May BTO 2012

keithster

Oh really? I have set my sight on that block too, what is your queue no ? I think it will be snapped up fast.

No it may not... cos as mentioned, due to facing cross traffic junction, people may not want there.

Btw, my number is 6xx

verticate

the market will crash within 2 years but you gonna wait 5 years for it to be built and another 5 years in order to sell. During that time, the property prices may have gone up c'mon.

Property market will go up and down but Singapore's property prices will not drop too much based on a simple logic that this island has limited land and many foreigners are rushing in to gain a foothold due to its prosperity.

Friend, you are right, markets exist because of heterogeneous investors, meaning some people believe an asset is overvalued and some people believe it is underpriced.

I could be wrong, but I did my homework and this is my conclusion.
You are free to draw your own conclusions too.

Since this thread is for potential buyers, and I am no longer one, I am not going to explain my reasons further. I wish you all the best of luck in getting the homes of your dreams.

keithster

Friend, you are right, markets exist because of heterogeneous investors, meaning some people believe an asset is overvalued and some people believe it is underpriced.

Since this thread is for potential buyers, and I am no longer one, I am not going to explain my reasons further. I wish you all the best of luck in getting the homes of your dreams.

thanks for sharing your thots also but i believe your thots do pose a note of caution to some property investors here.

all the best to you too.

huishann

you're really dropping out of both projects ?

wdblazer

If both sites are so bad, why did you waste time and money to ballot?

I'm sure everyone here knows that the market will crash, maybe it might happen this year even. It will affect everyone in this island, not just the buyers of these 2 sites.

Shouldn't people in the queue be happy if he decided to drop for his own reason?

I don't know why leh, people get big queue no, unhappy. Guys with small queue no want to drop out, those with bigger no scold them? Instead should wish that more of those with smaller no drop out :s13:

verticate

If both sites are so bad, why did you waste time and money to ballot?

I'm sure everyone here knows that the market will crash, maybe it might happen this year even. It will affect everyone in this island, not just the buyers of these 2 sites.

We balloted because we have to get the option before we can make a decision.
There is no point in choosing between Harvard or Stanford unless you obtain the offer letters first, that's when you reach a decision point. Also, I never said both sites are bad, I just highlighted the disadvantages since the advantages have been covered. I live nearby so I know the area quite well too.

Since we believe property prices will drop, we plan to enter the market when property prices are low. If our predictions are wrong, we made our own bed and have to sleep in it. We are prepared for that.

The BTO system means the price you pay now is locked in for 5 years, plus another 5 year MOP. My fiancee and I are not from rich families, so if anything goes wrong, we are on our own. Some of those who graduated at the same time as me also balloted and got in the queue for mcnair and bendemeer. they come from wealthy families, so they are not as price sensitive as my fiancee and I.

gnixer

always treat buying house for a roof over your head not for your investment.
TOP + MOP = easy easy also 8yrs and above.

keithster

We balloted because we have to get the option before we can make a decision.
There is no point in choosing between Harvard or Stanford unless you obtain the offer letters first, that's when you reach a decision point. Also, I never said both sites are bad, I just highlighted the disadvantages since the advantages have been covered. I live nearby so I know the area quite well too.

Since we believe property prices will drop, we plan to enter the market when property prices are low. If our predictions are wrong, we made our own bed and have to sleep in it. We are prepared for that.

The BTO system means the price you pay now is locked in for 5 years, plus another 5 year MOP. My fiancee and I are not from rich families, so if anything goes wrong, we are on our own. Some of those who graduated at the same time as me also balloted and got in the queue for mcnair and bendemeer. they come from wealthy families, so they are not as price sensitive as my fiancee and I.

Since you have decided to drop out, of course I will be very happy to learn it since my number is on the high side.

I think it is very hard to find people like you and your fiancee to think sensibly like this nowadays cos I think most people love to rush into things and follow suit when all others are doing the same.

But I would like to correct 2 points you have highlighted above.

1. When you say "Since we believe property prices will drop, we plan to enter the market when property prices are low.".

My comment is: When the property prices are low, do you think during that time HDB still have flats with such a prime location like MT or BL for you?

Over time, most areas in matured estates will be occupied and even there is, the number of units may be limited and you will be harder to get balloted again.

2. When you say "The BTO system means the price you pay now is locked in for 5 years, plus another 5 year MOP. My fiancee and I are not from rich families, so if anything goes wrong, we are on our own.".

My comment is: Why you never wanna look at the brighter side? What if the property prices go up and your investment now (the amount locked in) yields much better profits for you 10 years later?

Not to forget, the amount you pay now you are also paying for the convenience you will get. Staying in Boon Keng means potentially you travel to different parts of Singapore faster and you pay lesser fares. So have you seriously consider the "convenience" factor into your analysis?

In my opinion, you have still not done your homework well, my friend.

Unless you tell me that you cannot afford. Which I think you should not have balloted in the first place since you already know you can't afford one at all.

Cos remember when you ballot that time, they did tell you the price range of the flat units?

Mihozz

square feet are roughly the same, just how they arrange the layout. MT living seems bigger because they push out the toilets. the surrounding area for MT is also nicer, premium finishing and their multi stories carpark is the middle of the cluster that link to the flats.

Idea leh, I can try that too.

You look through the thread and see the pro and cons then you decide what you want.

For BL, the path way from the main door cut through the living room in a weird way. That's what I feel, since the dining portion now becomes too small to hold a proper table without extruding out. You will be able to see half of your dining table 'hanging' there when you open your main door. Check out the recommended floor plan.
MT has a very decent dining hall, personally I feel it is easier to fit the furniture.

McHill

Since you have decided to drop out, of course I will be very happy to learn it since my number is on the high side.

I think it is very hard to find people like you and your fiancee to think sensibly like this nowadays cos I think most people love to rush into things and follow suit when all others are doing the same.

1. When you say "Since we believe property prices will drop, we plan to enter the market when property prices are low.".

My comment is: When the property prices are low, do you think during that time HDB still have flats with such a prime location like MT or BL for you?

Over time, most areas in matured estates will be occupied and even there is, the number of units may be limited and you will be harder to get balloted again.

2. When you say "The BTO system means the price you pay now is locked in for 5 years, plus another 5 year MOP. My fiancee and I are not from rich families, so if anything goes wrong, we are on our own.".

My comment is: Why you never wanna look at the brighter side? What if the property prices go up and your investment now (the amount locked in) yields much better profits for you 10 years later?

Not to forget, the amount you pay now you are also paying for the convenience you will get. Staying in Boon Keng means potentially you travel to different parts of Singapore faster and you pay lesser fares. So have you seriously consider the "convenience" factor into your analysis?

Unless you tell me that you cannot afford. Which I think you should not have balloted in the first place since you already know you can't afford one at all.

Cos remember when you ballot that time, they did tell you the price range of the flat units?

for point 2:

At least personally based on my understanding of most countries' monetary policies, it is hard to see again a property price surge like the past years. Thanks mainly to the western world governments, interest rate is almost zero now. What do you expect from them in the next years to stimulate the economy like they did in the past 20 years (just lower interest rates whenever economy slowed down)...

The western world is following Japan's path. Zero interest, high debt level, high house price. But everything stagnates, both economy and prices. The only hope for SG is that we are in Asia and hopefully the growth in the region can offset the stagnation.

Mihozz

After long battles of the wits with my hubby, we are inching more and more towards MT, mainly for "residential" atmosphere compared to Jalan Besar (too busy) atmosphere of BL. My personal favorite is 272 but my hubby prefers 240.... will have to see who gets the final say.

LOL, same here, a lot of battles on and off.

I agree with you, it feels much safer to raise my kid there, not to be worrying too much on kid running to the street accidentally and get hurt, and it's convenient with the super markets and shops at door step.

Plus, I don't want my kid to see any 'Tranny' on the street or any night street girls walking around beside the small bars. Would be very bad for him to grow up in such kind of surrounding...

BL might be better for young couples I guess. Just guess only.

verticate

For point 1, your argument is about upside gain vs. downside risk. There are plenty of articles on this, so I am not going into this.

My concern is this, if the market goes bad, and either one of us loses our jobs, we will be stuck in a rut and may have to sell because we cannot afford to hold. Unless we are like my MBA classmate who got a $200k wedding gift from his parents to subsidize their flats, the downside risk outweighs the upside gain for us in this case.

We have also factored in the time value of travel in our analysis. Both my fiancee and already live in this area, so we allocate a lesser significance to the time value of travel.

If the market is bad, and we are spared from retrenchment (meaning we get to keep our jobs) we can just buy resale from the people who cannot afford to hold. We expect that there will be couples living in central area who lost their jobs and are bleeding cash hand-over-fist just keeping up with the mortgage payments. Yes they can ask HDB for a moratorium, but there will be some people who bought using bank loans and are facing foreclosure. We buy resale and move-in is immediate, zero holding cost and zero holding risk.

keithster

For point 1, your argument is about upside gain vs. downside risk. There are plenty of articles on this, so I am not going into this.

My concern is this, if the market goes bad, and either one of us loses our jobs, we will be stuck in a rut and may have to sell because we cannot afford to hold. Unless we are like my MBA classmate who got a $200k wedding gift from his parents to subsidize their flats, the downside risk outweighs the upside gain for us in this case.

We have also factored in the time value of travel in our analysis. Both my fiancee and already live in this area, so we allocate a lesser significance to the time value of travel.

If the market is bad, and we are spared from retrenchment (meaning we get to keep our jobs) we can just buy resale from the people who cannot afford to hold. We expect that there will be couples living in central area who lost their jobs and are bleeding cash hand-over-fist just keeping up with the mortgage payments. Yes they can ask HDB for a moratorium, but there will be some people who bought using bank loans and are facing foreclosure. We buy resale and move-in is immediate, zero holding cost and zero holding risk.

ok i got your point. since you are already living around that area, to buy or not to buy does not really affect you much in terms of convenience.

smart move on getting it as a resale at a later stage.:s12::s12::s12:

eileen0o_o0

Does anyone knows slightly about Geomancy? Any suggestion on which block is good for 4room flat in CCK Keat Hong Pride?

The review from H88 suggested BLK 16 but ... from what I heard from others, any housing near to temple , crossroad
or directly facing them is not good?Is that true? If anyone knows , pls give me some suggestions.

Thanks in advance :)
Hi, mi too.. 4R CCK.. oso dun noe which unit or which direction is beta...

huishann

For BL, the path way from the main door cut through the living room in a weird way. That's what I feel, since the dining portion now becomes too small to hold a proper table without extruding out. You will be able to see half of your dining table 'hanging' there when you open your main door. Check out the recommended floor plan.
MT has a very decent dining hall, personally I feel it is easier to fit the furniture.

you can rotate your dining table in BL and it wont be seen from the door :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.