May BTO 2012

tanjhj

for those who have some cash to spare but decided to go for OCS, I urge that you pay a visit to the tile shops out there to see the latest designs they have... HDB provides tiles that totally cannot make it.

as for the HDB doors, I dun think the doors are strong enough since they are only semi solid type.

I will get a full package from my renovator. he will provide everything including basic ID design. I will get my tiles and door myself from supplier and he will renovate the house. fyi, doors, tiles and basic ID renovation cost between 10,000 to 30,000 only if you get a decent contractor who are not overcharging you.

private contractor quote for 3 room budget tiles are just 3,000, 4 room about 5,000. Doors are between 1500 to 3000 depending on quality and rooms.

OCS? what a joke quality and design. they sucks. expensive to me for the quality they selling. Also at the balestier, you can have diff tiles for different room. no need all the same design thruout. However beware of the ID at balestier and those that claims free ID if you buy their tiles etc. just shop around, you wont be disappointed. those that advertise on TV and newsapaper heavily also avoid at all cost.

toilet door and room/kitchen divider i get pd door as i heard the hdb laminated door dun last.

http://www.pddoor.com/

farmer71

Anyone knows the status now? How many gave up?

As of today 4 room.
Total unit :888
Unit still available : 615
Selection Q number : 352
total number of selected unit 888 - 615 = 273
total number of drop out 352 - 273 = 79
% drop out is 79/352 x100% = 22.44%
And base on the Ethnic Quota
Chinese : 507
Malay :185
Others : 86

If all remaining unit from tomorrow is selected by chinese the last q number before the ethnic Quota for chinese is reach would be 352 + 507 = 859.

And should there be no more drop out the q number will end @ 888+ 79 = 967

keithster

Those who thot of giving up BL/MT bto be warn,a few bto down the road,there might be a policy change by hdb to allow single to buy flat directly from hdb. That mean more competition in the bto market.

LOL... I wonder how many singles in Singapore can afford a BTO in matured estates based on an average Singaporean income level.

farmer71

LOL... I wonder how many singles in Singapore can afford a BTO in matured estates based on an average Singaporean income level.

Another point to note, i dont think single will be allow to buy 4 room or 3 room flat.
A total waste of space

tanjhj

The plus point of taking up OCS is that it can be paid by CPF.

OCS not worth it. if your house loan is 20-30 yrs. the interest u paid might as well go for private loan with 5 yrs tenure.

dbs loan cheapest at 5% pa for 15k and 5 yrs.

tanjhj

Queue Number

Last Queue Number invited for selection of a 3-Room flat in Kallang / Whampoa under the May 2012 BTO exercise as at 26 Aug 2012 : 138

15 on tray today

3-Room 327 242 66 205 35

Last Queue Number invited for selection of a 3-Room flat in Kallang / Whampoa under the May 2012 BTO exercise as at 27 Aug 2012 : 00143

5 on tray today

3-Room 327 233 66 197 34

yesterday 9 out of 15 Q selected.

8 chinese 1 others 0 malay

taken unit = 94
Take up % = 68%
Drop out % = 32%

if all chinese from now on, last Q = 335
if based on 30% drop out rate and all chinese from now on, last Q = 394

keithster

I will get a full package from my renovator. he will provide everything including basic ID design. I will get my tiles and door myself from supplier and he will renovate the house. fyi, doors, tiles and basic ID renovation cost between 10,000 to 30,000 only if you get a decent contractor who are not overcharging you.

private contractor quote for 3 room budget tiles are just 3,000, 4 room about 5,000. Doors are between 1500 to 3000 depending on quality and rooms.

OCS? what a joke quality and design. they sucks. expensive to me for the quality they selling. Also at the balestier, you can have diff tiles for different room. no need all the same design thruout. However beware of the ID at balestier and those that claims free ID if you buy their tiles etc. just shop around, you wont be disappointed. those that advertise on TV and newsapaper heavily also avoid at all cost.

toilet door and room/kitchen divider i get pd door as i heard the hdb laminated door dun last.

PD DOOR

i wun be getting pd doors though i thot of getting them initially... i personally seen and feel it, it does not make me feel that it can last too.

i am referring more to the latch that controls the opening and sliding portion.it makes me feel that the latch will give way after using it for some time.

but the good thing about this kind of door is the noise control... traditional door ppl might slam or close hard at night which may wake up the family members.

keithster

Totally agree. dun like the color also. What about the metal gate? does HDB provide or under OCS?

hmm... should be under basic finishing right? same as kitchen, service yard etc. all comes with basic finishing even if you dun go for OCS.

1 thing i am curious is, if you dun go for OCS, will HDB provide some kind of "basic tiles or simple doors when they deliver the house to you? i mean you dun expect me to see my living room and bed room be filled with cement if i dun go for OCS right? and if i dun opt for the door, you mean all my room are without door and my entire house is secured with a metal gate only? sounds funny

keithster

Increase of babies - more 3/4 rooms for young couples...so I don't think so...

agree... in fact if government wants people to get married and have kids, they should continue not to allow singles to buy bto so that these singles can feel the urge to find a life partner and get settled down soon.... i mean it is good for the singles also mah.

techielim

hmm... should be under basic finishing right? same as kitchen, service yard etc. all comes with basic finishing even if you dun go for OCS.

1 thing i am curious is, if you dun go for OCS, will HDB provide some kind of "basic tiles or simple doors when they deliver the house to you? i mean you dun expect me to see my living room and bed room be filled with cement if i dun go for OCS right? and if i dun opt for the door, you mean all my room are without door and my entire house is secured with a metal gate only? sounds funny

Metal gate, kitchen floor tiles, wall tiles, toilet wall tiles, floor tiles, standard basin, water pipes hidden, service yard floor tiles, toilet bowls and main wooden door all provided. Whether standard or premium flat. This is e basic. If u do not Opt for ocs, u will find concrete flooring n no doors. No cement screeding done too. U will hv to pay to ur contractor to do for u which does not include haulage charges. Which can cost from $1000 up. When u select ocs, is inclusive of e labour, material to carry n lay e tiles. Haulage not included. ID normally quote floor tiles abt $5.50 per sq ft. So u do ur maths if Hdb is charging high. Cement screed is separately charged.

keithster

hello everyone... i am wondering hor... just asking only.

do you all think it is an offence or illegal to write a software script to check hdb website every 5 or 10 minutes for update?

if it does, actually i know how to do it cos i am working in IT and I am also a .NET programmer... otherwise after so many weeks of monitoring, my eyes are twirling...

F3Rm1nat0r

do you all think it is an offence or illegal to write a software script to check hdb website every 5 or 10 minutes for update?

if it does, actually i know how to do it cos i am working in IT and I am also a .NET programmer... otherwise after so many weeks of monitoring, my eyes are twirling...
I dont think it's illegal :)

farmer71

LOL... the flat already so ex... CPF already got wiped off liao... where got money from CPF to pay for such things :s22::s22:

What i meant is that the OCS price will be added together with the selling price of the flat. So even if kanna wiped off it also inclusive of the OCS fitting.

techielim

Actually don think is illegal. From my understanding if u use it for e means of distribution and to earn profit from it will than be considered. If u use it for personal or sharing without any returns it will be legal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.