[OFFICIAL] ASUS Eee Laptop 1215B

maisatomai

My 1215 right click super hard to click....

I need to hold 2 second for it to register right click. Is it common?

Ap3s

just gotten 1225B. anyone bought anti glare screen protector? cheap with decent quality. a bit irritated with the reflective screen.

simon_84

just gotten 1225B. anyone bought anti glare screen protector? cheap with decent quality. a bit irritated with the reflective screen.

is the ram slot single channel and soldered to the motherboard ?

Henabi

My 1215 right click super hard to click....

I need to hold 2 second for it to register right click. Is it common?

i don't know mine got this problem or not cuz I always use wireless mouse.
but you may wanna make a trip to their service center...

Henabi

you might wanna make a trip to sim lim... I bought my 1215B to simlim and got the staff there to help me cut the screen protector to the screen size and stick it for me...

plus also got him to help me stick a transparent layer of protective flim around it, even though mine is matte finish but I realized it will still have finger prints on it

simon_84

according to website. it is soldered... 2GB or 4GB... sad sia. :(

samsung one is not soldered but single channel :(
and is hotter than the 1215b :(

1215b seems quite stable in airflow underneath the base of the labtop.

Ap3s

you might wanna make a trip to sim lim... I bought my 1215B to simlim and got the staff there to help me cut the screen protector to the screen size and stick it for me...

plus also got him to help me stick a transparent layer of protective flim around it, even though mine is matte finish but I realized it will still have finger prints on it

That means u have 2 layers of screen protectors? How much? And do u rmb which shop is it? Does it work well?

Henabi

That means u have 2 layers of screen protectors? How much? And do u rmb which shop is it? Does it work well?

no lah...2 layers too much liao >_<

one for my lappie screen.. the other one is the exterior cover of the lappie.

cuz my 1215B is matt black but still a bit "finger-print" magnet without the protective film.
Dunno the shop still there or not... total damage abt 50?!

The guy there also ask if I wanna film the area between my keyboard but I didn't go for it. abt $40 cuz its customized.

WiZaRd!

Hello Guys,

First, I want to apologise if this question has been asked before because it's too time consuming to go through the last 99 thread in this topic.

The question would be:

1) Does 1215B support 8Gig ram? What's the improvement from 2GB.

2) I'm thinking of doing virtualization, I assume it is possible?

3) I'm currently using PC3-10700 (667MHZ) 2 GB ram but the problem is I can't find anywhere in SLS's pricelist selling this except for Fuwell's Kingston DDR3 133 /10600.(Any other shops selling pls advise as well. thanks..) Is that compatible with 10700 with 10600? Should I change all to same type?

4) Should I get 4GB or 8GB?

Any reply/suggestion to the above questions is very much appreciated in advance.. :D Thanks...

Henabi

Hello Guys,

First, I want to apologise if this question has been asked before because it's too time consuming to go through the last 99 thread in this topic.

The question would be:

1) Does 1215B support 8Gig ram? What's the improvement from 2GB.

2) I'm thinking of doing virtualization, I assume it is possible?

3) I'm currently using PC3-10700 (667MHZ) 2 GB ram but the problem is I can't find anywhere in SLS's pricelist selling this except for Fuwell's Kingston DDR3 133 /10600.(Any other shops selling pls advise as well. thanks..) Is that compatible with 10700 with 10600? Should I change all to same type?

4) Should I get 4GB or 8GB?

Any reply/suggestion to the above questions is very much appreciated in advance.. :D Thanks...

only support certain ram models... the model should be available in Amazon.com.

to be honest, the difference isn't much. I only see the difference in 4GB and 8GB when I play game...

Initially, I tested with 8GB but since I not always playing games, I reverted back to 4GB. since I only use it for casual gaming, watch HD video and do work...

spetrillo

AMD Graphics Drivers

Hello all,

I lost my hdd a couple weeks ago, so in going through the process of doing a fresh OS install I encountered something curious and was hoping to see if anyone else had run into this.

As part of the fresh install I installed the 12.6 update set, but after a reboot the graphics were not activated. My system still thought it was plain old VGA. When Microsoft system updates were applied to the new install, prior to the 12.6 install, I explicitly excluded an update from April of 2011 that was basically a stripped down version of the AMD driver set since I was going to install the 12.6 update.

It seems that if I do not install this MS update from 2011 the graphics functions never get activated. The other problem is that if I install the MS update from 2011, and then install the 12.6 update on top of it, then my registry never knows about the updated drivers and thinks it is out of date all the time. How do I know this? Well I run Driveragent from ESupport.com and it tells me this.

In the past Asus used to put out their own bundled driver package. Has this stopped for the 1215B?

Thanks,
Steve

furyoo

whats the latest price for this? sony is selling the new Brazos 2.0 at 699 so hoping there will be good deals

Henabi

whats the latest price for this? sony is selling the new Brazos 2.0 at 699 so hoping there will be good deals

based on the pricing from the June IT Fair.

Asus 1225B was priced at $629

2012pcshow-pg-11.jpg

spetrillo

you wanna try to download from AMD support website individually

AMD Support & Drivers

tbh microsoft sometimes only provide updates for fundamental stuffs.

I tried to do this but the AMD drivers from the website do not register properly. If I look in device manager for the Radeon it tells me the driver date is 4/19/2011 and the version is 8.850.0.0. The updated driver installs complete successfully but there must be something different between the driver that MS Updates puts out vs the AMD drivers.

Steve

guile

Asus is still selling the older E-450. Maybe they'll launch the new Brazos 2.0 in Singapore in the last It show of the year.

kitz79

Hi

Anyone here upgraded your 1215B to Windows 8?

I have done mine and it kept prompting me Missing Asus ACPI Driver. Do you all have any solution to this?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.