NEW PC... need advice

omelet

13700k and above can run quite hot, even with 240mm AIO can reach 100 degree easily with prime95.

What you can do is enter your BIOS, disable auto overclocking feature and check if PL2 is set too high/unlimited, many motherboard manufacturer like to set it like this by default.

According to Intel official spec, should be 253W : https://ark.intel.com/content/www/u...ache-up-to-5-40-ghz.html?countrylabel=Español

You can also lower both PL1/PL2 and it won't run as hot (but you will lose performance) if you die die don't want use better cooler or add chassis fan.

Timber_Wolf

CPU at 12% with temp 73 is very high, for a 13700KF, not even a 13700KS.
Definitely bad CPU cooling. More likely paste not applied correctly (probably too thick), or lack contact between CPU/cooler (not sitting properly).
Chassis fans are important, inlet comes from front or bottom, outlet rear and top(especially water cool), but not likely the cause in this scenario, only plays a part when CPU/GPU are running high in gaming.

Very budget air cool
https://www.amazon.sg/dp/B0B1CZ6FR7?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details&th=1
Very budget water cool
https://www.amazon.sg/dp/B0BLHH34SW?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

wongminmin

From TS replies... it is his setup and his chassis.... got no case fans leh... :ROFLMAO:
dunnoe ba, can't see much. he need exhaust fan for his back tho.
20231227-102512.jpg

BlackWing1977

dunnoe ba, can't see much. he need exhaust fan for his back tho.
20231227-102512.jpg
Why he never include this picture in this 1st post leh... looks spacious mar.. just need some intake and exhaust fan lor.. but the CPU cooler looks inadequate though...

BlackWing1977

13700k and above can run quite hot, even with 240mm AIO can reach 100 degree easily with prime95.

What you can do is enter your BIOS, disable auto overclocking feature and check if PL2 is set too high/unlimited, many motherboard manufacturer like to set it like this by default.

According to Intel official spec, should be 253W : https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/230489/intel-core-i7-13700kf-processor-30m-cache-up-to-5-40-ghz.html?countrylabel=Español

You can also lower both PL1/PL2 and it won't run as hot (but you will lose performance) if you die die don't want use better cooler or add chassis fan.
Earlier this year before I build my PC.. I was also planning on 13600k.... and definitely have to plan in a 360mm AIO... only when choose AMD then I chose BeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4... but now then I know it is not the best choice for AM5 due to the design, but then still okay lar.

hardindex

Why he never include this picture in this 1st post leh... looks spacious mar.. just need some intake and exhaust fan lor.. but the CPU cooler looks inadequate though...
I checked spec for this chassis only can fit one 240 AIO, then read people advice getting 360 AIO for this CPU. So kinda lost what to buy. i waited for all the stuff to be delivered then decide what to do. Hence my current situation :ROFLMAO:

a09f4d7782f7229ba8a7dc929640b83b

BlackWing1977

I checked spec for this chassis only can fit one 240 AIO, then read people advice getting 360 AIO for this CPU. So kinda lost what to buy. i waited for all the stuff to be delivered then decide what to do. Hence my current situation :ROFLMAO:

a09f4d7782f7229ba8a7dc929640b83b
This chassis quite small.... :oops:

And without fans... I hope you get it cheap cheap... :sick:

BlackWing1977

https://www.thermalright.com/product/peerless-assassin-120/

IMG_0194-600x600.jpg

Dimension:L125 mm x W135 mm x H157 mm (Just barely below your Chassis supported 160mm CPU Cooler)

Product Description​

Technical Spec :
Heatsink Specifications:
Dimension:L125 mm x W135 mm x H157 mm
Weight:750g
Heat pipes:6mm heatpipe x 6 units
Fin:T = 0.4 mm;Gap=1.8 mm
Copper Base:C1100 Pure copper nickel plated

TL-C12 FAN Spec:
Dimension:L120 mm x W120 mm x H25 mm
Weight:135g
Rated Speed:1550 RPM±10% (MAX)
Noise Level:25.6 dBA
Air Flow:66.17 CFM (MAX)
Air Pressure:1.53mm H2O (MAX)
Ampere:0.20 A
Connector:4 Pin (PWM Fan connector)
Bearing Type : S-FDB Bearing

BlackWing1977

81tF6WTCsXL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

EZDIY-FAB White Moonlight 120mm RGB Case Fan with Fan Hub X and Remote,Motherboard Aura SYNC,Speed Control,Addressable Fan for PC Case-6 Pack (Amazon SG, search for it there.)​

For case fans can consider something cheap to go with your white casing... S$76.89 for all 6 fans with ARGB controller and remote control. Since your chassis maximum also 6 x 120mm fans nia.

hardindex

I7 , 13th gen need at least 240mm close loop cooling. And with that its possible to hit 85 degrees when gaming. If u use air cooling better turn off the overclocking feature on the mother board. Based on spec this cpu should be doing 4.9ghz for performance core. 5.3 looks like overclocking to me.
Now i see noticed the overclocked frequency, checking the specs. lowed power to 125W from 253W for a more stable temperature. Now CPU frequency seem to cap at 4.5GHZ, change the CPU clock ratio to 42 later. Guess the system is stable below 70 degree at the moment before i make changes

yxAUpAr.png

i don't understand why the default Power limit was set to 253W.... i think the CPU draw too much power during those times.

Encouragesome1

X14AXzS.png

Should i be worried with temperature? I don't even dare to switch on XMP for ram? I upgrade CPU cuz of repurchase and delivery problem, was getting a cheaper CPU with cheap CPU fan....
Yes 80 deg c way too high Liao

most of the plastic parts 60-70 max op temp
means usually 50 ish is max usual alr

hardindex

@BlackWing1977 Just cleared CMOS like u did last time.... just change max ring ratio and Ram speed to 3600MHZ... then PC cannot boot, dead :sleep: Now working again... not gonna touch BIOS again, making changes on Giga control panel

kreja

Always check the basics

1. Thermo paste put properly? Got remove the plastic packaging?
2. Fans intake vs exhaust? Remember power supply also got fan? Your cpu got fan, your gpu got fan. try to draw out simple diagram on paper (ie. simplest setup is fan intake> exhaust, avoid blowing against the exhaust point and dead corners)
3. if all okay then maybe CPU is faulty, change CPU itself

This.

You very sure you got remove the plastic sheet on your cpu fan before you install on to your cpu right?

If no case fan. Can you leave the case open and just point a normal desk fan into the case to test if theres any difference in temp?

Also like all the bros just said. Go into your bios and disable all the overclocked settings. You might want to google whats your cpu idle temperature based on specs sheet.

Wont trigger a chain reaction to nuclear meltdown la. Provided you never turn off the safeguards in bios lol.

Lol. Suddenly edmw feels like actual hardware zone for once.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.