Mobile Broadband User Testimonials

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info

mbgeow

so seems like M1 2mb perform better in speeds than the other plans of 4mb or 7.2 mb?

correct me if i am wrong

MPH

Location Serangoon Central near the swimming pool.
Starhub 1Mbps plan.

Techno Pride

I've M1 voice sim with Sunsurf 1GB dataplan. Can I just borrow a modem, then plug in the sim card to test?

Think the data plan is 7.2mbps down, 2mbps up.

czheyuan

Tested my M1 Mobile Broadband 2Mbps connection in Geylang area.
Surprisingly good.

But on some days, the (DNS) name resolution keep timing out.
Today is one of those better days! :)

Check my signature for my speedtest results. Stupid forum do not allow me to post images! :s11:

Thinking of switching to Starhub to try out the higher 7.2Mbps speed. Thoughts?

Not advisable to sign up such a high speed as it's rarely or even achievable regardless of operator. 2Mbps would be the most ideal liao =) Anyway, can bundle your M1 2Mbps mobile BB with your other M1 mobile lines to enjoy additional multi-line saver discount ;)

M1 1Mbps @ Katong:

Techno Pride

M1
Sunsurf Max VAS 7.2mbps (voice sim card)
Yishun Avenue 11
Huawei E1550

Note the Huawei is hardware limited to less than 4mbps. Erm the speedtest kept crapping out that I gave up. :s16:

YorYor

No ST-BBoM reports as yet for Jurong West... but if that's where you stay, don't go for more than 2Mbps, and M1 seems to be a better bet than Starhub.

YorYor

Well, all mobile broadband providers suffer from evening-party-syndrome where performance just goes downhill wherever you are, whichever provider you use, whatever phone/modem, whatever OS, and however much screaming you direct at the 3G modem. Approximately 7pm till 2am. Everyday. 7 days a week. 365.25 a year.
So speedtests during that time isn't exactly something to be crying over. Which is also why mobile broadband isn't cut out to be a fixed-line broadband replacement if the main usage is going to be during the evenings. Yet.

634736253.png

just signed up ytd and this is during non peak which is now.

bedok central area.

Seventh Son

I just upgraded my Singtel 2mbps plan to their high end 7.2mbps plan and DID NOT see ANY difference in download/upload speed. I even called them to check if they have activated my 7.2mbps plan, to my horror, they said YES! I called in 4 times yesterday to complain of the poor download speed and they say they will reset my line lah...this and that lah. All did not solve the slow speed problem until they give up and give me one month free service for me to "monitor". I will be going back to my 2mbps plan soon and to those wanting to try high end plan, my advice is dun waste your time and money. BTW those curious of my numbers open your eyes and say WOW! 0.56 download...so much for a high end plan. To be fair to Singtel I test the speed 10 times at different times of the day and NEVER did it exceeded 2.3mbps. They took my money but can't deliver the goods. Suks!!

liangtam

Sorry, but said many times in forum not to bother with higher rate plans already

Seventh Son

Ya, realised my mistake now. Paid so much but can't even watch youtube smoothly. Why dun the telcos advertise speed up to 1000000mbps since it can't be materialised.

scramblur11

i have been using ST 1mbps plan for almost 2yrs. Mainly for my wk usage, so is using it around singapore. Initially was quite ok but recently seem to be getting quite slow. In addition, my experience with ST customer service has never been good. So I nw thinking of switching to m1 2mbps plan. But i notice that the free modem e1550 can only support upload speed of max 384kbps but e plan indicate it can go up to 512kbps?

czheyuan

i have been using ST 1mbps plan for almost 2yrs. Mainly for my wk usage, so is using it around singapore. Initially was quite ok but recently seem to be getting quite slow. In addition, my experience with ST customer service has never been good. So I nw thinking of switching to m1 2mbps plan. But i notice that the free modem e1550 can only support upload speed of max 384kbps but e plan indicate it can go up to 512kbps?

Yup that's true. But anyway, all telcos issue modem that only support up to 384kbps upload for 2Mbps plan and below.. Lols..

You can use back your existing modem lo..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.