nice ba ku teh

shalome

went song fa and found that the soup is getting more bland. the trotters were not as flavourful as before. quite disappointed.

gentoro

Yest 28/06/2011 went to Jurong West Ave 1, Joo Siah Bah Ku teh at blk 25*+. I would say by far that its my "most fav BKT" (IMHO). Compare to songfa, Ya Hua or NSH, this place still taste the best!!! But very limited opening timing plus always very packed with long queue. If go off peak, many good stuffs will be gone eg. trottor or tou-ki or tou-po....

There was 1 occassion I was given piority and cut queue - Its was the death anniversary of my father-in-law. I remember he said he loves best BKT only at the Jurong West AVe 1 which I ever bought for him b4 while he is alive. THat day, I went to buy at peak lunch weekend - so pack with orders and queues. I explained that I need a BKT with rice packed in "plastic container" for prayer for my deceased relative. Willing to pay extra for the container, usually they packed in plastic bag. The auntie looked at me and tell me got to wait an hour. I said ok since its not me eating, its for my late father-in-law. After ordering for 5mins, the auntie shouted at me and said mine is ready. I was so delighted for their compassion and left for Chua Chu Kang columbarium immediately.

Speaking of jurong west side BKT, I remember I also been to a not so bad BKT at Jurong west st 55 at blk55*+. The soup is also peppery and nice but tou-ki can be abit too bland. Trotter that day was good, nice mellow dark and fatty!

Sorry, I couldnt remmeber the exact blk but I knw where it is.

warslayer

you can try BKT at singapore flyer... nice! =) rate it 8/10, the meat is not too soft and not too hard. just nice.

swatchie

you can try BKT at singapore flyer... nice! =) rate it 8/10, the meat is not too soft and not too hard. just nice.

The singapore flyer bkt is from sin ming. Don't really like it cause soup got no pork ribs taste and quite expensive.

Sen

My fav is Eng Kee Bak Kut Teh @ Teck Ghee Court Food Centre. They got 4/6 for Makansutra 2011. :eek:

Eng_Kee_Bak_Kut_Teh_.jpg

swatchie

Just went back to Ng Ah Sio today. Had their spare ribs which was quite good imho. But soup a little too salty and sweet, almost unnatural. Read. MSG. Still very peppery though so quite shiok. But $7.50 for 2 small pcs of spare ribs is really expensive.

gentoro

I have never speak much abt my mosted visited Ba Ku Teh stall eversince. Its located along River Valley before Mohd Sultan Road. Since dun when cheong at Mohd Sultan or Boat quay or clark quay, we always gone there for supper - blacken soya sauce ba ku teh.

Last sat, gone there again after getting drunk while in Boat Quay. All I could remember is that all other side dishes eg, salted vege, tau kee and pork trotter are nice. Ba Ku teh itself not so bad, do not hold the peppery taste but abit herbal and more salty soya sauce.

Ordered for 2 pax - ba ku teh, tau kee, salted vege and pork trotter at $21.

All in all, I would consider this place cheaper than Outram Yat Huat BKT for the same dishes ordered.

Beta_Tester

i just had songfa at Bugis.. 1 rice, 1 pork ribs 6bucks and 1 kidney 5 bucks.. total 11.50. :)

gentoro

Last Sun, went to Old Tiong Bahru Bah Ku Teh for prok rib. Soup was "excellent" as usual but pork rib was abit stingy. 2 ribs and 1 upper meat bone. The salt veggies was sweet - thou not my kind of taste (I prefer salty) but had 2 bowls of rice and 3 top up of soup. Nice pleasantly.

Previous Fri, manage to had lunch with missus. Gone for Bah Ku teh along upper bt timah road, opps Mindef. Soup was kinda bland and peppery and pork rib were pathetic. Well, I went there at 1pm, suppose to be lunch time right? How come soup and pork was bad? Not recommended. Became bottom of my list.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.