May BTO 2012

tanjhj

Higher floor = lesser pests. No mosquito bite for me anymore after I shifted to 22 levels.

yup to play safe is ninth floor. why? because the ceiling of new flats so low. the nine floor now is the 7th floor then.

tanjhj

Thanks for that enlightening analysis. Just wondering if the mscp really acts as a good buffer from the noise? So any unit apart from those at block 10a shld be fine?

technically yes. also u have the view of the rooftop garden above the mscp

tanjhj

I agree that this is a noise (BL) vs smell (canal) game :s13::s13::s13:

when there before. the smell is not tracable when u are at the other end of the canal. dun believe can go and smell urself. whereas the noise at BL is really loud. u can go to the city view dbss or the plot of land next to it. The BL is next to the main road where 24hrs u will get heavy car volume. also because the road are long and straight. often u get racing sports car trying to show off in the middle of the night.

whereas MT, the area is always quite and homely feeling. the area are blocked from noise by the existing flats and if you stay abv 15th floor, there shouldnt be much flats that will block ur wind for the older flats/houses there are low level flats.

i also try to walk to the boon keng mrt stn. BL is really far. mt is just blocks away and straight to the gate nearest to the stn ctrl. BL have to walk a long underpass after cutting thru the city view and existing estate and a grass field to the mrt gate which is furthest to the stn ctrl.

BL area got lots of china/vietnam/thai ktv gals at night time as many night joint ard there. MT has more foreign backpackers because of a hostel there.

BL only have the lavender food court nearby but MT have many food joints and cheap food and also the 24 hours mac is just few blocks away from MT. no wonder they wanna sell MT at premium. however please note the MT area may look older as compared to new estate of BL.

i have been staying at one mrt away from the BL and MT since 1988.

Those who got kids and they need to study or need to sleep in quite environment, get MT better. Those who want cheaper flat or want the so-call views, choose BL

keithster

Last Queue Number invited for selection of a 4-Room flat in Kallang / Whampoa under the May 2012 BTO exercise as at 18 Jul 2012 : 00065

No selection today...

arsenal100

Went to BL site last week find that the distance walking to MRT is tolerable. Exit C and pass the 3 block of City View then reach the target. Actually the concept of "far" differ between everyone. For me, the distance is acceptable given that MT still more and more near to MRT.
So the far factor you need to have a ground walk to see whether can you accept that distance.

As the the noise, agree that noise travel up. Also went to a friend house @ City View above 30 floor. Find out that the construction site's sound can be heard clearly. The traffic noise don't seem too much. (Maybe in the evening and night, not test in the morning yet). Overall the night noise level still okay. (Again it a bit subjective)

jareon81

This is actually not intended as response directed to you, but rather to add to the discussion.

when there before. the smell is not tracable when u are at the other end of the canal. dun believe can go and smell urself. whereas the noise at BL is really loud. u can go to the city view dbss or the plot of land next to it. The BL is next to the main road where 24hrs u will get heavy car volume. also because the road are long and straight. often u get racing sports car trying to show off in the middle of the night.

I think smell and noise really must go see the plots and see what you are willing to live with. That said the distance from one end of the estate to the other is around 100m so some stacks are more affected than others. For comparing the noise stand near block 5 then compare against standing closer to the road. I think nothing is better blocking noise than another building in the way of it so look at the site plan and see if any neighbours are blocking haha. The MSCP would help, but I'm not sure if it helps if you are too high up. Ie. I think if you are high enough over the MSCP to see the main road, I think the noise will reach your windows. You also don't want to be too close to the MSCP cos also got noise and light at night. You might also want to take note of City View's MSCP position. The noise thing I think you must experiment for yourself but I don't think you can expect good silence in Singapore unless you shut your doors and windows. That said humans adapt quite well to noise but personally I would also rather not.

whereas MT, the area is always quite and homely feeling. the area are blocked from noise by the existing flats and if you stay abv 15th floor, there shouldnt be much flats that will block ur wind for the older flats/houses there are low level flats.

Haha not sure if it has a homely feeling. But it is quieter. But BL feels more open since the surrounding area is more low lying. Actually more BL stacks get wind than MT. This may or may not be a good thing, the wind might become noisy enough that you have to shut your windows. In any case this might depend on the time of year.

i also try to walk to the boon keng mrt stn. BL is really far. mt is just blocks away and straight to the gate nearest to the stn ctrl. BL have to walk a long underpass after cutting thru the city view and existing estate and a grass field to the mrt gate which is furthest to the stn ctrl.

If you had to cut through City View, I suspect you walked the long way round. From the MRT station you should go through block 6 then block 5. This is the route for the covered walkway to BL. You should appear behind City View's MSCP and near a playground. The underpass does admittedly feel quite long the first time round though. For some odd reason the covered walkway to MT is only on the other side linking to Towner Heights (which I find very annoying). Build another sheltered walkway more direct to the MRT that difficult meh?

BL area got lots of china/vietnam/thai ktv gals at night time as many night joint ard there. MT has more foreign backpackers because of a hostel there.

I think the area you are talking about is the shop houses along Lavender Street. They face away from BL towards Lavender Street and you could always pick one of the stacks closest to the MRT. If it is bad at the stacks around there then it should be bad at the City View DBSS as well. They are probably really sore that BL is blocking their City View haha. Personally haven't been there at night to check out the situation, will probably check it out closer to my selection. My queue is still far off and I'll have to see what is left that I can live with.

BL only have the lavender food court nearby but MT have many food joints and cheap food and also the 24 hours mac is just few blocks away from MT. no wonder they wanna sell MT at premium. however please note the MT area may look older as compared to new estate of BL.

MT is more convenient in terms of food availability. But I think the food not very nice. Lavender food court food I think better, but think not much variety. BL also has more food available at night haha. BL is also closer to the new downtown line station.

These are actually 2 very good plots. If only 1 of these plots appeared at a time everyone will be talking about how fantastic the plot was, it's only because both are available that people will compare.

I think the bottom line is that there are pros and cons for each estate and stacks within the estate. If there was a consensus of the best stack/estate everyone would be zooming in on it. Just check out the selection for Punggol May BTO to see what I mean.

keithster

Regardless of whether you are in dilema of choosing between BL and MT, you have to tell yourself that you are really fortunate that you have got a chance to select and purchase and flat in KW.

kean1978

Optional Components

Hi all,
Is the HDB Optional Component - flooring for living/dining and bedrooms value for money?
If I carry out renovation our self will it cost a lot more? :s11:

AlfieH

Also went to a friend house @ City View above 30 floor. Find out that the construction site's sound can be heard clearly. The traffic noise don't seem too much. (Maybe in the evening and night, not test in the morning yet). Overall the night noise level still okay. (Again it a bit subjective)

Cool! Did u manage to snap photos of the views from the 30th floor as well? Mind sharing it here? :)

arsenal100

Cool! Did u manage to snap photos of the views from the 30th floor as well? Mind sharing it here? :)

AlfieH, It was a pity that I do not snap a photo of the night view. Personal feeling for that was totally magnificent. A "Wow" view. The balcony view for the direction of heartland. So can imagine if facing city side that would be more astonishing!

One word, the night view was pretty GOOD!

huangfuxing1980

AlfieH, It was a pity that I do not snap a photo of the night view. Personal feeling for that was totally magnificent. A "Wow" view. The balcony view for the direction of heartland. So can imagine if facing city side that would be more astonishing!

One word, the night view was pretty GOOD!
Citi view residents are crying now, after 3 yrs, no citi view anymore :)

tanjhj

Regardless of whether you are in dilema of choosing between BL and MT, you have to tell yourself that you are really fortunate that you have got a chance to select and purchase and flat in KW.

HAHA. the people who got their sengkang flat when the ratio is almost 5:1 really strike 4d liao

tanjhj

Citi view residents are crying now, after 3 yrs, no citi view anymore :)
those who stay at BL below 20 floor also no city view after the commercial bldg comes up. usually commercial bldg build damn fast. funny if the comm bldg completed before the BL. so those who wanna buy for city view better get above 20th floor

tanjhj

This is actually not intended as response directed to you, but rather to add to the discussion.

I think smell and noise really must go see the plots and see what you are willing to live with. That said the distance from one end of the estate to the other is around 100m so some stacks are more affected than others. For comparing the noise stand near block 5 then compare against standing closer to the road. I think nothing is better blocking noise than another building in the way of it so look at the site plan and see if any neighbours are blocking haha. The MSCP would help, but I'm not sure if it helps if you are too high up. Ie. I think if you are high enough over the MSCP to see the main road, I think the noise will reach your windows. You also don't want to be too close to the MSCP cos also got noise and light at night. You might also want to take note of City View's MSCP position. The noise thing I think you must experiment for yourself but I don't think you can expect good silence in Singapore unless you shut your doors and windows. That said humans adapt quite well to noise but personally I would also rather not.

Haha not sure if it has a homely feeling. But it is quieter. But BL feels more open since the surrounding area is more low lying. Actually more BL stacks get wind than MT. This may or may not be a good thing, the wind might become noisy enough that you have to shut your windows. In any case this might depend on the time of year.

If you had to cut through City View, I suspect you walked the long way round. From the MRT station you should go through block 6 then block 5. This is the route for the covered walkway to BL. You should appear behind City View's MSCP and near a playground. The underpass does admittedly feel quite long the first time round though. For some odd reason the covered walkway to MT is only on the other side linking to Towner Heights (which I find very annoying). Build another sheltered walkway more direct to the MRT that difficult meh?

I think the area you are talking about is the shop houses along Lavender Street. They face away from BL towards Lavender Street and you could always pick one of the stacks closest to the MRT. If it is bad at the stacks around there then it should be bad at the City View DBSS as well. They are probably really sore that BL is blocking their City View haha. Personally haven't been there at night to check out the situation, will probably check it out closer to my selection. My queue is still far off and I'll have to see what is left that I can live with.

MT is more convenient in terms of food availability. But I think the food not very nice. Lavender food court food I think better, but think not much variety. BL also has more food available at night haha. BL is also closer to the new downtown line station.

These are actually 2 very good plots. If only 1 of these plots appeared at a time everyone will be talking about how fantastic the plot was, it's only because both are available that people will compare.

I think the bottom line is that there are pros and cons for each estate and stacks within the estate. If there was a consensus of the best stack/estate everyone would be zooming in on it. Just check out the selection for Punggol May BTO to see what I mean.

MT food is not bad if not better than the lavender food court. there are hawker centre and many food shop around the estate which sell decent food at good price. if u say food is not good at MT i dunnoe what to say for lavender food court only maybe the wanton noodle and the frog leg porridge are famous. the other food std and price cannot compare to the equivalent at boon keng.

anyway, both estate are near the food joints i mentioned, just that MT are nearer. Deeper into the whampoa have other good food joints and hawker centre. Like one forumer noted, if got family, MT maybe a better choice, BL will get more lively and noisy at night with more KTV opening up so better buy higher levels unit if wanna be less affected.

personally I am those that need peace and silent to study or do work so the noise of BL will be a factor. 30th floor i did not go so far but the noise at level 15-20th floor are quite loud. those who wanna have more quite time pls take note future projects near BL may add to the noise level.

tanjhj

I strongly suggest to go down and explore rather than get feedbacks like some said, everything is subjective.

oh yes. for those who take buses to work , BL will be a better choice with it between 2 major routes.

arsenal100

Hi all bro,

Just a question to ask. Can we just wait it was about to collect key then decide whether stick with HDB loan or bank loan. As now the bank loan really very attractive at a lower rate like 1.5% below compare with the fixed 2.6%?

tanjhj

Hi all bro,

Just a question to ask. Can we just wait it was about to collect key then decide whether stick with HDB loan or bank loan. As now the bank loan really very attractive at a lower rate like 1.5% below compare with the fixed 2.6%?

1.5% lol. wait till they raise it to above 3-4% it is always very low as a bait.

huishann

i have a friend like that. and she was forced to take the 9th floor. her fear of height reduced alot after staying there for sometimes. also at least 9th floor if u dun wanna mosquito or roaches infestation

haha, provided by the time it reaches my number, there is still a 9th floor.

if i am you and I am left with no choice, i will take.

hmm, true. shall see how when my selection date comes bah. fear can try to conquer. but luck, have means have, dont have means dont have haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.