New Scam Variants

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

English Teacher

I think we should list down the latest scam variants for awareness.

Recent encounter in Jan 2025:
Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number (last few digits), and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied (via SingPass) for and used the credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrect, they deem it as a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept and also lodge a fraud report to MAS. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter, as the identity thief has charged some significant amount of money to your account, so that you will make a trip to meet them.

you think deeper wont get scam.
use singpass to apply credit card.... how the bank know it is not you if the singpass verification pass?

urbanathlon

Thanks for ur concern. I m not that stupid. I m referring those hp that I received n not on WhatsApp means something suspicious liao. Landline I don’t pick up at all. Even my sister called me from her office I never pick up cos I didn’t save the number .
Isn't landline the most reliable?

Why you don't pick up?
It could be the police police calling you?

Mephist0pheLes

He asked to meet at a Bank's building
so blatant? scamming ppl right next to a bank? aint there cctv everywhere in a bank building? and i assume they need to register to book a meeting room (if they can even do that)?

English Teacher

Isn't landline the most reliable?

Why you don't pick up?
It could be the police police calling you?

this kiddo is a joke.
giving false information.

either he troll or he is a small 12 year old kid who want to act above his station online.

urbanathlon

Banks call me for verification?

Rubbish. I paid $22,000 at Hour Glass but no one called me,
Transferred $150,000 for car downpayment, also no one called me
You try using an ICBC or BOC.

They do call and freeze transaction for no reason.
I also received calls from duno which local bank before but that was only one time.

China banks are very secure till the point u find they are crazy.
The pin numbers are 8, alot of security codes and verifications.
Transactions will call u to verify, will ask u buy for what.
Alot of nuisance calls from the bank

If you have boomer and you scare they are conned, get them ICBC.
Setting up an account is also a PITA.

One thing good is their credit card seems to be don't have fees and their fixed deposits have decent rates.

dgeralds

I ever had one case. Met with a minor accident. So called my insurance agent and he said he will call me back

Then I kept getting calls from one number that’s flagged as scam. Called and called and finally I dulan and pick up and he (the insurance agent) say I keep calling u why u never pick up and I shoot back how come your number is flagged as scam?

Could almost hear a knn in the background.

Apparently I called his office for details and he called me back with his Hp.
Singapore Bank called me but the number was flagged as scam too! :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

mickey88

Some can even accurately tell u ur bank account number and IC number..not tat IC number is important according to our minister 🤣🤣🤣

rarenick

I know of a friend who got such a call. At least he has some sense to call the bank back to verify. The scammers even called a second time to follow up.
We just need to help each other by spreading such awareness. Banks should setup hotlines to perform such verification. Every outgoing calls towards customers should be logged so that any agent can reference it and tell you straight away if the call is legit or not. Banks should also publish the number they use to call. Customers can then keep it inside their contact so that it appears as a known number. I just feel that the banks are not doing enough here. So hard to use a fixed set of number to call? IMS solutions are a dime a dozen these days.
BTW, banks do call you for transaction verification, be it PayNow or CC. These are usually from landlines. Scammers called almost exclusively from mobile numbers because it's easier to get hold of one illegally. I have seen some level 3 numbers also so do take note. These are usually from low cost call centers.

What is level 3 number?

rarenick

so blatant? scamming ppl right next to a bank? aint there cctv everywhere in a bank building? and i assume they need to register to book a meeting room (if they can even do that)?

Probably waiting for u to call him back then he lead u to elsewhere?

urbanathlon

Singapore is saying only trust sms from Gov

More than a decade ago, i was already playing with spoofing SMS.
Can type words as the sender.

This is so basic, how is it even considered reliable.

rarenick

Singapore is saying only trust sms form Gov

More than a decade ago, i was already playing with spoofing SMS.
Can type words as the sender.
This is so basic, how is it even considered reliable.

What a loophole then

cybertech

Yes they speak very good and perfect english as well. Kena one said from HSBC and said will transfer me to MAS to report. Within seconds a so call MAS guy starts talking. I thinking how come the bank can transfer call to MAS within split seconds and knows what I am going to report. Play along for a minute told the fellow no time to carry on call me back 3 hrs later. KNN really call back after 3 hrs of course this time round never answer.

djkopikat

According to my friend who almost kena this scam, after the anti fraud managed to convince u to make a police report, after a few days, the scammer will followup with a call and say got a high post police take over the case to help u...

then will drag here drag there say ur credit card already default payment and someone use it for money laundering which is illegal and u r implicated and become a court case... so to close the case, the scammer will ask u pay back the money and cancel the card for u...

Now scammers really got script writing skills lol

coolad74

Never thought the day would come for revival of legacy banking system, ie physical bank …

sunnyisandsingapore

I once received a scam call from the Supreme Court. The caller spoke in Malaysian Chinese, and when I told him to speak English, he couldn't.

Later, I called up the customer service at the Justice Court, to be told that it was a scam call. :ROFLMAO:

Roundtreex

I know of a friend who got such a call. At least he has some sense to call the bank back to verify. The scammers even called a second time to follow up.

We just need to help each other by spreading such awareness. Banks should setup hotlines to perform such verification. Every outgoing calls towards customers should be logged so that any agent can reference it and tell you straight away if the call is legit or not. Banks should also publish the number they use to call. Customers can then keep it inside their contact so that it appears as a known number. I just feel that the banks are not doing enough here. So hard to use a fixed set of number to call? IMS solutions are a dime a dozen these days.

BTW, banks do call you for transaction verification, be it PayNow or CC. These are usually from landlines. Scammers called almost exclusively from mobile numbers because it's easier to get hold of one illegally. I have seen some level 3 numbers also so do take note. These are usually from low cost call centers.
Land line still not affected. Can pick up. Unknown mobile number high chance scams liao

Amosyee002

what are our SPF doing to catch these scammers?
what are our telco doing to limit these scammers?
what are our government doing to catch these scammers?

lucky i no money buy handphone, so wont kena scam

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.