NTU APPEAL

villan

sorry to burst ur bubble, but EEC is really bad, pls consider SIM for lit.

laober

as long as u have one single H2 E grade, chances are as close to zero. my statement based on past cases experienced by my friends. unless u have like AAE or something, which is not the case now. so its either SIM or retake..

Gabrielle.s

NTU, I really don't understand you.

Firstly, with a GPA of 3.51 I'm not even able to enter your university? I have tried so hard in poly for 3 long years to maintain that kind of GPA. It may not be that high, but its hard, and somehow I feel like I've been cheated. For the past few years you've been claiming that you'll increase your intake, blah blah blah... But still, my 2 applications and 2 appeals have been rejected in both 2007 and 2008. Its not like I applied for very "famous" and "attractive" courses. I only applied Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering. Shouldn't the intake of those courses be quite large? But still...

Secondly, why make your rejection letter so long winded? Heh... you actually said you 'regret' to inform me that my application has been rejected, and 'paying close attention' to my strengths and 'expressed interest', making a 'thorough assessment' of my application, blah blah blah again. Do you think I feel you? Is that supposed to make me feel better? Does that mean that I have a higher chance of entering next year? NTU, you had 3 paragraphs in your rejection letter and only in the 3RD PARAGRAPH is when you mention that my appeal has been UNsuccessful. Want me to be even more disappointed after reading so much huh? Come on man! Just get straight to the point!

Franklhy, maybe you could try common engineering? You can stream into electrical eng in the 2nd year. EEE is more difficult to enter from the start because it's one of the more popular eng courses. You can still try (unofficially) appealing for common eng. Go down personally to the admissions office because the online appeal is closed. I'm not sure but I think they're still accepting/considering unofficial appeals.

I think you can make your case stronger since your poly course was EEE so you tell them how much you want to study it. If you still can't get in this time round, at least you really really tried your best.

havocidal

Anyone knows if it is too late to appeal for a change of cse involving one that is of a ''downgrading nature''? Eg. Accounting to Arts

Hate to burst your bubble but you must remember that at this point of time, practically every course would have been completely filled up. The only slightest bit of chance will be that someone decides to pull out of the course at this point of the time. There is of course no harm trying, but chances are extremely slim now.

mobilediskkk

Hey guys, I got rejected by nus computing but accepted into ntu common engineering with interview after sending in my re-appeal emails and letters! I got the same interviewer as Joycelyn.. So for those whose appeals are not successful..can try sending in re-appeal letters directly to the schools! Dun give up on appealing since it's not the end of july yet! :s13:

mobilediskkk

i wrote a re-appeal essay, attached my school/cca testimonials and music certificates. I emailed the dean and sent a letter to the college of engineering. I was the only person interviewed that day. I guess not many ppl re-appealed..I went for the interview on Thurs and got my acceptance letter today..

zerogoal

i wrote a re-appeal essay, attached my school/cca testimonials and music certificates. I emailed the dean and sent a letter to the college of engineering. I was the only person interviewed that day. I guess not many ppl re-appealed..I went for the interview on Thurs and got my acceptance letter today..

hey may i know what they ask you during your interview?

joycelyn09

ermmm. i dont know if re-appealing now helps. but i think maybe it does? cos actually now everywhere is filled. unless ppl reject their offers or smthg bah. yea. the interviewer who interview me and mobiledissk is the associate vice-dean of college of engine. he is really like @#$#$%!@#$. yea. but i think for all common engine interviewees, all got their offers. yea.

ermm. as for me, he didnt ask why i get grades for my GP or whatsoever. he just went on asking me abt my crap PW which is really crap. so basically, is individual bah. not everyone gets the same qns. but its along dat line bah. so i think once u get shortlisted or what, basically, u r aldy accepted. they just want to see yr face or what. anyway, i think after the entire interview, they wont remember u unless u really crap? yea. there are too many students eh.

kennylkl

I had 2 interviewers..one of them is the vice-dean..Joycelyn oso kena this fierce interviewer..first qn was why I wanna specialise in civil engineering..then I said something like I want to be a consultant civil engineer cause there are more calculations involved (i memorised from internet one)..then he said obviously i dunno what does a consultant do..then he asked me why my gp and geog get this kind of grade..is it because i don't read the newspapers..i said i only read the section on life..He kept lecturing me throughout the interview until i cried loh..

The other interviewer asked me about music stuff..my grade..what instruments i play..fav composer..asked me if i know where's chopin's grave..and the music sch i taught in..

hi, first of all congrats on getting a place..... wau didnt know they'll question u until like that... but its all history haha.

ultimatenolifer

Hey guys, I got rejected by nus computing but accepted into ntu common engineering with interview after sending in my re-appeal emails and letters! I got the same interviewer as Joycelyn.. So for those whose appeals are not successful..can try sending in re-appeal letters directly to the schools! Dun give up on appealing since it's not the end of july yet! :s13:

Roughly how long did it take from the time you sent in your reappeal letter to the time u got accepted into the course? I was thinking of reappealing but there are only 3 wks left b4 sch starts!

mobilediskkk

Roughly how long did it take from the time you sent in your reappeal letter to the time u got accepted into the course? I was thinking of reappealing but there are only 3 wks left b4 sch starts!
I sent an email and letter on mon, received a call on wed to go for the interview on thurs..got the letter on sat

maybesolitude

I'd like to be very random in the midst of the thread; somehow, I don't really understand how NTU select their undergrads.

My grades are BBC, GP B, it's neither spectacular nor that bad, but I got rejected flat by NTU's School of Humanities & Social Science. And I heard of people who fared worse than me getting into the courses.

So perhaps NTU looks more at CCA records, interviews, or something for borderline cases... I didn't have much of a CCA record back at JC.

All the best to everyone awaiting replies from the Unis :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.