New HDB BTO Flat - How do you connect your Home Fiber Network

ahsiao80

I recommend you search on YouTube how to setup unifi to get an idea. That will probably tell you if it's too much or just nice for you.

not easy to guide over a forums to setup.

Suggest you check out YouTube video to have an idea.

i need to dig up the pic of my cabling for this home fibre setup inside the cabinet. you will be shocked . :p

Alright thanks guys! will look up on youtube!

ONT means you can use your powerful router

ONR mean your powerful router must be set to AP mode in order to use. All features of the powerful router will be rendered useless.

Sent from 天作孽 犹可恕 自作孽 不可活 using GAGT

So can i clarify those provided by ISP are ONT or ONR?

uncle_josh

Whizcomm also give out ONR
But upon request to bridge it, they are very accommodating.
However you need to request it b4 they come down to do the installation/setup else you will be charge a fee of about $50 or $53.
So can i clarify those provided by ISP are ONT or ONR?

loganrunning

Whizcomm also give out ONR
But upon request to bridge it, they are very accommodating.
However you need to request it b4 they come down to do the installation/setup else you will be charge a fee of about $50 or $53.

or, you can bring it down to their office, and they will do it foc.

they just dun want to let you know the procedure :)

LoneTraveller

Yah Unifi AP installation very clean assuming you power it via POE. My NanoHD (overkill, not needed, just get ac lite) also at the hallway option 2 ceiling, very happy with this layout.
+1. Yes, just 1 nanohd along the bedroom walkway will cover 5 room hdb with 5 bars 5ghz nicely.
Been there done that😁😁😁

LoneTraveller

I install a few unifi AP. The mobile phone app to me not reliable and limited option.

Sorry, it's meant for ahsiao80 who I presume to be a newbie in networking. For newbie, it's good enough bah. Not for experts like u who may need more options. 😁😁😁

Vulpix

+1. Yes, just 1 nanohd along the bedroom walkway will cover 5 room hdb with 5 bars 5ghz nicely.
Been there done that😁😁😁

I still feel with our small BTOs and fake partition walls, nanoHD is overkill lah. :s13: 1 lite can cover whole house already.

Mach3.2

I still feel with our small BTOs and fake partition walls, nanoHD is overkill lah. :s13: 1 lite can cover whole house already.
Yup, 1 AP in the middle of the house should do the trick honestly.

I have a AC LR in the bedroom 2 and a Nano HD in the living room, the 2.4GHz signal overlapped quite a bit even on the lowest TR PWR but the 5GHz coverage is pretty good, just need to turn down the TR PWR to 14dBm for the AC LR and 18dBm for the Nano HD. :s12:

Somehow the max speed with the Nano HD isn't as good as my AC LR, no idea why. The coverage is kinda effy also, but I guess that has to do with the AP's radiation pattern.

magix

Yup, 1 AP in the middle of the house should do the trick honestly.

I have a AC LR in the bedroom 2 and a Nano HD in the living room, the 2.4GHz signal overlapped quite a bit even on the lowest TR PWR but the 5GHz coverage is pretty good, just need to turn down the TR PWR to 14dBm for the AC LR and 18dBm for the Nano HD. :s12:

Somehow the max speed with the Nano HD isn't as good as my AC LR, no idea why. The coverage is kinda effy also, but I guess that has to do with the AP's radiation pattern.

Saw a YouTube video before the LR gives a better speed and range (when walk out FAR). So i normally recommand ppl get LR.

Unless they need the 5ghz speed from nano @ 1733 Mbps.

But if you using mobile device mid range normally 433. High range device is 867 Mbps so LR does the job.

loganrunning

Wah... got some secret sauce meh? The device should be OEM somewhere lar...

must be..... because in the thread on how to set the HG8244H ONR to bridge mode, few successes reported. I guess it's just 1 or 2 settings, probably a VLAN setting, then next, the LAN port is set to untagged.

imagine, if end users could config their ONR to have 1 or more ports as bridged, then how? the implications are staggering!!! LoL

Guyver

Internet service provider will always give you an ONT or ONT and if your plan includes a free router or paid wireless router. nowadays quite standard. And this applies to new subscribers only for free ONT , you will continue to use the same ONT if recontract .

ahsiao80

Xlvc5Ly.png

Anyone can advice if its a better idea to go for Netgear AC3000 (RBK50) instead of Google Nest for my house? :s22:

https://www.netgear.com/orbi/rbk50.aspx

Just want better wifi coverage ultimately in the MBR :s12:

ahsiao80

sadboy

Sorry i don't really understand what your trying to tell me.. :s22:

Im guessing your trying to say using backhaul wired mesh such as Netgear RBK50 is better because you can connect it directly to the lan ports that is available at all the rooms throughout BTO nowadays to improve connectivity within the house? :s13:

Mesh best ethernet backhual for speed and performance.

Since new bto has lan point so recommended to use ethernet backhual

ahsiao80

Ahhh ok, so should i get just 1 router + 1 node or 2 node for a 4 room BTO? :s22:

gregory_choo

you are right, but in this configuration, it is not mesh network anymore.

you are just using the nodes as AP, with built-in 802.11 (r?k? v?) for seamless roaming / fast handoff.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.