MBP Battery Swelling

sizzy6

My MBP 15 inch 2018 battery swelling.. anyone have same problem ?

Less than 2 years only .. and they want me pay for battery replacement .. seems more like it their issue .. i never had any device be it phone or laptop battery swelling ..

reddevil0728

My MBP 15 inch 2018 battery swelling.. anyone have same problem ?

Less than 2 years only .. and they want me pay for battery replacement .. seems more like it their issue .. i never had any device be it phone or laptop battery swelling ..
Never buy applecare?

is your mbp on constant charge?

sizzy6

check their website if there is any recall order for it

check already .. previous models have .. but not the 2018 one .. i think because quite recent and problems start coming up already when its close to 2 years..

Never buy applecare?

is your mbp on constant charge?

no buy .. tot should be able to last .. was thinking to change mbp next year(because 16 inch + better keyboard + possibly new cpu) liao ..

i check the website its $288

yea .. now only the latest catalina they have this battery management problem ..

i check the apple discussion seems like alot of people have the same problem

i can accept if the battery cannot last as long .. but the swelling like hazard sia ..

reddevil0728

check already .. previous models have .. but not the 2018 one .. i think because quite recent and problems start coming up already when its close to 2 years..

no buy .. tot should be able to last .. was thinking to change mbp next year(because 16 inch + better keyboard + possibly new cpu) liao ..

i check the website its $288

yea .. now only the latest catalina they have this battery management problem ..

i check the apple discussion seems like alot of people have the same problem

i can accept if the battery cannot last as long .. but the swelling like hazard sia ..

I think Apple care is always a good deal. It’s technology after all. Bound to fail

Snoweagle

If there’s no recall notice means it’s not really a major issue. Yours might just be some isolated cases where faults might from manufacturing problems.

I’m still using my mid 2015 one, and I’ve absolutely no problems whatsoever since day 1. Battery cycle count is 450 and capacity hovers around the 84-87% range, so which means life a little shorter than normal.

I still love it very much due to the different ports it has plus the illuminated Apple logo, which is the last model to have it. The MBP still runs pretty speedy on Catalina, awaiting Big Sur.

Those being said, yours technically is out of warranty so a swollen battery replacement means paying in full, and please stop using immediately for safety reasons. It’s either you replace the batt or buy a new MBP, which the former is a wiser choice and 2018 model is still considered rather new.

Shutterfly

I think you should just replace the battery for $288 and then wait for another 1-2 years to buy a new MacBook with ARM.

As advised by others, meanwhile please stop using the MacBook.

szeli

go to somewhere like macplus if dun want to pay  price on e replacement batt

sizzy6

If there’s no recall notice means it’s not really a major issue. Yours might just be some isolated cases where faults might from manufacturing problems.

I’m still using my mid 2015 one, and I’ve absolutely no problems whatsoever since day 1. Battery cycle count is 450 and capacity hovers around the 84-87% range, so which means life a little shorter than normal.

I still love it very much due to the different ports it has plus the illuminated Apple logo, which is the last model to have it. The MBP still runs pretty speedy on Catalina, awaiting Big Sur.

Those being said, yours technically is out of warranty so a swollen battery replacement means paying in full, and please stop using immediately for safety reasons. It’s either you replace the batt or buy a new MBP, which the former is a wiser choice and 2018 model is still considered rather new.

not sure .. but there are quite alot of people complaining in the apple forums from my search .. same 2018 model ..

my battery cycle not even 100.. yea probably have to go replace the battery but just saying nv had this problem before .. especially for a premium product and they had this problem before(https://support.apple.com/15-inch-macbook-pro-battery-recall), makes me think if the problem is still happening ..

sizzy6

apple store is open to walk in ? support say cannot walk in .. but online they dont have appointment slot ..

zzz

i-Movies

I have 3 MacBooks, MacBook Pro 2013, MacBook Pro 2018, New MacBook, all had swollen battery problem 1-2 years after purchase, luckily I had 3y AppleCare for all of them so simply sent in and got it replaced, not only battery but they also need to replace cover, keyboard, touchpad.

Strange is, after replaced battery, I no longer had this problem any more, the MacBook Pro 2013 had battery replaced somewhere in 2015, so far it still looks good.

Arandalo

My late 2013 MacBook Pro retina 13 inch the original battery also started to swell but I only noticed it on the 6th year in 2019 cause I put it on laptop stand so only when I placed it on flat surface then realise it wobbles. It probably started swelling a little in 2018 so roughly around 5 years I think most batteries will swell.

Paid $288 to change as I didn't see a need to buy the newer MacBook especially with the butterfly keyboard issue. Apple will replace the entire bottom half of your MacBook and reuse the motherboard and the bottom plate (with serial number engraved) unless it got bent excessively then apple will replace with a generic bottom plate with no serial number. So basically you will at least get new top half casing of the bottom, new keyboard, new track pad, and of course new battery.

I leave it plugged into power fully charged like almost 95% of the time which the apple staff told me it's not good for the battery and may be the reason for swelling. I'm still on OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 so I believe you don't need the battery health management feature in macOS 10.15.5 as it took 5 to 6 years before the battery started swelling. If I remember correctly the cycle count was about 600/1000.

Snoweagle

not sure .. but there are quite alot of people complaining in the apple forums from my search .. same 2018 model ..

my battery cycle not even 100.. yea probably have to go replace the battery but just saying nv had this problem before .. especially for a premium product and they had this problem before(https://support.apple.com/15-inch-macbook-pro-battery-recall), makes me think if the problem is still happening ..

My 2015 model quite recently also have an official from Apple on overheating batts and catching fire, but seems to affect those bought from Sep 2015. Fortunately mine was bought a few days after launch in May 2015, so no issues.

Premium products are not immune to defects. One classic example is that a lot of MBPs are affected by the staingate issue where the coating on the screen wears out unevenly, showing ugly ‘stains’ on it.

sanzhu

Quickly change

Will make the whole laptop burst

Metal all bent

Snoweagle

apple store is open to walk in ? support say cannot walk in .. but online they dont have appointment slot ..

zzz

You can but on condition they have staff to serve you whenever there’s a free slot, else prepare to wait for at least an hr or two.

Appointment slots are very limited now due to current restrictions so check back regularly for a slot, but need to wait at least several days now.

Fellowes

Same, my 15” MBP Late 2013 battery bloated too. Bought in Mar 2014 and got it change last year at Orchard Apple Store in Jul 2018.

Pay $288 get new keyboard, trackpad, battery and top chassis as it’s integrated but can feel that MBP after so many years with latest MacOS Catalina it getting slower and slower, heat up easily around 70 even on idle.

hereiam7788

very obvious that macbook pro since year 2016 onwards, it has more issues than 2015 and older.

my macbook pro battery also gets bloated just after 1 year of usage since last replacement. I was told that it was due to the fact that I am using it with AC power attached all the time which it is indeed the case. My macbook pro is on 24x7 with AC power on. My battery cycle is less than 10.

I thought the battery should be smart enough to stop charging if it is with AC power on all the time obviously it is not. if that's the case, every year spend $288 to replace battery is insane man since the battery becos even my company laptop lenovo T series, i had used it for 3 years with power on all the time, the battery also is yet to be bloated. Its battery life degraded, yes, but not bloated. however, to be fair, i dun use my company laptop as often as my macbook pro which i use it only during workdays and working hours.

reddevil0728

very obvious that macbook pro since year 2016 onwards, it has more issues than 2015 and older.

my macbook pro battery also gets bloated just after 1 year of usage since last replacement. I was told that it was due to the fact that I am using it with AC power attached all the time which it is indeed the case. My macbook pro is on 24x7 with AC power on. My battery cycle is less than 10.

I thought the battery should be smart enough to stop charging if it is with AC power on all the time obviously it is not. if that's the case, every year spend $288 to replace battery is insane man since the battery becos even my company laptop lenovo T series, i had used it for 3 years with power on all the time, the battery also is yet to be bloated. Its battery life degraded, yes, but not bloated. however, to be fair, i dun use my company laptop as often as my macbook pro which i use it only during workdays and working hours.

Was told that even the Mac will stop charging by itself, but overtime, that feature will be degraded hence this issue.

Guess this is not very uncommon...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.