New 10Gbps/5Gbps/6Gbps/3Gbps XGS-PON based plans

xiaofan

No way if using XGS-PON, max out at about 8.2Gbps to 8.3Gbps, because of the overhead.

SingTel, Starhub and MyRepublic 10Gbps plan use XGS-PON technology. So in reality we should call these plans 8Gbps plans.

I think the highest Google Fibre plan is called 8Gbps for the same reason.

The 8.2Gbps/8.3Gbps number is from what I read about real world results.

It is said that max usable data rate is about 8.8Gbps as per the following article.
https://www.cablelabs.com/blog/10g-epon-vs-xgs-pon

stone1978

The 8.2Gbps/8.3Gbps number is from what I read about real world results.
It is said that max usable data rate is about 8.8Gbps as per the following article.
https://www.cablelabs.com/blog/10g-epon-vs-xgs-pon

Hi master XIaofan, recently I sold my Asus ax RT82 and ASUS ZenWifi XD4S Black (2-Pack) for total $300 and bought TP Link BE800 for $599 but I still on 1GB singnet. So whcih company should I recontract for 10 GB wifi7 will be the best for this new router BE800?

Henry Ng

I now really get parked liao. I tested the speed using my old LG laptop (with only Windows OS installed and nothing else) in my room and I got the below results

20240229-100809.jpg

20240229-101200.jpg

So there's nothing wrong with my 10Gbps setup. My new LG laptop is giving me problem ah. Big surgical operation coming

Have to call SH to cancel the tech appointment liao
Quickly call or they may charge you transportation fee.

xiaofan

Hi master XIaofan, recently I sold my Asus ax RT82 and ASUS ZenWifi XD4S Black (2-Pack) for total $300 and bought TP Link BE800 for $599 but I still on 1GB singnet. So whcih company should I recontract for 10 GB wifi7 will be the best for this new router BE800?

Hmm, all the three 10Gbps plan providers now provide 10G capable router. Singttel/Starhub actually provides second unit at 50% discount. There are people selling BNIB TP-Link EB810v and Archer BE805 at around S$450 to S$500 now.

If you need the content bundle from Starhub, then you can consider Starhub. If you do not, you may consider MyRepublic as your TP-Link BE800 is quite compatible with BE805 and it has the lower monthly fee (S$59.99 per month, S$50 top up for the TP-Link Archer BE805). Avoid Singtel as it is using ONR.
https://myrepublic.net/sg/10gbps/

stephenbishop

Hmm, all the three 10Gbps plan providers now provide 10G capable router. Singttel/Starhub actually provides second unit at 50% discount. There are people selling BNIB TP-Link EB810v and Archer BE805 at around S$450 to S$500 now.

If you need the content bundle from Starhub, then you can consider Starhub. If you do not, you may consider MyRepublic as your TP-Link BE800 is quite compatible with BE805 and it has the lower monthly fee (S$59.99 per month, S$50 top up for the TP-Link Archer BE805). Avoid Singtel as it is using ONR.
I would second that....Avoid Singtel...they insist on ONR only which does not work for my use case and are far more expensive whether or not you include cost of content!

Apparatus

Maybe our OS sometime prevent us getting the max DL and UL speed test.
Previously my win11 doing speedtest I only get 6.5 gbps DL and 1.1 gbps UL. Sometime even suddenly drop connection.
In the end I reinstall new OS win 11 again and now I able to get 7.8 Gbps for DL and 7.6 gbps UL. No more disconnection of internet again.

Best borrow a macbook pro or air from your friend and do a speedtest using his laptop. Anti-virus and firewall software may also cause drop of speedtest.

Yah. You are right. Thanks for the suggestion

Just tested with my old LG laptop with Win 11 OS installed only and nothing else

Speedtest in my room showed 8000+ Mbps download. Now very happy.

My new LG laptop is acting up.............reformat and reinstall all software.......wah lau sian ah. I think I wait until 24H2 installed then see how.

:oops:

Lexng88

Just tested with my old LG laptop with Win 11 OS installed only and nothing else

My new LG laptop is acting up.............reformat and reinstall all software.......wah lau sian ah. I think I wait until 24H2 installed then see how.

You Welcome bro, I also try troubleshooting for 2 weeks change every setting on the Advance Networks Setting ( Win 11 ) in the end no use, no choice but to reformat my OS Win 11. Sometime hidden Adware, Malware, Anti Virus, Firewall all may cause the drop of speed.

stone1978

Ok thank u sir for your advice!

Henry Ng

do not need to reformat la. Just restore to day 1 factory default or else the win 11 os may be gone. if the support already reached your place and notice nothing wrong then they will charge a fee. Any way now our browser is max out between 3 to 5Gbps so we will not get such high speed using internet browser.

Apparatus

do not need to reformat la. Just restore to day 1 factory default or else the win 11 os may be gone. if the support already reached your place and notice nothing wrong then they will charge a fee. Any way now our browser is max out between 3 to 5Gbps so we will not get such high speed using internet browser.

I have not done any backup since day 1 so restore to day 1 is not possible. The most is I reformat C: and keep the things on other drives intact and reinstall later

Anyway it is still slightly faster (using your words) than those 1/2/2.5 Gbps plans mah

Henry Ng

I have not done any backup since day 1 so restore to day 1 is not possible. The most is I reformat C: and keep the things on other drives intact and reinstall later

Anyway it is still slightly faster (using your words) than those 1/2/2.5 Gbps plans mah
Yes it is slightly faster only especially when you are surfing the internet with a web browser as the web browser is max out at around 3 to 5Gbps now after i keep feedback about it not able to support full 10Gbps speed. My chrome and Edge now can get up to 5Gbps+ la. I will continue to feedback to google and microsoft la.

shadow_allan

Sorry new to this thread. But how did you run speedtest without using the browser?

*adiBOY

understand that there is no way as of now but it is ok as our speed is already fast.
It’s not about whether the speed is fast or not. It’s about false marketing… they cannot advertised 10Gbps but provide equipment that doesn’t provide the full bandwidth…

If it’s in the states, they would have been sued.

Henry Ng

It’s not about whether the speed is fast or not. It’s about false marketing… they cannot advertised 10Gbps but provide equipment that doesn’t provide the full bandwidth…

If it’s in the states, they would have been sued.
Different country different rules. In Sg, they will say willing seller willing buyer, it is ok. Actually the price for Homehub+ ultra speed $110/mth is a bit overpriced.

keavepoh

So today starhub came this morning and setup my 10gbps tp-link EB801v routers x2 mesh.

Towards the evening i thought of logging to the router and manage devices and perform parental controls, but "admin" or "password" didn't work at 192.168.0.1 the router admin login page.

I Called 1633 twice and the CSO don't understand what's router admin password and told me to ask TP link vendor.

I talked to two TP link live agents and they told me to get from starhub.

Does anyone get the device router password of EB801v of starhub?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.