New forum: Bugs reporting list!

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
26,048
Reaction score
150
Not really a bug, but is the "Customize" setting (fluid width, sticky sidebar, etc) set via cookies instead of account preferences? For example, I changed the Fluid Width setting, and it stays that way regardless of whether I'm logged in or not, until I clear my cookies for the day. The next time I access the website, the "Customize" settings are back to default and I have to set them again. Is it possible to make them stick whenever we're logged in?

Hi Lancer,

Tech team shared that if you've changed this setting when you're logged in, the change is saved to your profile.

However, if you've made/set the function while not logged in, it's saved in your browser cookie.
 

lancer6238

Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
152
Reaction score
0
Hi Lancer,

Tech team shared that if you've changed this setting when you're logged in, the change is saved to your profile.

However, if you've made/set the function while not logged in, it's saved in your browser cookie.
Thanks for checking with the tech team. However, I saved the settings while I was logged in yesterday. Then I logged out and cleared all my cookies, and when I logged in today, the settings still weren't saved.
 

irregardless

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
15,685
Reaction score
3,697
on mobile app, ads come out from bottom and cover the "Back to Top" button
 

Quala98

Great Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
65,615
Reaction score
1,292
screen resolution: 1920*1080
browser: Chrome
browser zoom setting: 100%

when i click on the notification to see who quoted me, i am being directed to the thread. This is fine. But instead of directed to my post, it always the post above me. I have to scroll down to see my post.
 

irregardless

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
15,685
Reaction score
3,697
Can place a 'your watched threads' icon beside the alert icon? easier to access, no need keep click profile then click watched threads again
second this, raised this suggestion when new platform started
 

CCCustom

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
22,109
Reaction score
607
Veej, y’all really need to sort out your advertising. I am clicking buttons like ”Next” (as in next page) or ”Prev” (as in previous page) and it will go to other websites instead, e.g. to a SingTel ad page ... when there isn’t even any SingTel ad banner or even ad link anywhere on the page here.

UPDATE: I observe this phenomenon on mobile, and happens if the thing I am tapping on is at the bottom 1/4 of the screen.

Don’t tell me this is deliberate? :s22:
 

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
26,048
Reaction score
150
screen resolution: 1920*1080
browser: Chrome
browser zoom setting: 100%

when i click on the notification to see who quoted me, i am being directed to the thread. This is fine. But instead of directed to my post, it always the post above me. I have to scroll down to see my post.

Unlike the old forum where specific post links are loaded (or positioned) at the top of your screen, what we notice on the new forum is that it positions the post in question at the centre of the screen.
 

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
26,048
Reaction score
150
Veej, y’all really need to sort out your advertising. I am clicking buttons like ”Next” (as in next page) or ”Prev” (as in previous page) and it will go to other websites instead, e.g. to a SingTel ad page ... when there isn’t even any SingTel ad banner or even ad link anywhere on the page here.

UPDATE: I observe this phenomenon on mobile, and happens if the thing I am tapping on is at the bottom 1/4 of the screen.

Don’t tell me this is deliberate? :s22:

Uh oh... definitely not deliberate. Heh.

Could you share your browser, version and phone model used? We've seen some issues that only occur in some specific circumstances, so this might be one of them. I've not seen feedback pertaining to this similar issue yet.
 

CCCustom

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
22,109
Reaction score
607
Uh oh... definitely not deliberate. Heh.

Could you share your browser, version and phone model used? We've seen some issues that only occur in some specific circumstances, so this might be one of them. I've not seen feedback pertaining to this similar issue yet.
iPhone SE 2020, surfing on Safari.

Anyways, I believe my conclusion is accurate ... it has to do with the ”removable” ad that comes up at the bottom of the screen - when you tap the down-arrow, it’s supposed to close that bottom ad, but it’s not closed at all, it really just becomes invisible, but if you tap anywhere where this bottom ad ”bar” was supposed to be as if you didn’t tap the down-arrow, e.g. the ”Next” or ”Prev” button, either nothing happens, or it opens the URL the already-”closed” bottom ad is supposed to bring you to, because apparently the bottom ad ”bar” has specific points you are supposed to tap.

UPDATE: Also tested on Safari on an iPhone 8, same thing.
 
Last edited:

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
26,048
Reaction score
150
Thanks for checking with the tech team. However, I saved the settings while I was logged in yesterday. Then I logged out and cleared all my cookies, and when I logged in today, the settings still weren't saved.

Looks like this is something we'll have to work/tweak on how the cookies are treated.
Also, my bad that this particular feature isn't saved as part of your profile info and it's only based on cookie data.
 

King.Koopa

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2014
Messages
14,923
Reaction score
265
Wtf how come surf on mobile now so lag? Previously ok leh :(
 

SheepAries

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2021
Messages
119
Reaction score
23
This forum is really bad man, takes forever to load and consumes so much power. My advice is to fire everyone including doctor Vijay and all who worked on this project. It’s an absolute disgrace.
 

snap99

Greater Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
95,831
Reaction score
974
I installed Adblock , and I can't load the forum pages anymore (until I disabled Adblock). Is it a feature that I must allow ads ?
 

IndianChief

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
14,151
Reaction score
439
Now got fat white bar at the bottom when using Android Chrome

Smart-Select-20210426-204335-Chrome.jpg
 

Insatiable_creat

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2006
Messages
26,100
Reaction score
434
Noticed the notification for subscribed threads to be a bit buggy. The alert will not go away despite clicking on the button. Compelled to go into the thread to get rid of the alert.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top