Mercs GLB180 vs GLB200

koster

The turbo charged engine is mature in technology. Many cars now also turbocharged. I used to own a 2 liter conti with turbo charged drive until coe expired without problem
Ya saab and volvo have been using turbo for the last 40 years or so

TopGun

I saw that in sgcarmart review. It's ridiculous that a luxury brand 3 row car don't have rear air con vent...

Because in SG badge sells and people look past these things. People see that you are driving a merc but they don't know that the 3rd row passengers don't have Aircon vents.

C4l3b

Because in SG badge sells and people look past these things. People see that you are driving a merc but they don't know that the 3rd row passengers don't have Aircon vents.
Now that u remind me it’s true. I fetched my kids and nephews on a trip out and the 2 youngest sat in the 3rd row complained very warm..😂😂.

I personally won’t buy a glb but since they provided the most powerful version for me as replacement car, no complaints

googoogaga

My honest opinion as a GLB owner: Comfortable and fast enough as a daily workhorse for Singapore roads. 1.3L engine is good enough for overtaking during peak hours since traffic is crawling anyway. One of the best looking family 7-seater (only when needed) at this price point. But make sure you get it during roadshows with steep discounts and the resale value will hold well.

It is more practical to look at cars within your budget instead of comparing against the likes of GLC, GLE or even GLS. Interesting comparison between actual selling price vs advertised price for all cars registered in Dec 2024:
https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/cont...ying/Car_Cost_Update/M032-Car_Cost_Update.pdf

I see you are referring to the total basic cost column as the selling price? I don't think this is the selling price. This column doesn't include the dealer margin. It is only useful to see how much margin a dealer is making.

RePlaY

I see you are referring to the total basic cost column as the selling price? I don't think this is the selling price. This column doesn't include the dealer margin. It is only useful to see how much margin a dealer is making.
That is the selling price with ARF, VES rebates, registration fee etc. Dealers will not show you their true margin.

TUV2008

Now that u remind me it’s true. I fetched my kids and nephews on a trip out and the 2 youngest sat in the 3rd row complained very warm..😂😂.

I personally won’t buy a glb but since they provided the most powerful version for me as replacement car, no complaints

they are a lot of impulsive buyer during the time of the launch of this car 4 years ago.... i remember one C&C sales told me they sold 80 units over one weekend.... imagine number of units up for lelong now on resale market....

deathscthe

if really want a 7 seater suv see kodiaq(mild hybrid)/santa fe(hybrid)/sorento(hybrid) for that price range. glb really buy for badge but the resale value is better also so see what you prefer. glb is the only cat a car :rolleyes:

deathscthe

Go test drive the SKODA kodiaq… under 200k, 7 seater stylish suv… hybrid… I driving one for 5 years.. no issues… drive in to Malaysia no fear of being stolen as Malaysia doesn’t have Skoda
no choice ppl see VW gearbox=confirm got problem but nowadays all on wet clutch so only issues is with mechatronics.

Zze121

power to weight ratio does matter
1L power suits a 1ton body
@ 1.55ton plus 7pax, 250nm on turbo
a 2L looks reasonable to pull that weigh

Emperor_Hippo

Try Volvo when one day during heavy rain I kena backside from a jap car. First time in my life someone backside me under the heavy rain while holding umbrella and looking at my car and his, I feel so paisay to reproach him.

All I did was feel my car moved forward like one meter and I thought I got engine problem like make me wanna die fire.

Then I look at car first, there was a small dent on my backside , I look at his car and I realise 1/3 of his bonnet gone and dent in.

Sent the photo and video to my workshop. The mechanic laugh and say Volvo jiu shi Volvo. You are driving a tua Kong chia (tank).
most conti like that.

u start with baseline Volkswagen also tougher than ur average Japanese car.

TopGun

To be fair, GLB is not a bad car. It has the built quality of a Merc, and it does the job of ferrying 7 pax. For some, the rear seats are hardly used and they may need the car for the boot space given their lifestyle.

Emperor_Hippo

no choice ppl see VW gearbox=confirm got problem but nowadays all on wet clutch so only issues is with mechatronics.
the Clutch Pack wear out primarily becos of the physics and working principles of the DG240 dry clutch. plus ppl treat the DSG clutch macam like some shiet CVT automatic car, sure chui damn fast.

the MU issue is due to the use of synthetic oil (or mineral oil) that caused the MU Board to leak sulphur into the oil that caused damage, this issue already solved since 2015 batch liao mah.

googoogaga

That is the selling price with ARF, VES rebates, registration fee etc. Dealers will not show you their true margin.
My point is this is not the actual transacted price and this is not the sales transactions list. The Actual price that you would expect to pay will be somewhere in-between the base price and the dealer quoted price depending on when you buy like special promo events, whether you take loan, how much trade in car you are giving etc.

deathscthe

the Clutch Pack wear out primarily becos of the physics and working principles of the DG240 dry clutch. plus ppl treat the DSG clutch macam like some shiet CVT automatic car, sure chui damn fast.

the MU issue is due to the use of synthetic oil (or mineral oil) that caused the MU Board to leak sulphur into the oil that caused damage, this issue already solved since 2015 batch liao mah.
Bopians mindset is there liaos.

battledome64

Actually my question was what is the difference between glb180 from AD and glb200 from PI, that's all.

I didnt know this simple question about a family car can lure out all the insecure people who cannot stand people buying an entry level mercs. Machiam buy entry level mercs is a crime because it is "not a performance car."

I wonder what kind of "performance car" are these Max Verstappen wannbes driving. Wrx or evo? Or M3 M4? Stage 1 or stage 2 tuned? I honestly don't care for these vehicles when I'm obviously looking for family car.

@ceecookie even more funny, openly sharing his criminal act of driving 160kmh in bke, thinking that he can impress others.

But I suspect most of these people just travel in mercedes citaro and driving their imaginary gtr in arcades...
It’s because of COE. From what you are paying here you could actually get GLE or GLS overseas with extra loose change in the pocket.

RePlaY

My point is this is not the actual transacted price and this is not the sales transactions list. The Actual price that you would expect to pay will be somewhere in-between the base price and the dealer quoted price depending on when you buy like special promo events, whether you take loan, how much trade in car you are giving etc.
That is the average of transacted prices - sometimes lower sometimes higher. That is why the OMV is an average if you noticed. The figures for Tesla will be accurate since it sells online and without COE. And indeed my friend got their Tesla model Y at 203k in December. Good enough as a reference for the final transacted price. But if you look at the AD advertised price only then you will be missing out many cars which you believe are out of your budget.

"2 Average Open Market Value (OMV) of new cars registered in the month. The OMV for cars sold by parallel importers may differ from local authorised distributors."

battledome64

That is the average of transacted prices - sometimes lower sometimes higher. That is why the OMV is an average if you noticed. The figures for Tesla will be accurate since it sells online and without COE. And indeed my friend got their Tesla model Y at 203k in December. Good enough as a reference for the final transacted price. But if you look at the AD advertised price only then you will be missing out many cars which you believe are out of your budget.

"2 Average Open Market Value (OMV) of new cars registered in the month. The OMV for cars sold by parallel importers may differ from local authorised distributors."
Interesting observation. I notice when I go to bread and butter car dealers they always show me the exit door when I enquire if there’s further discount to seal the deal.
However conti dealers are more accommodating and like to talk even when you low ball them they don’t get angry.

I initially wanted to seal the deal with a byd seal last year at 168K but the dealer refused to process my order. He kept saying 168k is marketing price and Won’t get it. Even asked to quote trade in price of my old car he didn’t respond or even reply.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.