Off peak car driving offense issue

darkmatt

The current scheme is way better. That time have to buy paper licence in advance. In emergency can't drive. Now anytime can buy. Drive already can still buy.

No difference, forgetful is forgetful. Now at least drive already then remember still have chance to buy.

IMHO it's about personal discipline and knowing what one is getting into. No point KPKB after the fact. The majority of OPC drivers can remember.

thats the old OPC scheme.

old WEC is ONLY allowed to drive on weekends. no more, no less

lattesurf

thats the old OPC scheme.

old WEC is ONLY allowed to drive on weekends. no more, no less

IIRC, WEC scheme in the past also has similar paper coupons issued when you renew road tax. Can be used for weekday usage.

crossair

even if i were to "collect" cars, i would still get a normal plate for the freedom.

I don't know about "freedom". Afterall its more of a mental barrier than anything else.

Its just a matter of a few clicks before driving off. Or if you are the meticulous kind of person to remember it, do those few clicks after you get home.

Its a minor inconvenience compared to the money saved.

cueball1981

i got a friend who paste a post it note over the key hole of the OPC and everytime he wanna start.. he will remember to buy using sms... i think it works very well..

darkmatt

I don't know about "freedom". Afterall its more of a mental barrier than anything else.

Its just a matter of a few clicks before driving off. Or if you are the meticulous kind of person to remember it, do those few clicks after you get home.

freedom as in.

i want to drive to town for lunch. i just start and go.

no need to see red plate and sian half coz red cannot drive unless pay $$$

crossair

freedom as in.

i want to drive to town for lunch. i just start and go.

no need to see red plate and sian half coz red cannot drive unless pay $$$

Correct la bro, but you must remember the money you saved while getting the car, it is a substantial amount. Its not a terribly inconvenient thing to buy the e-coupon nowadays.

Owning and driving an OPC has already been made as reasonably convenient as possible liao.

tekster

when cum to $$$ isssue
i still find it extremely impossible to forget to purchase a day ticket.

especially when it involve ah gong $$$

yea, but it just takes that one time to forget and then never ever forget again.

sometimes you just get too busy and forget about it.

tekster

now, just send sms can liao. just need to sign up and activate only. really v convenient compared to buying online lo.

s7460597

when you need a transport within 5 mins, then you understand the usefulness of a OPC lo.

There's other downsides to taxis.

- the confusing and expensive surcharges imposed on fares
- not being able to get one when you need one, during shift changing time, rain, just before midnight
- not going where you want to go even if you get one

cscs3

yea, but it just takes that one time to forget and then never ever forget again.

sometimes you just get too busy and forget about it.

Busy is sometime a excuse. You can try to remember it while travelling and enjoy while driving from point A to B !

gentoro

I pity TS, open up a thread - get flame and screw by normal plater and red plater themselves.

Well, for me - i jus pity the TS abd agree with human error. Which is why the enforcement do not enforce mandatory jail sentence for repeat OPC offender... lolz... Good luck and take care, TS!

poor_is_a_sin

I pity TS, open up a thread - get flame and screw by normal plater and red plater themselves.

Well, for me - i jus pity the TS abd agree with human error. Which is why the enforcement do not enforce mandatory jail sentence for repeat OPC offender... lolz... Good luck and take care, TS!

I don't see the need for jail sentence for repeated OPC offender though. Cause I don't think its a criminal offence. But then, cheating ah gong's money is more serious than anything........

poor_is_a_sin

when you need a transport within 5 mins, then you understand the usefulness of a OPC lo.

It depends hor...... If you are not anywhere near your car, its also useless..... Eg. you at work place but your car parked near your house. Thus having car also using. You have to depend on cab.

poor_is_a_sin

Well, sometimes, its whether the person deserve it or not......

Forget is not exactly a good excuse to give cause it shows that you did not put in effort to remember.

kaedetseng

I also pity the TS, I opened a thread last 2 mths back abt same topic, also kanna jia lak from some, although I received some good advice from many bros :) Some dun think they can never ever forget stuff ... but sometimes things happen, and u cannot control them ... wat to do ... I having my court case tomolo for kannaing the 2nd time, pls wish me luck ;)

darkmatt

I also pity the TS, I opened a thread last 2 mths back abt same topic, also kanna jia lak from some, although I received some good advice from many bros :) Some dun think they can never ever forget stuff ... but sometimes things happen, and u cannot control them ... wat to do ... I having my court case tomolo for kannaing the 2nd time, pls wish me luck ;)

let us know the outcome

tekster

There's other downsides to taxis.

- the confusing and expensive surcharges imposed on fares
- not being able to get one when you need one, during shift changing time, rain, just before midnight
- not going where you want to go even if you get one

Yr last sentance damn funny, lol

Rain is probably the most terok.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.