NUS SCIENCE(STATISTICS)

Rusty89

To all my fellow stats juniors, I am a Year 4 student now. I think there is a need to clarify some misconceptions.

1) Yes there are a lot of PRCs in stats/maths/phys, but at level 1 and 2 modules, the proportion is still manageable. When you reach level 3 and 4 modules, you will realise the true meaning of minority, when you only see locals filling up the fringes (back) of the lecture theatre. Especially in stats mods, a lot of locals graduate without honours, and hence the concentration of PRCs in 4k modules is really daunting.

2) IMO, their edge expires when you progress up the modules. They only possess a comparative advantage over locals in lower level modules as they have the discipline to mug hard for them. When you reach 3/4k modules, suddenly the amount of content is much less but the difficulty can be placed much higher depending on the lecturer. More often than not, the field will equalize here since at this stage hardwork no longer translate to results.

3) Plan your modules carefully, if you are more interested in modeling and simulation take modules there are plenty of such regression and model analysis modules. On the other hand, modules like mathematical stat, stochastic processes are really more probabilistic in nature than statistic but you cannot really venture deep into applied probability without studying probability and measure theory till you attain proficiency.

Just my two cents of thoughts.

Thanks for the sharing of experience :)

Haha yarloz, they always cluster in the front and in the middle sia. Hardcore. Plus their comparative advantage is also that they have learnt all these lv1k-2k mod before.

i always thought that as i climb up, there will be less tiong coz majority are maths/applied math major. guess i was wrong :(

Rusty89

GG liao sia. Really don't understand what st3131 is going on man. Decided to buy st2132 textbook but guys, is st3131 textbook good? Wanted to browse through but co op don't have browsing copy.

Death4ngel

GG liao sia. Really don't understand what st3131 is going on man. Decided to buy st2132 textbook but guys, is st3131 textbook good? Wanted to browse through but co op don't have browsing copy.

Check if Library has?

Rusty89

The ST3131 book is really good with diagrams. I dun understand wad yu tao is teaching but after reading the book, i finally understood

Thanks for the reviews. Just managed to buy the 2nd hand version of that textbook. :D

Aegis

It's been almost a decade since I graduated from nus stats, nowadays you guys really cham. Got so many tiong to fight with and all these bidding stuff.

i know most of the older profs and their pattern. feel free to let me know if you need any advice. btw, i stayed on in stats after my hons yr to do my msc so i know what im talking about.

Rusty89

It's been almost a decade since I graduated from nus stats, nowadays you guys really cham. Got so many tiong to fight with and all these bidding stuff.

i know most of the older profs and their pattern. feel free to let me know if you need any advice. btw, i stayed on in stats after my hons yr to do my msc so i know what im talking about.

Your time dont have that many tiongs to fight with?

Can share to wad are the career prospect?
Thx =)

Haha yea i also wanna know more about this aspect. what kinda sector are u in?

Darkzi0n

Anybody knows the format of the Exam for ST2137? like wat type of questions will they ask? will it be something like the written paper for CS1010 where they give u some question n u need to write code for it? Or will it be a practical based final exam?

Darkzi0n

Dunnoe... Wa now juz end of third week, u already tinking of exam liao... Make mi free stress :( ....Ur CAP must be damn zai lor
Lols

not zai lar.. but know earlier better mah. Can adjust how i study for the mod accordingly depending on whether it is more practical based or focus more on the theory behind the analysis.

yoshi_fanboy

not zai lar.. but know earlier better mah. Can adjust how i study for the mod accordingly depending on whether it is more practical based or focus more on the theory behind the analysis.

A CAP of 4.65 is not zai enough? Are you f***ing serious? Do you know that a lot of people would want to have such grades?

Rusty89

Anybody knows the format of the Exam for ST2137? like wat type of questions will they ask? will it be something like the written paper for CS1010 where they give u some question n u need to write code for it? Or will it be a practical based final exam?

Dunnoe... Wa now juz end of third week, u already tinking of exam liao... Make mi free stress :( ....Ur CAP must be damn zai lor
Lols

Lol if u go to his blog stated in his signature, u will know.

viewer discretion is advised : will get emo one :(

Darkzi0n

A CAP of 4.65 is not zai enough? Are you f***ing serious? Do you know that a lot of people would want to have such grades?

with ppl like you,abc,carlo,the 4.9 guy from chem engine(forgot his nick =:p) and some other hidden dragons here i where got dare to say i zai :(

Aegis

Can share to wad are the career prospect?
Thx =)

Your time dont have that many tiongs to fight with?
Haha yea i also wanna know more about this aspect. what kinda sector are u in?

Gahment got lots of stats job, turnover quite high I think. I started work in a clinical research organisation under singhealth but left after 3 months for the pharma industry. If your are interested in doing stats related job I think the options are there. If you are interested in making lots of money, then of course try to get a job in the financial industry. I'm pretty happy with pharma, good work, life, salary balance.

Literally none in the undergrad years, only a few malaysians. BUT when I went into grad school, there was only 2 locals, the rest of the 15 all ah tiongs. haha Having said that, they are quite ok la, not all are pro.

Darkzi0n

My blog got nothing much to read one lar.

Gahment got lots of stats job, turnover quite high I think. I started work in a clinical research organisation under singhealth but left after 3 months for the pharma industry. If your are interested in doing stats related job I think the options are there. If you are interested in making lots of money, then of course try to get a job in the financial industry. I'm pretty happy with pharma, good work, life, salary balance.

Literally none in the undergrad years, only a few malaysians. BUT when I went into grad school, there was only 2 locals, the rest of the 15 all ah tiongs. haha Having said that, they are quite ok la, not all are pro.

Thx for sharing. :)
Did u specialize in biostats? And do u think doing a msc had greatly improved ur employability? And if u dun mind sharing base on ur own or ur friends experience, wat salary can a fresh honor student expect?

Aegis

Yes i do biostats as im in pharma. for stats to get into pharma you need an msc, what i have discovered is that you really need a phd to open doors. not that the things you do are that technical but they recognize that degree in this line. my colleagues 60-70% have phds, I also ll doing a part time one now. if i can turn back time i would just go all the way from the start.
if you want to do into finance, don't bother doing those financial engineering/msc, etc, if your grades are good enough you will stand a chance of getting that interview. whether you can get the job is another thing. my friends in finance most of them did well in fass econs (1st or 2nd upper), some of them are from computational finance.
fresh honors stats if you can get a job in pharma i think should be able to draw close to 3k? im not really sure actually so don't quote me. in the industry with a phd some will pay you more than 10k... finance/banking im not really sure, but should be getting 4k+ at least. cheng hu prob a lot less, for me its just a back up plan if tio retrenched. :s13:
let me know if you have any more questions. if you wanna know where i work, *hint* my office is in med/sci! =:p

Rusty89

Yes i do biostats as im in pharma. for stats to get into pharma you need an msc, what i have discovered is that you really need a phd to open doors. not that the things you do are that technical but they recognize that degree in this line. my colleagues 60-70% have phds, I also ll doing a part time one now. if i can turn back time i would just go all the way from the start.
if you want to do into finance, don't bother doing those financial engineering/msc, etc, if your grades are good enough you will stand a chance of getting that interview. whether you can get the job is another thing. my friends in finance most of them did well in fass econs (1st or 2nd upper), some of them are from computational finance.
fresh honors stats if you can get a job in pharma i think should be able to draw close to 3k? im not really sure actually so don't quote me. in the industry with a phd some will pay you more than 10k... finance/banking im not really sure, but should be getting 4k+ at least. cheng hu prob a lot less, for me its just a back up plan if tio retrenched. :s13:
let me know if you have any more questions. if you wanna know where i work, *hint* my office is in med/sci! =:p

Hmm let me guess. you are in pharm ar? maybe guardian?

Sigh, initially i wanted to go into finance/actuary as i am interested in this field. Think i am too ambitious liao. turn out results not really that good. If things din go smoothly, was thinking of graduating with a Bsc Degree. Hmm, so just curious that is it really very bad in finance sector? i was thinking maybe can reinforce with some professional degree or sth de :(

Darkzi0n

Sigh, initially i wanted to go into finance/actuary as i am interested in this field. Think i am too ambitious liao. turn out results not really that good. If things din go smoothly, was thinking of graduating with a Bsc Degree. Hmm, so just curious that is it really very bad in finance sector? i was thinking maybe can reinforce with some professional degree or sth de :(

U wan to be acturian go take the test offered by the acturian society/association.. They r offered by a few country tho.. I think Singapore one usually take those offered by uk iirc. I'm planning to pass 1 or 2 test before I graduate.

Aegis

erm dud, pharma=pharmaceutical industry the folks that invent and make drugs. pharmacy is a place that dispenses drugs.

I think it is harder to go into an international bank for fresh grads without good grades unless you got connections. if your basic stats is average, a financial engineering degree will be very hard work.

U wan to be acturian go take the test offered by the acturian society/association.. They r offered by a few country tho.. I think Singapore one usually take those offered by uk iirc. I'm planning to pass 1 or 2 test before I graduate.

if you're serious about being an actuary do try and take the exams, i think nus stats got offer 1-2 classes that is good prep for the first 1-2 tests covered by
the uk actuarial society to be an associate. usually people take the basic exams join an insurance company and the company will pay for you to take the other exams. iirc it gets pretty expensive for the higher level exams. be forewarned, actuarial work is very boring one. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.