New 10Gbps/5Gbps/6Gbps/3Gbps XGS-PON based plans

Henry Ng

Make sure you do not use 3rd party Antivirus app and just use Microsoft Windows built-in security tool (Windows Defender, etc).

Usually my first thing after getting the Windows laptop is to remove the 3rd party Antivirus program. Then reboot, then carry out Windows updates.

Make sure you have enough SSD storage left as well. But I think you have no issues with RAM and SSD in this case.

BTW, the only upgrade I did for the last was to upgrade the WiFi adapter to Intel AX200 back in 2020.
Now is BE200 Wifi 7 adapter.

xiaofan

Now is BE200 Wifi 7 adapter.

Our new Acer Swift Go 14 OLED laptop (Intel Core Ultra 125H CPU, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD, bought recently from Acer Shopee store at about S$1200) has Intel BE200 based Intel Killer WiFi 7 adapter.

Performance is similar to the Intel AX200 in my Acer Swift 3 2017 model (Intel Core i5-8250U CPU) and Intel AX201 in my Acer Swift 3 2021 model (Intel Core i5-1135G7 CPU).
1) We need to wait for Windows 11 24H2 to get the proper WiFi 7 function under Windows 11.
2) I do not have true WiFi 7 router with 6GHz support yet.

jokerpoker81

saw ppl received messages from starhub about 5gbps at $29.55 with 2 x wifi 6 routers + 3mths amazon prime? very worth it leh! who subscribe to that offer liao? im guessing its targeted messages sent to subscribers. but whats the catch? anyone knows?

jokerpoker81

Not an expert in laptops but I just bought an Acer Swift Go 14 OLED with Intel Core Ultra 125H CPU, 16GB RAM and 1TB SSD for my wife (less than S$1200) to replace her aging Acer Switft 3 late 2017 model (Intel Core i5-8250U CPU, 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD, bought at around S$1000 in Dec 2017). The new Acer has two USB4/TB4 ports. I tested it with IOCrest USB4/TB4 to 10G NIC and it works fine.

You can get any laptop with Intel Gen 13/14 mobile CPU and they will have USB4/TB4 ports. It may be worth buying the new Core Ultra CPU based laptop as they also have WiFi 7 support. AMD laptops may not be compatible with TB4 (they have USB 4) and usually only comes with WiFi 6E.

BTW, even my late 2021 Acer Swift 3 laptop (Intel Core i5-1135G7 CPU, 16GB RAM, 512GB RAM, bought in early 2022 for about S$1200) has single USB4/TB4 port but somehow it cannot seem to sustain 10G iperf3 test. A bit strange. On the other hand, my mini PC with low end Intel N100 CPU and Intel 82599ES 10G NIC can sustain 10G iperf3 test. My Mac MIni M1 2020 model also works fine with the IOcrest USB4/TB4 to 10G NIC.

So probably the USB4/TB4 10G NIC has a bit more overhead and require higher end CPU than the 11th gen Core i5-1135G7 CPU. But this should not be an issue now that you are buying a new laptop.

Take note we do not play games and my budget is always around S$1000 to S$1200 for laptops -- usually thin and light type. I had bad experiences with Dell/HP/Asus laptops last time so now only buy Acer (it is also a bit cheaper).
Intel gen 13/14 got a lot of problems leh apparently. im using acer swift go 16 ultra 7 bought at $1499 during the recent cee show in may, very solid.

https://www.theverge.com/2024/7/26/24206529/intel-13th-14th-gen-crashing-instability-cpu-voltage-q-a

https://www.tomsguide.com/computing...amage-could-be-permanent-despite-incoming-fix

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel...counterparts-instability-issues.865474.0.html

https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-com...er-blames-common-software-and-hardware-issues

IHasChimken

jokerpoker81

Just stay away from intel in general, high power usage and high temps. Very inefficient lol.

i was searching for amd processor + nividia gpu combo, but doesnt seems to have a lot! the couple of choices available are super ex.

anyway, saw ppl received messages from starhub about 5gbps at $29.55 with 2 x wifi 6 routers + 3mths amazon prime? very worth it leh! who subscribe to that offer liao? im guessing its targeted messages sent to subscribers. but whats the catch? anyone knows? is it only XX mths only, or must pay modem, installation / activation etc?

xiaofan

Just take note Core Ultra is also considered as 14th gen CPU.

Intel's 14th-gen Core mobile chips: Core Ultra (Meteor Lake) and Core HX (Raptor Lake Refresh).

jokerpoker81

Just take note Core Ultra is also considered as 14th gen CPU.

Intel's 14th-gen Core mobile chips: Core Ultra (Meteor Lake) and Core HX (Raptor Lake Refresh).
oops....but so far very good no issues though. too bad v few affordable amd processor + nividia gpu combo on the market lah....if not i would have chosen it

xiaofan

Just stay away from intel in general, high power usage and high temps. Very inefficient lol.

I think Core Ultra 100 series is quite okay. But if one can wait, then next gen Core Ultra 200 series should be better and can compete well with AMD Zen 5 based Ryzen AI 300 laptop chip.

When I was looking for a thin and light laptop in July with the following three criteria, I can not find any AMD laptops meeting the criteria.

1) With USB 4 and TB4
2) Wifi 7
3) Budget about S$1200.

Since we do not play games AMD Ryzen 7000/8000 series laptops do not seem to offer any real advantages compared to Intel Core Ultra series.

xiaofan

anyway, saw ppl received messages from starhub about
5gbps at $29.55 with 2 x wifi 6 routers + 3mths amazon prime
? very worth it leh! who subscribe to that offer liao? im guessing its targeted messages sent to subscribers. but whats the catch? anyone knows? is it only XX mths only, or must pay modem, installation / activation etc?

I guess nobody can answer the question except those who have received the targeted offer, since it is not a public offer.

I guess one catch might be that it is not possible to choose to go with the ONT for this particular offer -- must use Nokia ONR.

xiaofan

Nice one.

For those who do not mind using Nokia ONR, this offer is really good.

I believe it is basically Nokia ONR plus Nokia Beacon 2 (lousy) mesh combination, but at a low cost of S$29.95 per month.

It also mentions only for new sign-up with some unknown terms and conditions.

Maybe more info will come once people start to take this nice offer.

And Starhub will usually allow existing customers to negotiate with them and get the same or even better offer than new users.

kaon

How is good is the Starhub ONR? Nokia Wifi 6?
Does it have port forwarding? DHCP reservations?
All the usual OpenWRT ddwrt features?

Everything is available except cannot change to bridge mode?

UPDATE: I see the model number is Nokia xs-2426x-a

xiaofan

How is good is the Starhub ONR? Nokia Wifi 6?
Does it have port forwarding? DHCP reservations?
All the usual OpenWRT ddwrt features?
Everything is available except cannot change to bridge mode?
UPDATE: I see the model number is Nokia xs-2426x-a

Cannot compare with OpenWRT/DD-WRT lah, can not even compare with typical TP-Link.

It has very basic FW features, but port forwarding and DHCP reservation should be supported.

Since you are asking the question, I believe the Nokia XS-2426X-A is not suitable for you.

BTW, it can be bridged if you can get the one time superadmin password from the installer.

Henry Ng

Cannot compare with OpenWRT/DD-WRT lah, can not even compare with typical TP-Link.

It has very basic FW features, but port forwarding and DHCP reservation should be supported.

Since you are asking the question, I believe the Nokia XS-2426X-A is not suitable for you.

BTW, it can be bridged if you can get the one time superadmin password from the installer.
Can ask for ONT.

WW1 Flying Ace

Can ask for ONT.
Facing a similar situation from StarHub. Do I ask for the ONT at the point of signing the 5gb/10gb contract? The sales staff is pushing strongly for ONR which from my past experience is a real turn off since Nokia Beacon had crashed so many times until I went and buy my own router 3 years ago

xiaofan

Facing a similar situation from StarHub. Do I ask for the ONT at the point of signing the 5gb/10gb contract? The sales staff is pushing strongly for ONR which from my past experience is a real turn off since Nokia Beacon had crashed so many times until I went and buy my own router 3 years ago

1. The higher priced 5Gbps/10Gbps plans with EB810v always come with ONT.
https://www.starhub.com/personal/store/broadband.html

2. As of now, unless you need EPL and the contents bundle of the Starhub 10Gbps plan, it is better to sign up for the 5Gbps plan than the 10Gbps plan.

3. For the basic Starhub 5Gbps plan at S$45, the default will be the Nokia ONR. But you can request for ONT at the physical shop. You need to make it black and white.

24-month UltraSpeed 5Gbps with ONR (Wifi 6)
$45 per month
Includes 1 10Gbps Optical Network Router (WiFi 6)

4. You can also go with the following plan which will come with ONT.
24-month UltraSpeed 5Gbps with ONT + Wifi 7 router
$55.39 per month
1 Free TP –Link EB810v WiFi 7 router

5. No idea whether can request ONT for the following special offer.
https://www.starhub.com/personal/st...speed-5gbps-onr-at-2955_ultraspeed-5gbps.html

UltraSpeed 5Gbps with Wifi 6 router
$29.55 per month
Includes 1 10Gbps Optical Network Router (Wifi 6) + additional 1 unit Wifi 6 router

Fellowes

Nice one.

I believe it is basically Nokia ONR plus Nokia Beacon 2 (lousy) mesh combination, but at a low cost of S$29.95 per month.

And Starhub will usually allow existing customers to negotiate with them and get the same or even better offer than new users.
Not sure can it be negotiate to be ONT and use own router since $30 only for 5Gbps is good price.

If yes, it is super worth it, anyone try asking 1633 SH sales team CSO see what can they do about it for existing customer? The above $30 5Gbps ONR link is for new sign up only.

Do share if anyone had call 1633. Thanks!

Fellowes

Nice one.

On SH webpage but the T&C cannot be click in to read. LOL then how we know what their terms.
Important Notes:
  • This offer is only available for new broadband sign up.
  • Terms & Conditions apply

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.