MyRepublic Big Launch

wilflare

Haha our ideas awake for very long already. But at least now everyone can see that OpenNet acknowledges there resource issue. Not we bluff one!

This... one is tricky. Can install custom firmware, if I'm not wrong it might void your warranty. We're looking for interim solutions for you guys, and once we have one we'll let you know asap.

I have tried Merlin's firmware... the same issues persist on the AC68U though :/

HotChestnuts

Haha our ideas awake for very long already. But at least now everyone can see that OpenNet acknowledges there resource issue. Not we bluff one!

This... one is tricky. Can install custom firmware, if I'm not wrong it might void your warranty. We're looking for interim solutions for you guys, and once we have one we'll let you know asap.

So you still putting all blame on ON?

Wad about this from TODAY newspaper:

"“On the other hand, it is also the responsibility of any telecoms service provider, including MyRepublic, to make sure the necessary resources to enable the new services are properly secured before their launch,” he added."

"“It seems the firm started signing up subscribers for the 1Gbps plan well before the service is ready. Subsequent delays were not communicated to me via email or phone,” said Mr Yong."

Then see even ur boss admit that maybe this also ur fault -

"In response to TODAY’s queries yesterday, Mr Lawrence Chan, MyRepublic’s Head of Product, acknowledged that the delays were partly due to the huge number of sign-ups and upgrades to 1Gbps, but declined to give an exact figure. However, he put most of the blame on OpenNet, builder of the NGNBN, for the delays."

But then also quick to blame ON :s22: - is it no one at MR know how to take responsability one?

cyberet

I have tried Merlin's firmware... the same issues persist on the AC68U though :/

did you try Version 3.0.0.4.374.583 ?
it fixed my slowdowns for AC68U
remember to restore/reset back to factory after flashing

Spyder7756

QSM is more than good enough. Seriously this kind of thing you need to complain till Chairman/PS/MOS/Minister level?

YES, I will drop an email.

Imagine I subscribed to a 1gbps, I only have android phones and use a lots of whatsapp BUT cannot use it at home via wifi,
phew..the frustration...

I reckon the system is not ready, imho

Again, enlighten me

Zeemax

YES, I will drop an email.
But Imagine I subscribed to a 1gbps, I only have android phones and use a lots of whatsapp BUT cannot use it atand latest update.. just now just try luck and do a speedtest... on my note 2.. eh.. upload no hang liao! home via wifi,
phew..the frustration...

I reckon the system is not ready, imho

Again, enlighten me

Breaking news! Seems like Android can upload already! This morning just try luck and do a speedtest again... on my note 2.. eh.. upload no hang liao!

Johnnny

The TODAY article was definitely more thorough in describing the situation but also only touched the surface on a few issues. Will address things one by one.

"“On the other hand, it is also the responsibility of any telecoms service provider, including MyRepublic, to make sure the necessary resources to enable the new services are properly secured before their launch,” he added."

MyRepublic agrees with IDA on this. This is why we're making sure to take responsibility for our lapses - e.g. communication delays, after-installation issues. We're not saying MyRepublic is blameless.

But when OpenNet first tells us "okay go ahead and install, we're ready", then tells us "eh jam break we're not ready for this guy", however, we can honestly tell you and our other customers - no, we didn't prepare in advance for OpenNet flip-flopping. Who would? :(

"“It seems the firm started signing up subscribers for the 1Gbps plan well before the service is ready. Subsequent delays were not communicated to me via email or phone,” said Mr Yong."

Mr Yong's case we're aware of, and I contacted him separately on another thread. There was definitely miscommunication there, and we do want to sort it out.

"In response to TODAY’s queries yesterday, Mr Lawrence Chan, MyRepublic’s Head of Product, acknowledged that the delays were partly due to the huge number of sign-ups and upgrades to 1Gbps, but declined to give an exact figure. However, he put most of the blame on OpenNet, builder of the NGNBN, for the delays."

But then also quick to blame ON :s22: - is it no one at MR know how to take responsability one?

We're all part of the same team, and we all worked on Lawrence's reply to TODAY together. Again, this is something we do acknowledge. The large signups delayed our communication.

Put it this way bah.

MyRepublic isn't saying "eh guys don't blame us, it's all OpenNet's fault" and then just hiding under a rock.

We're saying "the issue arises from OpenNet, therefore our hands are a bit tied, but we ARE working with them to minimise these issues and will contact you soon."

nez

QSM is more than good enough. Seriously this kind of thing you need to complain till Chairman/PS/MOS/Minister level?

Just a couple of keystrokes more won't cause finger blister lah.
Cause the effect may cause big ripples. lol

nightstalker2

Actually, I would think yes.
Why not?

Depending on the agency, your complain might be 'whitewashed' long before the more senior guys hear about it.

creator88

It's all about accountability and plausible deniability. If OpenNet chooses to sit on the problem, there is absolutely nothing MR can do about it. Correct me if I'm wrong, MR has not officially written in to IDA to complain against Opennet.

By copying all the IDA senior management and MCI PS/Minister, they cannot claim to not be aware of these problems.

Looking at the ST and Today articles today about the problems with the 1gbps installation, you can tell that both MR and OpenNet are blaming each other. It is likely to get worse before getting better.

So to protect your own customer interest, for all correspondence with MR / Opennet / IDA etc:

- If its over the phone, please record the conversation;
- If it's over email, please save a copy of the email;
- If it's over live chat, please do a screen capture of the conversation contents;
- If it's a reply in the forums or PM from official MR representatives, please do a screen capture as well.

You never know when you will need all these correspondences in the future to avoid a "he said, you said" situation.

If the other party is not willing to put anything they said in writing, then you have every reason to question the credibility of whatever they have told you previously

nightstalker2

Civil service is just like another other big organisation.

If you write to everybody, you are making the guy in charge of the screw-ups look bad in front of everybody, he got to fix it.

If you just write to him or QSM, it can be 'covered' up quite easily.

Spyder7756

Breaking news! Seems like Android can upload already! This morning just try luck and do a speedtest again... on my note 2.. eh.. upload no hang liao!

Zeemax, I really like to give any startup a chance, did you tweak anything?

same to me, all phones cannot. I did not bother to try ip4;

note2/motoG/tab7/oneV>>>>>62/47/13/36 mbps down, hanged at all upz again

whatsapp the same as can message but once picture upload, scrolling around and stop till next successful data connection

In the other word, ANDROID phones still CANNOT..... pek chek

Again, enlighten me.............

Spyder7756

Johnnny.. can you update on the android phones cannot upload issue? Whatsapp loading of picture canoot make it also.. what is the background work ongoing, can share?

I can only call the customer service number to explain? Any other number fro me?

wilflare

did you try Version 3.0.0.4.374.583 ?
it fixed my slowdowns for AC68U
remember to restore/reset back to factory after flashing

yes I have actually tried a few firmwares
the latest ASUS stable
the latest ASUS beta
Merlin Alpha4
Merlin Beta3

my speeds are fine 950/450.
the problems with WiFi, PS3, Vita, Android etc still persist in all firmwares
timeouts on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram persist
upload issues on Android etc still persist

Zeemax

Zeemax, I really like to give any startup a chance, did you tweak anything?

same to me, all phones cannot. I did not bother to try ip4;

note2/motoG/tab7/oneV>>>>>62/47/13/36 mbps down, hanged at all upz again

whatsapp the same as can message but once picture upload, scrolling around and stop till next successful data connection

In the other word, ANDROID phones still CANNOT..... pek chek

Again, enlighten me.............

This is strange.. I did not tweak anything leh.... at first I dun believe after tested mine... so i took my the other Android tablet which has the same issue to Speedtest... eh also upload no hang leh...

Spyder7756

This is strange.. I did not tweak anything leh.... at first I dun believe after tested mine... so i took my the other Android tablet which has the same issue to Speedtest... eh also upload no hang leh...

good for you! Whatsapp can upload pict? I just called MR just to make a statement which I did not previously, the FT CSO said they acknowledged that issue and is working on it... i have to accept for the time being...L L

xRenol

Based on The Straits Times article, it stated that "The Infocomm Development Authority (IDA) said yesterday that it is monitoring OpenNet's obligations to connect 98 per cent of residential sign-ups within three workings days of receiving their orders, and the rest within seven working days."

Does it mean that any postpone/delay from the first installation date will only be a maximum of seven working days for those installation date starting after 5 April 2014?

1923093544d56e9613cf00faaf4a903ef6b19482.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.