Off peak car driving offense issue

Antz621

any bros went to court before? i also kenna and just got letter to appear in court in september. oh no. how much fine huh? ):

My Friend went to court twice and on the 2nd time, he goes straight to Queenstown Remand Prison for a 2 weeks rest.

Don't ever screw around with the OPC system...

tekster

which part of the word "forgot" you don't understand? Maybe your pea-sized brain can't comprehend the word. Timeline extremely long so what?

you got tell iras you forgot to pay taxes? you got tell government you forgot to claim your gst relief funds?

don't use 'forgot' as a convenient excuse. unless you are determined that you got mental issues by the doctor or specialist, else it will never be a good excuse.

next time try telling your boss you forgot the timeline and never submit your assignment.

tekster

My Friend went to court twice and on the 2nd time, he goes straight to Queenstown Remand Prison for a 2 weeks rest.

Don't ever screw around with the OPC system...

wa, why he never buy the coupon twice? twice is like quite jialat le.

gentoro

Nope, I think he "FORGOTTEN" 3rd time. 1st time only kena summon, 2nd time go court and then 3rd time again go court for 2nd time for the same offense.

Antz621

His was under old system using that colorful $20 ticket

First time he act blur never buy the coupon.

2nd time he tampered with it

There was no 3rd time anymore

joelchan

I guess we cannot 'fault' people who 'forgot' nor people who cannot 'forget' to get the eDay License.

If you are the 'easily forgetful' type, OPC is not meant for you, not worth to drive OPC ..and you may even risk forgetting to pay your insurance, roadtax... :p

OPC owner MUST be the type that fits the OPC bill...

if not, the fine and jail ? not worth at all !!!

darkmatt

Instead of using those methods when caught to FINE people.

can just CHARGE then the $20 instead.

Antz621

I guess we cannot 'fault' people who 'forgot' nor people who cannot 'forget' to get the eDay License.

If you are the 'easily forgetful' type, OPC is not meant for you, not worth to drive OPC ..and you may even risk forgetting to pay your insurance, roadtax... :p

OPC car MUST be the type that fits the OPC bill...

if not, the fine and jail ? not worth at all !!!

Yes agreed. There is a certain amount of psychological stress on OPC owners not to flaunt it. To be honest, I used to feel at ease because I have a 2nd car in the form of a co car so I never felt the full impact of this psychic thingy... Now that I changed job and and back to 1 car, yes it's been tiring trying to adhere to the ruling... So took the most cost effective way out by converting out of the OPC scheme altogether. How I missed my 50c/per day road tax days! :D

tekster

His was under old system using that colorful $20 ticket

First time he act blur never buy the coupon.

2nd time he tampered with it

There was no 3rd time anymore

wa!! tampering or cheating ish jin jialat case. no wonder he went jail la.

tekster

Yes agreed. There is a certain amount of psychological stress on OPC owners not to flaunt it. To be honest, I used to feel at ease because I have a 2nd car in the form of a co car so I never felt the full impact of this psychic thingy... Now that I changed job and and back to 1 car, yes it's been tiring trying to adhere to the ruling... So took the most cost effective way out by converting out of the OPC scheme altogether. How I missed my 50c/per day road tax days! :D

hahah that's true. i've often been wondering if it's really cheaper if i drive 2 or 3 days instead. i don't exactly need a normal car either.

btw, how'd u make yr payment for conversion? by cheque or credit?

XsenseX

which part of the word "forgot" you don't understand? Maybe your pea-sized brain can't comprehend the word. Timeline extremely long so what?

I don't need to comment on this cause others have already said what i need to.

I'm sure your huge sized brain can find a way to convince the judge.

My brain too small so no choice have to buy black plated expensive cars.:look:

darkmatt

like that, thy will be very busy catching. all will not put liao of there's no penalty.

the catch rate is very high.

plus, people will put.

those who dont, better step up and explain and just pay the $20. whats so difficult enforcing it?

tekster

the catch rate is very high.

plus, people will put.

those who dont, better step up and explain and just pay the $20. whats so difficult enforcing it?

What's there to explain when you are chargd $20 when caught? You are saying catch then part, no catch no pay le.

lattesurf

Actually i feel that if first time never buy e-license, and owner go surrender to LTA the next day, there should be a 2nd chance given + final warning.

However, if 2nd time again, then no more chances even if surrender, fine a few hundreds. Unless really very strong reason, eg life-death situation, then case-by-case again.

Recalcitrant offenders like 3 or more times and never surrender for all the times, then heavy fine + court case.

Frankly, forget is a very easy excuse. You don't forget to pump petrol, don't forget to renew road tax, don't forget to buy insurance for your car, etc. So why keep using "forget" to excuse yourself?

In case you think I'm flaming you, I too own an OPC and never forget to pay for the e-license when I use it during restricted hours. I know the likely consequences of not paying, and always make it a point to pay the moment I get home. AXS, Mobilepay, LTA website, even post office, etc. So many avenues to make payment, no $$ in your bank account to pay by Nets, still can use Mobilepay to pay via credit card, too easy.

Antz621

hahah that's true. i've often been wondering if it's really cheaper if i drive 2 or 3 days instead. i don't exactly need a normal car either.

btw, how'd u make yr payment for conversion? by cheque or credit?

By Cheque. On the spot write and issue it to LTA. How I wished can be credit card. Hiong hiong clock the points one time!

crossair

Hi all, just some updates on my situation.

actually, i didn't get caught 4 times, my mistake. The very last time (the recent offense in April this yr) was the 3rd time.

Summary :
First time, i was invited to LTA to lim kopi and explain my case with an officer. They even took a picture of my car backside. However, they let me off with a warning and i paid the $20 ticket with no summon. But my vehicle number was already inside their system.

2nd time, kenna caught again in Jan 2011, they send me a letter asking for the driver details. i put my name down and fax back to them. They charge me $500 about 1-2 months later with a summon letter.

3rd time (recent time in Apr 2011), kenna caught again and LTA send me yet another letter asking for driver details. i filled in the letter on my wife's behalf and put her name down in the letter. 1-2months later, they send me a letter with a charge of $500 again.

It seems that the fine is based on the driver. not the car. So in theory, under my name, i was charged the 1st time with a penalty fine. (dont count the let off warning 1st time, because that time they didn't ask me to pay fine, just the $20 offpeak coupon charge.) Same goes to my wife. She also theoratically kenna as 1st offender, with penalty fine of $500.

I was told, by the LTA officer (who called me to confirm my wife's details), that if kenna 2nd time again (that means after the 1st offense of $500, the 2nd time they caught you and they found out that you are the driver for 2nd offense), you will be hauled to court.

So meaning, if i put my name down instead of my wife for the last offense, i would have been hauled to court. and the fine would be in thousands and i have to face a judge.

For the Jan and Apr 2011 offense, they straight away send me Fine letter, no need to go down LTA. I just pay via AXS machine. It was my fault, so i have no problems paying the fine.

After the last offense, I sold off my 3yr old offpeak car in May and got a 5 yr old normal plate 2nd hand vehicle. I topped up $7k more for the 2nd hand car.

So ends the saga of my offpeak vehicle and now, i don't have to worry about forgetting to purchase eday license... and for forgetful people like me, i think its worth to get a normal plate for a piece of mind and bigger cabin/boot space. :)

I think at first people can be quite sympathetic to you, but after this...

You shouldn't even be allowed to drive, since you can even forget what type of car you are driving. What other things have you been forgetting lately? Forget to signal? Forget to top up petrol? Forget what its like to forget to buy OPC coupons? People like you should be locked at home to prevent harm to yourself and others.

Don't take offence please, because you will forget about it fast enough, no worries :)

tekster

Actually i feel that if first time never buy e-license, and owner go surrender to LTA the next day, there should be a 2nd chance given + final warning.

However, if 2nd time again, then no more chances even if surrender, fine a few hundreds. Unless really very strong reason, eg life-death situation, then case-by-case again.

Recalcitrant offenders like 3 or more times and never surrender for all the times, then heavy fine + court case.

Frankly, forget is a very easy excuse. You don't forget to pump petrol, don't forget to renew road tax, don't forget to buy insurance for your car, etc. So why keep using "forget" to excuse yourself?

In case you think I'm flaming you, I too own an OPC and never forget to pay for the e-license when I use it during restricted hours. I know the likely consequences of not paying, and always make it a point to pay the moment I get home. AXS, Mobilepay, LTA website, even post office, etc. So many avenues to make payment, no $$ in your bank account to pay by Nets, still can use Mobilepay to pay via credit card, too easy.

i think LTA should conduct a payment lesson for OPC owners. ensure that there is a mutual understanding. also to create a mobilepay account on the spot for them.

ahjames

hehe for me I did forgot once and surrender next day but still fine $500 bucks... Genuine first time case they also no give chance :( I bought coupon for the whole month, about $400+ only forgot about that day...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.