Need very serious advice

delceer

hi guys, this is going to be a long post. hope you guys bear with me and give me all the info and comment needed.
be it good or bad.

I brought a MK5 GT 1.4 from Reliance by c&e on 22/10/16
Test drive was ok due to never drive for long way.
But car was vibrating all the time when i come to a red light. i thought it was normal. so never really care.
So after driving for a 3 week. the night mare come.

CEL/EPC light on a morning. So i went to a workshop which the car was warranted by them. Deutsche motoren werke at kaki bukit.

After all those whatever work done by them. they mention piston crack. so need to full overhaul.
So we go ahead with it. and the cost is nearly 1.3k
which included labour,gasket, spark plug,ign coil and etc

After a week. they mention injectors was faulty and need to replace as well.
So we go ahead again, replace 4 x injector which the cost come to 1.3k as well.

After few days. workshop call in again stating turbo is faulty and need to change.
The turbo was working fine when i brought the car till to the date where i send in to the workshop.
So now the cost might be around 2k for the turbo.

As for dealer. they mention they will cover $900 only for every thing. not included the turbo repair.

As for workshop, they mention they will not cover the turbo repair even though it might be mishandling by them.

So i seriously need advice as i had never encounter such a case.

thanks for reading and please advice me what to do.

Can use lemon law and demand exchange ?
I feel that you bought a big lemon.
Maybe you can consult some lawyer.

delceer

Had already talk a few time with the dealer but since he not the decison maker so i only have to wait for his boss back on 1/12/16 then can speak to him.

Have all the facts in hand and quotation proven if really worst come to worst have to go to CASE/SCT

CASE can't help you much if the car dealer is not case trust.
CASE only help own member, are you CASE member ?
SCT got limit for the amount to claim.
You need a lawyer.

Sainterly

CASE can't help you much if the car dealer is not case trust.
CASE only help own member, are you CASE member ?
SCT got limit for the amount to claim.
You need a lawyer.

Yup i know case and sct cant really help much cause the dealer can act mia or something.

Will consult a lawyer to see what other option i can opt for.
thanks for concern bro.

americanhippo

Ok bro lawyers are not cheap. Don't kena whack by lawyer also...

1 letter of demand is already $500.

By the time the case goes up to court you would have spent more then 5k..

Don't.

Try to get advice on the lemon law. How does it work?

If not SCT

Sainterly

Why would you buy a Golf? I seriously can never understand.
Because i quite like that car from a long way back.

Don't.

If not SCT

Thanks bro. had a talk with my friends and ya, mostly will skip the lawyer part. feel it not worth with all the hassle.

As for lemon law...i would say it not going to be useful as dealer still can avoid or mia payment.

shared

I think vibration is a big red flag

My 30 year old Jap car vibrates at traffic lights, sometimes can be quite bad until I rev the carb engine. But for a modern car it shouldn't be the case.

789asd

I hope you scrap this car at the end of the term so you dont ruin any body elses life

ck_ian69

Hi bro sorry to learn about the unfortunate incident. I used to own VW and serviced it at a very reputable workshop by an honest chap. Pls PM me if you need the details. On the golf GT, yes the same workshop guy told me to avoid (when I was shortlisting my next car) because of the piston crack issue. Apparently, the engine is too powerful but physical size too small to accommodate (laws of physics). I'm not super sure of the details but avoided the golf GT altogether. The golf TSI of course suffers from a worse fate which is the DSG problem

Too late to say all these but I hope u get it fixed ASAP and pls use the lemon law to full effect. Keep all receipts and clearly state diagnosed fault. Not sure if it will work but hopefully can claim back some

Sainterly

I think vibration is a big red flag

My 30 year old Jap car vibrates at traffic lights, sometimes can be quite bad until I rev the carb engine. But for a modern car it shouldn't be the case.
True fact. i did not really try the car for long enough to notice that. it will be my fault for this.

whats wrong with the Golf?

For him, no Maserati, Porsche, Lamborghini, FerrAri no talk

I believe there are some people out there dont really like vw due to problem car.
he might be meaning why dont buy others rather then a problem car.

I hope you scrap this car at the end of the term so you dont ruin any body elses life

Agree and i will do that. i dont wish to let others going though what i going though.

Curious. How much u bought it for?
Selling was 36.8k , after first quotation, dealer offer 35k so i thought since dealer nego 1.8k for me. and dealer seriously look sincere. it should be all good.

Sainterly

Hi bro sorry to learn about the unfortunate incident. I used to own VW and serviced it at a very reputable workshop by an honest chap. Pls PM me if you need the details. On the golf GT, yes the same workshop guy told me to avoid (when I was shortlisting my next car) because of the piston crack issue. Apparently, the engine is too powerful but physical size too small to accommodate (laws of physics). I'm not super sure of the details but avoided the golf GT altogether. The golf TSI of course suffers from a worse fate which is the DSG problem

Too late to say all these but I hope u get it fixed ASAP and pls use the lemon law to full effect. Keep all receipts and clearly state diagnosed fault. Not sure if it will work but hopefully can claim back some

Hi bro, thanks for the concern.
Would be our happy if you can recommend your WS to me.

Ya i do understand the golf gt might not be a perfect car. and i dont mind taking the risk.

what i cannot accept is. when the car need so much major repair after 3 week of buying. nearly 4 week of downtime.
Dealer are not willing to share the 50/50 cost with me which i never even wanted them to pay fully. and willing to give and take for a solving solution.

My intention is let others know, to beware and alert on this 2 shop.

delceer

Don't.

If not SCT

I think lemon law no power leh.
Can force the dealer refund meh ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.