Nov 2012 BTO

Tandoor

First and foremost: I agree, glossy tiles and dark timber skirting don't go well together.
I'll still go ahead with the flooring though, unless during the next few months before the selection, i manage to get a good quotation for tiling services.

doors, I'll definitely source on my own. We aren't allowed to select the models of the doors - it's either a take it or leave it condition.

I'm pretty certain I can find better doors elsewhere in the market.
Contractors are dime a dozen. You pay for what u get, essentially. OCS is just convenient. U get the keys u can move in, maybe short of some lamps.

Then there are some money grubbing contractors who try to fleece you, trying to add on the already expensive job and recommend or make up a problem that doesnt exist yet and nickel and dime you to add to the bill. I dont know about most of u, if u dont understand construction and not savvy about these things better not to attempt engaging those m-fers. The experience will not only wear u out, and in the end u will regret spending so much unnecessary monies on nonsensical things when u find out you have been fleeced.

Do what u must but this is only imho !

Expert

First and foremost: I agree, glossy tiles and dark timber skirting don't go well together.
I'll still go ahead with the flooring though, unless during the next few months before the selection, i manage to get a good quotation for tiling services.

doors, I'll definitely source on my own. We aren't allowed to select the models of the doors - it's either a take it or leave it condition.

I'm pretty certain I can find better doors elsewhere in the market.

I thought there are 4 doors to choose from? :(

jizzbunny

Contractors are dime a dozen. You pay for what u get, essentially. OCS is just convenient. U get the keys u can move in, maybe short of some lamps.

Then there are some money grubbing contractors who try to fleece you, trying to add on the already expensive job and recommend or make up a problem that doesnt exist yet and nickel and dime you to add to the bill. I dont know about most of u, if u dont understand construction and not savvy about these things better not to attempt engaging those m-fers. The experience will not only wear u out, and in the end u will regret spending so much unnecessary monies on nonsensical things when u find out you have been fleeced.

Do what u must but this is only imho !
thanks for your advice guys.

In my previous line of work in the events line, I think I can get my ex-boss to recommend carpenters/contractors for this. At the end of the day, I agree that you get what you pay for.

and I'll be sourcing for quotations before agreeing to get chopped like a carrot.
surely, OCS is convenient and relatively safer, but I'm not going to live in my own home for the next 30 years waking up to an ugly door (in my opinion) if i can help it. lol.

jizzbunny

I thought there are 4 doors to choose from? :(
Yea HDB has 4 doors.
1 for main door(you have no choice)
D9, D9A and D10. These 3 doors are only offered probably at random.
Only 1 model for each proj. it's not like you get to choose the options. :p

icopral

Regarding the tpy crest fb page, I agree that in particular the thread by this person called loo mon chin something seems dodgy. I initially joined that group but later realised there have been no discussions and it's members are all like teenage girls who don't look like they have applied for a flat.

However there is one started by daphne which is legitimate. Although there are only about 20 of us inside, discussions have started. So come come :)

Can't seem to find, able to paste link?

Expert

Yea HDB has 4 doors.
1 for main door(you have no choice)
D9, D9A and D10. These 3 doors are only offered probably at random.
Only 1 model for each proj. it's not like you get to choose the options. :p

omg really random? the internal doors really ugly leh, only one looks okay only.. the rest looks like some table ply wood. :s22:

how about the floorings? can we choose which option we want or also random? :sad: :(

lif3water

Yup if the door designs are there for us to view in HDB hub but they cannot tell us which one will be used for our estate then its really risky choosing doors from HDB if eventually we get a design we do not like.

betterluck

Yup if the door designs are there for us to view in HDB hub but they cannot tell us which one will be used for our estate then its really risky choosing doors from HDB if eventually we get a design we do not like.
It's stated in the sales launch if you read carefully.
For ghim moh, will be using door d9a which is awful

Expert

wah jin sian... doors and bathroom tiles can't choose.. :sad: :(

anyone got any pictures on the D10 and D10a doors?

jizzbunny

its stated in the specs. :)

jizzbunny

wah jin sian... doors and bathroom tiles can't choose.. :sad: :(

anyone got any pictures on the D10 and D10a doors?
i posted in my fengshan bto fb group.
don't have access to it here. perhaps i will link it here this evening when I get home.

Tandoor

thanks for your advice guys.

In my previous line of work in the events line, I think I can get my ex-boss to recommend carpenters/contractors for this. At the end of the day, I agree that you get what you pay for.

and I'll be sourcing for quotations before agreeing to get chopped like a carrot.
surely, OCS is convenient and relatively safer, but I'm not going to live in my own home for the next 30 years waking up to an ugly door (in my opinion) if i can help it. lol.
IMHO again....some things just grow on you. After u are settled in and comfortable u will hardly notice. If it still bothers u and u lose sleep over it, then hack it out and redo the doors and fittings, these can be changed easily without hacking the floors. By then, you'd have great recommendations about who to use for the job. I am sure most door sizes are standard, but for some reason, u get the door and doesn't fit, then your contractor will have a field day with you and really "chop your carrot". Either more hacking or adding more cement to make it work....<sigh>, better not to get into this mess in the first place. I made this big mistake once and yes, those m-fers "chopped my carrot off" completely !!

Tandoor

Q1: Bro, I dont think you can applied solo if you are age <35 years old.
Q2: If I am not wrong, your sis can applied with your mother as parent and child scheme.

Best is to drop by HDB to enquire, just prepared your question b4 hand and go to the counter. That will save you some time. I did that too.

Cheers.
I am a total newbie myself, one thing I have found is, as if the officers have this checklist to go by for eligibility, HLE, housing grants or whatever. If anything is "iffy", they will straight reject it. But u can appeal and try to justify the case with a good explanation in writing. If they are satisfied, they will proceed u to the next step. But, if u get an officer who is a stickler and bent on saying no, then u outta luck. Appeal at later date, go to MP, or whatever.

However, if they even suspect the motive is unscrupulous, trying to make monies, jumping q, or trying to get ahead without giving regard to fair play and clearly wanting to take away chances for those who are in real need for public housing, you will be blacklisted and even u try to get in again to apply in a round about way, you will be weeded out immediately. This was an actual case that happened to someone who was from another country and got naturalized as citizen, married a local (in name only as it turned out), had monies to blow, thought he could bend and break the SG rules like how he would do things in his home country. He took the pretty far and lost. In all fairness, he should have his citizenship withdrawn. Some just think they are above the law.

lzjlee

how do you know march have sobf?

Actually nobody knows for sure when is the next sbf as there is still no news about it yet. I think we can only make a guess here.

The past sbf were launched on:
2009: Oct
2010: Aug
2011: Sep
2012: Mar n Sep

It seems that hdb have been launching one every 6mths lately. So the next one should be Mar maybe?

Expert

do we need HLE when we go and do selection for bto ?

I still have not applied for HLE.. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.