March BTO 2012

hwaa

ya, why some people still say they will wipe off entire CPF? :s11:

they will wipe out your cpf.

first 5% downpayment, then keys collection will wipe clean. balance is hdb loan.

so those who are on high hdb loan abit risky cos cpf is wiped off. unless u shift away some money for investments.

ichi87

What I believe is that they won't ask you to pay the monthly installments for the next 30 years. You wun get tied down, u just have to work hard.. think its really based on meritocracy.. if u have done well.. get a promotion, get a pay rise den u can afford a better flat.

If I apply now.. for the next 30 years.. i must be sure that I won't commit any mistake or what so that unemployment will be looming around me..

in short, its about yourself.. u work hard.. get a good pay and one day if u strike TOTO.. pay ur balance.. the whole flat is urs.... (Im being optimistic)

Anyway, I not trying to defend the govt... just my personal opinion..

so I have done my finances.. I won't go fighting with others for clementi or what.. near MRT/Town is useless to me.. I can take bus/LRT/walk..

no point paying so much just to have MRT near me.. since MRT also spoil most of the times now...

hwaa

if bto is pegged to the resale, then the future will be bad.

ronnie81

Haiz in a dilemma now....aiming for the clementi tower but application rate getting higher. Alternative would be to go for a older 5rm flat in jurong east near my parents.

Juz to check....if i apply for the clementi flat and get a lousy queue num where the clementi tower flats are sold already.....would i be forced to buy other flat in the same area or can i give up the chance? Would tat count as forfeit and I would not be eligible for future benefit with regards to the latest policy?

Kevin10

probably can check out the model at HDb@toa payoh? (but must squeeze thru the crowd lah. can't believe so many people no need to work on a weekday morning...)

I dun think the model is out yet.. normally models is out only upon selection time.. no ? hehe

fie1987

Have decided not to apply for clementi bto. Applied for sobf instead :) nearer to both of our parents :) in the same estate. Hopefully get good q number.

lampano

Haiz in a dilemma now....aiming for the clementi tower but application rate getting higher. Alternative would be to go for a older 5rm flat in jurong east near my parents.

Juz to check....if i apply for the clementi flat and get a lousy queue num where the clementi tower flats are sold already.....would i be forced to buy other flat in the same area or can i give up the chance? Would tat count as forfeit and I would not be eligible for future benefit with regards to the latest policy?
call hdb.
the replies here may not be accurate, dont take chances

lampano

Have decided not to apply for clementi bto. Applied for sobf instead :) nearer to both of our parents :) in the same estate. Hopefully get good q number.
good luck!!!
You need tons of it.

pottpurri

Bukit Batok or Bukit Panjang

Can anybody advise which bto location would be better? Bukit Batok or Bukit Panjang? cant decide at all. :(

Clementi is too expensive.. :(

lampano

Can anybody advise which bto location would be better? Bukit Batok or Bukit Panjang? cant decide at all. :(

BB or BP i think same same la.
BB will have more condo feel......cos have swimming pool :s13: right below.
But also next to PIE CONFIRM + CHOP noisy if select units facing it

BP has better newer surroundings/mall/sports complex, but further
Theres a bus to town, which travel via BKE/KJE? I think 15 mins only

idolcritic

From traffic perspective, BP has no MRT now. So quite inconvenient if you don't drive. The bus (190) is quite crowded because CCK/Teck Whye pple also take it to go to town or back from town. But the bus frequencies nowadays is quite good. Just that if you take bus from Orchard, you probably got to stand all the way that kind. Downtown line when finished will be better for BP. But the Fajar Hills is not near to MRT also, gotta take the LRT a few stops to reach the BP MRT.

The BB location is also not very near the MRT. Walking is far-ish but there should be buses taking you to JE MRT instead?

idolcritic

BB or BP i think same same la.
BB will have more condo feel......cos have swimming pool :s13: right below.
But also next to PIE CONFIRM + CHOP noisy if select units facing it

BP has better newer surroundings/mall/sports complex, but further
Theres a bus to town, which travel via BKE/KJE? I think 15 mins only

The bus is more like 40 mins to me. Plus walking, waiting for bus, etc and depend on where you alight (Scotts Road or City Hall/Suntec or Chinatown), it will take you about 1 hour +/- to get to town.

Jarlaxle

You must be either gullible to believe wholesale what they want you to believe or you're working for the IB.
hehe im nt sure. but if u look strictly at the hdb annual report.
they are indeed nt making money.

HDB refuses to provide cost break down
IIRC based on a tender awarded to a construction firm, the average building cost per unit is about $125k only.
yup and markup some admin cost and staffing cost.

Land cost is arguable.
HDB price it according to market rate. Not the dirt cheap price they acquired.
What is market rate? They assume if the price can be sold to private developers.
But then it's common that when the highers bid of a land sales is still not high enough, the tender is voided.
Even so, the land cost is shared by so many vertical units.
HDB does not price the land.
they bought it from SLA lol
u shld go to SLA website to read how they price instead of HDB for land cost
well, they may nt sell it for private developer wat.
SLA can always rezone the land from residential to office or commercial or CASINO right?

In short, the subsidy is virtually on paper
Simply means a unit could have sold for so much based on prevailing market resale rate, but hdb sell you less (earn you less but still earn a lot) hence 'subsidised' and making 'loses'.
yup! thats nt wrong.
technically, its still a subsidy lah. lol
altho ethically, it is objectable.

Jarlaxle

i tink this qn is better if u ask ur spouse ?

does downtown line cuts thru these 2 area ?

limpoop

Day 3 and SBF is catching up:

BTO 4153 5585
SBF 3825 5623

Hottest BTO:
Clementi 5-room 216 639 3.0
Clementi 4-room 312 753 2.4
Bukit Batok 4-room 517 1035 2.0

Hottest SBF:
Toa Payoh Studio Apartment 2 25 12.5
Bedok Studio Apartment 1 11 11.0
Marine Parade 4-room 2 21 10.5

idolcritic

i tink this qn is better if u ask ur spouse ?

does downtown line cuts thru these 2 area ?

Downtown line starts from BP. In future, the Teck Whye (possibly CCK) pple will probably take LRT to BP to take the MRT to town.

stonefish35

My friend inherent the bto flat after both parents died. And now she is consider as a 2nd timer, who will never enjoy grant / subsidiary. Usually each generation enjoy once as a 1st timer and grant / subsidiary, but not for the unfortunate. Fair ?

Parents pls don't die before your children has a house :D

omfg... this is real? it's so sad and so screwed

It is even sadder that, when people inherited a property from their parents, they are complaining about the lack of rebate / subsidies for 1st timers, who had never owned any property at all , nor inherited any property whatsoever.

ahzai66

Is the CPF Housing Grant for Family and Additional CPF Housing Grant for those applying for bto new flats or for buying resale flats?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.