*Official* General Market Chit Chat Thread - Part 2

Daimon

Yup yup tdsr and absd enough to stop most ppl.
And ppl seemed to forget that land space in sg is really scarce, crash due to oversupply I hear for these past 2 years but the only thing I see is pent up demand over properties.

Jobless. Unemployment at 10%. Capital outflow.

starfish.starfish

Jobless. Unemployment at 10%. Capital outflow.

Do you see land sales going up or down? That's one way our garmen control supply as well.

You are right, unemployment is a potential issue, but garmen took measures to ensure ppl no longer over leveraged to mitigate some risks there.

Perisher

"US Housing market has never collapse" ~ Banker in 2005

They got cooling measures? US is a good study of the need to prepare for crashes.

Sg housing has never collapse?
It has and that's why there is cooling measures.
It's main function is to curb property prices and prevent crashes.

Or you think cooling measures not enough?

Perisher

Do you see land sales going up or down? That's one way our garmen control supply as well.

You are right, unemployment is a potential issue, but garmen took measures to ensure ppl no longer over leveraged to mitigate some risks there.

Yah, over-leveraging is the real cause of crashes in the US.

OngHuatHuat

Hill view area condo floor area very big.
Those in my area not so big but still larger than new units. :)

the smaller unit (1,000 sq ft) opposite moi unit was selling at S$600K some 8 or 9 yrs ago and now ppl willing to pay S$1m for it even it ish 20+ yr old condo.

most if not all the condos around Hill View areas were selling around S$1M 10 yrs ago now can smelly smelly fetch S$1.5M.

Daimon

They got cooling measures? US is a good study of the need to prepare for crashes.

Sg housing has never collapse?
It has and that's why there is cooling measures.
It's main function is to curb property prices and prevent crashes.

Or you think cooling measures not enough?

In normal circumstances (last 30 years) with free trades, it works.

OngHuatHuat

Have to differentiate Ang mo mindset and Asian mindset.

And need to keep in mind difference between property tax too.

Weaboo

Chinese especially sinkie Chinese has huge savings and are more conservative compared to Ang mohs

But the new gen I don't know lah.

Maeda_Toshiie

The natures of the Singapore housing market and the entire US housing market are different. Singapore is a land scarce city with little room to expand. People can't move from one region to another. Look, Singaporeans are not going to move to Ubin or JB en mass to cause prices to collapse. The US is different. People can move from one area to another, from the city center to the suburbs. Prices in one area can collapse or skyrocket without any financial crisis, just by urban developments.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.