up so high (eg. Clementi SOBF above the current mall) compared to it's first SOBF pricing in 2009.

A fellow member mentioned that a 5 room unit SOBF in clementi was going for $515000 (118sqm), which falls within the 4 room pricing for the coming BTO. But did you notice the location (blk 723 is quite some distance away), the level (#03-180 super low), as well as the age (1 jan 1981 lease commence so long ago!) of that unit? You probably would have to splash a ton of money on the renovation as well assuming that it's in original condition. No way of finding out condition anyway :(

Taking both locations into account you can't say that the prices are very unexpected :(

So i would say that HDB took into account those factors before pricing the new BTO. Location top factor, PLUS it's next to Trivellis DBSS. That being said, this is a price I can't afford unless i am going for the much lower levels :s22:

Oh, btw, those who say that the prices of the current Clementi BTO are same as Trivellis, did you see the size of the trivellis flats? I went to the showroom and in my opinion, Trivellis was overpriced. The size of a 4 room is around 80-81 sqm but includes a 10sqm air con ledge and balcony. That's only slightly bigger than a usual HDB 3 room! So you are getting a more cramped space in fact. I did not take into account the price of completed furnishing (because i'm not sure of that area).

lampano

Oh, btw, those who say that the prices of the current Clementi BTO are same as Trivellis, did you see the size of the trivellis flats? I went to the showroom and in my opinion, Trivellis was overpriced. The size of a 4 room is 80-82 sqm but includes a 10sqm air con ledge and balcony. Internal area is only slightly bigger than a usual HDB 3 room! So you are getting a more cramped space in fact. If i'm not mistaken, even if you replicate the interior furnishing it'd still be cheaper than the DBSS itself.

Waiting for H88 to release their verdict on these BTOs. They are the experts so for those of you intending to get this place and can afford it, can wait for their review.
no need H88 verdict. This BTO confirms wins the ****ty DBSS over.
Same site site, Cheaper, better view, can hop over to DBSS facilities to use freely and most importantly, ALOT BIGGER..

fron another forummer; Size of DBSS 4rm (~80sqm inclusive of big balcony and airon ledge) is smaller than BTO 4rm (~93sqm inclusive of aircon ledge).
The actual internal floor area of DBSS 4rm is 71 sqm and BTO 4rm is 90 sqm.

I wont be surprised if 10yrs later the resale prices for DBSS is lower than those HDB. :s22:

alexis10

The prices of clementi is really high... need to redo my sums... 680k for a 5rm and i have to top up 45k in resale levy.... i rather top up the 200k and get a EC... good luck for those who buy...

BTW any one have a idea of where the exact location of the SOBF? I can't seem to get the website to load.. too much traffic i guess..

bau_ong

no need H88 verdict. This BTO confirms wins the ****ty DBSS over.
I wont be surprised if 10yrs later the resale prices for DBSS is lower than those HDB. :s22:

I feel the pain of Trivellis owners. :( But why is this surprising for Trivellis owners i wonder. Perhaps it came too sudden... but Sooner or later only right. Most of Clementi should be scheduled for en bloc, the flats are all so old! Even the temp. bus interchange will highly likely also become a BTO site in future. Government can't possibly put a hold on all BTO sales in Clementi just because of Trivellis. Hopefully these owners will feel that the furnishings and add ons are worth the difference in the price. Value is a matter of perspective...Don't add salt to their wound liao :o

bau_ong

The prices of clementi is really high... need to redo my sums... 680k for a 5rm and i have to top up 45k in resale levy.... i rather top up the 200k and get a EC... good luck for those who buy...

BTW any one have a idea of where the exact location of the SOBF? I can't seem to get the website to load.. too much traffic i guess..

Casa Clementi a few, Clementi Towers a few (above clementi mall), a few around clementi central where the new BTO is (i.e behind police station, next to fire station). Mainly very old ones. Be prepared to spend some money doing reno. Bonus if no need. There are also a few on west coast plaza side. I agree, perhaps should do some sums, if really close to EC pricing would advise to go for that instead. Heard from my cousin that EC becomes private in 10 years? Do correct me if i'm wrong.

calcalmon

Questions:

I wanted to apply for the next BTO but unexpectedly got SOBF this time round.
Looking to hoot a specific unit a matured estate but there's only 3 unit left.

Should I bang my chances on the SOBF unit?

wai

If you look at Clementi Ridges map/site plan, govt still fork up $ to build park as Ridges is designed to be like a home within a park. For the pricing, i thk quite worth liao (considering today's pty mkt). If you want such parks in condo, u hv to pay hor...

home within a park? from the site map, the park is only at the north and it is quite small too

bau_ong

Questions:

I wanted to apply for the next BTO but unexpectedly got SOBF this time round.
Looking to hoot a specific unit a matured estate but there's only 3 unit left.

Should I bang my chances on the SOBF unit?

:) Hmmm.. calculated risk. Perhaps you monitor the applications and then do your maths. If higher chances of getting BTO and you're not in a hurry to get the flat then go for BTO. Newer flat usually more worth it as value tends to inflate over years. Highly likely need to renovate old flat and 3 units really low chances. If tio really super lucky!!

lampano

I feel the pain of Trivellis owners. :( But why is this surprising for Trivellis owners i wonder. Perhaps it came too sudden... but Sooner or later only right. Most of Clementi should be scheduled for en bloc, the flats are all so old! Even the temp. bus interchange will highly likely also become a BTO site in future. Government can't possibly put a hold on all BTO sales in Clementi just because of Trivellis. Hopefully these owners will feel that the furnishings and add ons are worth the difference in the price. Value is a matter of perspective...Don't add salt to their wound liao :o
the temp interchange?
It is already schedule for enbloc for 3 blks ave 5 residents for SERS.

The owners walk in eyes wide open...well no point discussing that now

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.