My friend mum go government career centre they ask her go upgrade skills

coyote

Seriously, this is a free country. I find your use of words amusing. Government tells you to work till die? The country made you clean table and wash toilet?

How can anybody force you do anything?

I hate to see seniors having to resort to doing minion jobs to make a living too. But everyone has to plan for their retirement. Some of these seniors are just unfortunate they did not plan well for their retirement so they did not have enough money to retire. Is that the government fault their citizens did not plan or did not know how to plan for their retirement? How about their children which some are edmwers too. Did you ask why their children let their parents work at 64? Why don't you blame the children first but instead choose to blame the government first?

Gov did introduce cpf to help it's citizens on retirement. It's not perfect and certainly cannot solve all problems but it is something to help. What edmwer said about cpf? Nothing good at all. Yet edmwers starting many thread blaming government for their plights? What kind of mentality is that?

coyote ****** pappy supporter, in singapore the govt telling 65yo 70yo to upskill or work till die.

which countries making 65yo 70yo to clean tables and wash toilets?

BHills

coyote ****** pappy supporter, in singapore the govt telling 65yo 70yo to upskill or work till die.

Wow! I didn't know that Singapore government is telling 65 yo 70 yo to upskill or work till die and making 65yo 70 yo clean tables and wash toilets.

Whenever I pass by neighbourhood kopitiam, I see many old people sit there drinking beer and chit-chatting. Some of them are there from morning till night, all thanks to CPF and having worked for many years before they turned 55.

What % of 65yo-70yo clean tables and wash toilets in Singapore? I think it is not even 3% of 65yo-70yo.

There are now about 220K people 65yo-70yo. 1%=2,200, 2%=4,400, 3%=6,600 and so on.

The number of people 60yo-70yo is about 500K. 1%=5,000, 2%=10,000, 3%=15,000.

The extremists find just a few old people sleeping in the street or collecting cardboard or cleaning tables or washing toilets in Singapore and try to portray it as a great number of old people in Singapore are having a very bad life due to the PAP government.

The fact is that these old people are the extreme minority in Singapore...... much less than 5% of their cohorts.

BHills

This thread is going to be very laughable.

I have already secretly laughed 1 round earlier at EDMW kum gong kias when I first read this thread.

Now bookmarking this thread so that I can laugh more later.

Will come back later to reveal the reason why I laugh. :s13::s13:

If your fren mother 44 year old i still believe. :s13: You got any idea when Express and Normal streaming starts?

Urghhhhhhhhhhhhh.........You have punctured the balloon.

Like this, I cannot laugh more at EDMW kum gong kias later. :mad::mad:

Normal stream was introduced for secondary 1 in 1981 and so the first batch of sec 4 to take N level was in 1984 (i.e. 36 years ago).

If TS friend's mum is now 64 in year 2020, then she was at least (64-36 =) 28 years old when she took her N level. :s13::s13:

OddEye

I don see much of elderly working overseas so far though.. Not in a wipe table and cleaning sense. Something our government should think about.

Sodomicha

The mother really dreaming leh..yr 2020 not yr 1970 leh..admin office job they hire local xmm or foreigners liao

Sent from Fwahhh using GAGT

Apex01

Wow! I didn't know that Singapore government is telling 65 yo 70 yo to upskill or work till die and making 65yo 70 yo clean tables and wash toilets.

Whenever I pass by neighbourhood kopitiam, I see many old people sit there drinking beer and chit-chatting. Some of them are there from morning till night, all thanks to CPF and having worked for many years before they turned 55.

What % of 65yo-70yo clean tables and wash toilets in Singapore? I think it is not even 3% of 65yo-70yo.

There are now about 220K people 65yo-70yo. 1%=2,200, 2%=4,400, 3%=6,600 and so on.

The extremists find just a few old people sleeping in the street or collecting cardboard or cleaning tables or washing toilets in Singapore and try to portray it as a great number of old people in Singapore are having a very bad life due to the PAP government.

The fact is that these old people are the extreme minority in Singapore...... much less than 5% of their cohorts.

hello kumgong,
did u think 60-75yo only work at KPTs? offices, malls, schools, childcare, industrial area, food centre toilets and many places.

eAtNeAt

I won't be surprised ntuc learning made millions from this pandemic. Combined with ntuc fairprice profits ntuc and pappies profited immensely.
all these benefit only the trainig providers lah

eversince the skillsfuture come out.. many pop up out of nowhere.. all smiling and laughing..

gov money best to earn liao

disavowed

Yes 64 year old can use $500 upskill to full stack engineer and get job at Google, FB

eAtNeAt

One quarter of sg households are low income. This does not sound like a statistic any wealthy country can be proud of.

audiovideo

ask her dont lazy. my friend mom 68 yrs old took up the skillfuture course to learn programming and is now a software engineer in Google earning 100k pa.

my friend grandma 82 took basic C programming course few months ago now lead a team of engineers to help Google revamp they search engine.

Apex01

One quarter of sg households are low income. This does not sound like a statistic any wealthy country can be proud of.

there is a huge disparity between the rich and poor.
sinkies look at GDP, median wage and feel song.
the fact that 172,000 old folks are working, many households that need grants and financial assistance, shows the other side of wonderful singapore.

coyote

You did not answer my question. Government can force you to work till you die? The country can make you clean table and wash toilet? Please show evidence how any government did that to you? You are making baseless accusation. Otherwise, please answer the questions. :s22:

Seriously, this is a free country. I find your use of words amusing. Government tells you to work till die? The country made you clean table and wash toilet?

How can anybody force you do anything?

I hate to see seniors having to resort to doing minion jobs to make a living too. But everyone has to plan for their retirement. Some of these seniors are just unfortunate they did not plan well for their retirement so they did not have enough money to retire. Is that the government fault their citizens did not plan or did not know how to plan for their retirement? How about their children which some are edmwers too. Did you ask why their children let their parents work at 64? Why don't you blame the children first but instead choose to blame the government first?

Gov did introduce cpf to help it's citizens on retirement. It's not perfect and certainly cannot solve all problems but it is something to help. What edmwer said about cpf? Nothing good at all. Yet edmwers starting many thread blaming government for their plights? What kind of mentality is that?

https://stats.mom.gov.sg/iMAS_Tables1/Times Series Table/mrsd_29_Res_LFPR_15Jan2020.xlsx

kumgong BHills and coyote

in the chart, 28.7% of those seniors 65yo and above, are still working.

Stats: 65 years & Over = 614,000 est

28.7% = 172,000 old pple are working

jerichoo

Moi friend 92 yr old ah ma took up Python

Now working at Silicon Valley

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.