New Astrea V

bright_84

So many MM experts posting long response on why the average Joe should not buy this.....

But strangely it will be oversubscribed by many times, not just ordinary retail investors but institutional investors as well.....

By the way, the word unexciting is good isn’t it? Want excitement, go join the Noble or Hyflux crowd
Think those were equally boring on ipo.

Jazzbie

need to over-apply to get some.

example, buy $1mil ...
you might only get $250k.

But I am not interested in structured bonds .. I am all for plain vanilla bonds.

My personal view is can close one eye and see this as a plain vanilla bond cos the risk of default is very low. I will say this 3.85% is more attractive and safer than SIA bonds for example.

limpoop

need to over-apply to get some.

example, buy $1mil ...
you might only get $250k.

But I am not interested in structured bonds .. I am all for plain vanilla bonds.

super hard to get even for $1m, unless you are private bank vvip

Sai777

For $1m, can qualify for class A liao, RM can put you in the first tranche.

No need to fight with retail.

limpoop

For $1m, can qualify for class A liao, RM can put you in the first tranche.

No need to fight with retail.

what are you talking about? the private placement on 10 june got a-1, a-2 and b but only a-1 is in sgd and combined overbooked by us$3.4b according to bondsupermart

and the retail offer can only use atm or ib, not from your rm

Toni90

For those of you who want to enter Astrea V's $50,000-or-more allocation lottery -- I don't think you should, but if you do -- then I wouldn't apply for exactly $50,000. If you do that you're going to be lumped in with all the jokers who misread the prospectus, and you're going to have an equal lottery chance at the lowest partial allocation tier within the lottery.

No, instead I'd try to apply for what might be the next higher allocation tier. Something like $61,000, for example. Or even $101,000 if you're brave. Then you might get another $1,000 or $2,000 of allocation if you happen to win the lottery. You'll still have an equal chance of winning the lottery, which may not be a great chance given the numerous $50,000 "jokers" in the mix, but you could try.

....But who cares, really. It's a completely unexciting offer, and you have myriad other, generally more attractive ways of saving and prudently investing available every day, many discussed in this forum.

How do you decide other offers generally more attractive?

yongsaver

and you have myriad other, generally more attractive ways of saving and prudently investing available every day, many discussed in this forum.

bro. dont need myriad ways. can share just one or two ways of saving and prudently investing which is safer and rewards better than Astrea V. I am sure bros and sis here would be keen to learn also.

articland05

astrea v sucks!
pls dun apply!!!

I'll take all the excess!!!
take 1 for the team!!!

youphoria

After applying, can u see the application status anywhere?

Funny, I applied using atm but can’t see it reflected in my cdp account?

SibehHL

Some will mention CPF at 4%... you want?

bro. dont need myriad ways. can share just one or two ways of saving and prudently investing which is safer and rewards better than Astrea V. I am sure bros and sis here would be keen to learn also.

SibehHL

Sure, why not? Even SSB is not 100% risk free... what if government run road or we are invaded by Martians?

So many already warn about the possible collapse of Astrea Bonds and urge caution... but the same people urging caution does encourage DCA on index etf... up to 40-60% of net worth, obviously meaning the risks are lesser there?

Anyway I have always thought investment is a personal thing, do your own due diligence. Do it only if you can accept the risks. Buy if you want to and just ignore it if you don’t think it’s worth the risk.

One can highlight the risks once or twice but there’s no need to give out long lectures repeatedly like a broken record.

yes,cpf up to 5% leh.. no risk some more.. what if this bond happen to be like hyflux?

yongsaver

u guys know there is a limit to how much u can milk the CPF? :s13: not to mention the terms and conditions that comes with it.

that said, i would have to agree for people who do not know what is happening when it comes to investment, exploring the CPF hacks like topping up SA, transferring from OA to SA, repay CPF used for housing are good options. put the money in there and take out the excess over FRS at age 55. At age 65, enjoy the rest of the money. in the meantime, pray hard govt policies do not change between now and those 2 golden ages. :D

thats the best? CPF?

limster

astrea v sucks!
pls dun apply!!!

I'll take all the excess!!!
take 1 for the team!!!

Astrea IV, people ask 'is it good?'
Astrea V, the same people ask 'is it good?'
Astrea VI 'is it good?'
Astrea VII ' is it good?' etc

If they already decided that Astrea IV no good, then surely Astrea V also no good, why need to keep on asking? :s13:

Now with the new allocation, the $50k+ lucky draw seems worth it, because if you get it, you will get a fair amount and can sell the whole lot in the first week for $1.02 and get instant profit after deducting comms. Unfortunately, it seems that the 50k+ lucky draw chances might be affected by how many apply for less than 50k. So its better for multiple family members to apply to increase your chances! :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.