No funeral

DexRunner

this concept is good
but i recall recently got news nea need to move the ashes from the garden ppl unhappy
This huan is ongoing one, once the scattering lane is full, they will do soil transfer to empty plot of land and clear the lane for new scattering

cpuer

my mum passing was a christian funeral. it was a time of remembrance and sometimes encouragement. i didn't know she helped so many people and many remembered her fondly. at that time i realised, a funeral was not for the deceased but for the living to have closure.

Ethan_

I cherish every single moment with my friends n family. I told them I will not hold a wake. Don be sad that one day they contact me n my family informs them that I already pass on...

My parents already said holding the simplest funeral for them. Don waste money. And my sister n I would not collect wreath.
Think nowadays with many small families, they tend don't want to hold an elaborate one. Just simple will do. Cause the children also cannot reciprocate when too many.

Some more unlike last time, many don't really 走亲 that much nowadays. All keep to themselves. Thus when such come, they also don't want to bother others too much. Its costly and too much for the small family to bear.

KPO_SAHM

So do u and hubby family give others condolences money?

Yes. Usually about $300 for neighbours n closed friend. My parents would give $500-1k to relatives
But we normally don collect from others

KPO_SAHM

So the soul will not wander around lost

Who knows .....just a believe .....U believe have then have lah....for me I don believe in anything as long as during my time of living I never did bad things n be kind that is good enough

Duapui-ti

Yes, I’m planning to do the same — since I’m already dead, might as well not let the body go to waste.
U may wan to consider to donate Ur body to NUS medical school. The school would cover the cremation fee n sea burial . I signed up for that . Also don wan to have a wake as I feel that wake is for living ones. if U see the wake now, hardly have any people attending n sending off , why waste money leh. I rather do something meaningful for myself even when I die

qhong61

Yes. Usually about $300 for neighbours n closed friend. My parents would give $500-1k to relatives
But we normally don collect from others
Maybe should have collect and donate to charity in ur deceased kin names

coyote

my mum passing was a christian funeral. it was a time of remembrance and sometimes encouragement. i didn't know she helped so many people and many remembered her fondly. at that time i realised, a funeral was not for the deceased but for the living to have closure.

Exactly.

Southern Lights

My wife and I have the same thoughts. No funeral, straight to cremation and scatter in the sea.

But I got tell her, if she don't treat me well, I'll flush her down the toilet bowl.

KPO_SAHM

Maybe should have collect and donate to charity in ur deceased kin names

No need cause those who attend may not be coming from well to do family . As what my parents always say....wedding n funeral is all about "guests" giving money. for us it is ok not to give. Usually we would donate money under parents' names

BlackWing1977

Anyone know the procedure to skip hosting funeral before?
Just contact Funeral service say direct to cremation lor... they will arrange to collect body from hospital book a slot at crematorium then maybe say a little prayer before...

3G SAINT

Nobody actually can confirmed this so just don't bother so much.

Just no need the trouble to pray for me.
Last time I think throw to the sea too dnt need pple come to pray...:)

But some funeral owner share to us not good for dead pple:(

In the ancient days, one way to punish the worst criminal or enemy is to kill the person, hack the body into parts, burn and pound the bones into ashes and then throw them everywhere( 挫骨扬灰); so that the dead will suffer in the afterlife eternally(永不超生).

That is why we should never ever scatter the ashes of your ancestors or loved ones everywhere whether it is on the ground or in the sea.

TimsTom

Just engage a party to do some prayers to calm the soul of deceased then send for cremation :(

For me next time will be like that because nobody will care to come to my wake if there is one :(
I opted for ash scattering when my time is up, no need columbarium...
Tell funeral company collect body from morgue and let them do all the bookings arrangement for burial or cremation lor. They got different packages to suit every need
For oneself or for kin? Have any of u areanged n book everything for ownself since bbfa and nobody help us do the wake in future so as well do now?

If nobody did anything, will govt still automatically arrange cremation for us?

Jeremy1

Last time I think throw to the sea too dnt need pple come to pray...:)

But some funeral owner share to us not good for dead pple:(

In the ancient days, one way to punish the worst criminal or enemy is to kill the person, hack the body into parts, burn and pound the bones into ashes and then throw them everywhere( 挫骨扬灰); so that the dead will suffer in the afterlife eternally(永不超生).

That is why we should never ever scatter the ashes of your ancestors or loved ones everywhere whether it is on the ground or in the sea.

Unless it's done properly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.