*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

Smallboy96

Exchange is gd cos stay in uni hostel 5wks cost me only <600. That's less than 20 a night.

And u can stay over a mnth. Plus hk not that ex la. Uni food is cheaper also.

But 5digit is too much. I can go Japan x times

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Wahh, so good ah your exchange hostel cheap. I in exchange now @ UK, jin ex even after brexit. Food here, cheapest is subway w/ 1 drink 3 pound if eat out, even school 4.5 pound 1 meal. Everyday cook at home bring sch sia. lucky govt + scholarship funded if not laosai really 5 digit no joke.

Layers

Our parents - Baby boomers scrimp and save to accumulate wealth in the golden era.

Our current yolo generation spend and spend but can afford to because of the wealth inheritance from their parents.

Guess what happen to our children if the current yolo generation are unable to leave a large inheritance behind because of their massive spending?

Insurance agents are preaching payout from insurance as a form of legacy planning ( not those accidental deaths or illness)

Encouraging the yolo gen to spend their wealth away because they have insurance payout to depend on? Just like buffet syndrome in isp with riders?
today mindset is things spoil throw n buy new. Last time anything alao can reoair now have to send back manufacturer. Not worth the afford. Diff times

Layers

Wahh, so good ah your exchange hostel cheap. I in exchange now @ UK, jin ex even after brexit. Food here, cheapest is subway w/ 1 drink 3 pound if eat out, even school 4.5 pound 1 meal. Everyday cook at home bring sch sia. lucky govt + scholarship funded if not laosai really 5 digit no joke.
Wa scholar

yea I look at the diff countries. West is cant afford. hk is cheap enough.

Too bad nv go for Japan 1. Not as ex as the western counter part. Cheaper than going for holiday as u stay for a mnth.

Smallboy96

Last time I dare no go for scholar talk or apply scholarship cos scare cmi in uni. Now that I think of it, shld have applied and served as a motivation.

Hahaha ya I just apply all and go in chit chat with them. But lucky got IE Singapore sponsor abit also. Actually the uni got give stipend, last min say not enuf budget 1000 pound fly away :(.
Come here good for the experience, but wallet prepare kena shoot afew holes.
Kk time to sleep 2am here...

havetheveryfun

Our parents - Baby boomers scrimp and save to accumulate wealth in the golden era.

Our current yolo generation spend and spend but can afford to because of the wealth inheritance from their parents.

Guess what happen to our children if the current yolo generation are unable to leave a large inheritance behind because of their massive spending?

Insurance agents are preaching payout from insurance as a form of legacy planning ( not those accidental deaths or illness)

Encouraging the yolo gen to spend their wealth away because they have insurance payout to depend on? Just like buffet syndrome in isp with riders?

if our current generation just able to retain the wealth from their parents, and only spend what they earn, then no problem for their children...

but not all of the current generation has such good parents too

Pesantkie

if our current generation just able to retain the wealth from their parents, and only spend what they earn, then no problem for their children...

but not all of the current generation has such good parents too

I dont mind if teens work for money and spend the money they have worked.

but spending their parent's money is a no no.

for me I still depend on parent's money but I save about 50-60%

MasterLeong

I also on paper loss at 20k + on pennies , some even halted for quite some time, only hope one day bb will ki siao and pump to new high. Recently shifted to blue chips last year end and luckily i did. Earned back few k so far xD.

I also bth always see my frens post good nice food on fb instagram. Usually i will go jb for my craving. Cheaper and better food. You will realise that it's really ridiculous to spent so much on the food in singapore.

wah... 20k++ on pennies... how u kanna burn until so jialat??????

so u already sold off all the rot and cut losses or put them into cold storage?

MasterLeong

I grew up from a poor family. When young, my dad can only buy 1 packet of chicken rice to share with my bro and this went on till I was 12 years old. In order to save more money, I worked in stationery shop during school holidays since I was 13.

On and off, I worked in many fast food restaurants to earn more. MC Donald, KFC, Burger King, you name it, all I done before. Because I was young, I got all the weird hours like closing which nobody wants to work because by the time we are ready to go home, there's no more public transport.

I remembered walking 7 bus stop to get home in order to save taxi fares on numerous occasions. It wasn't easy to get back to sleep after all the sweating and a hard day's work but there's not much choice for me then.

I paid through university on my own and save whatever I can. I did have the occasional drinks with friends but it was always someone's birthday celebration. I always celebrate with my family as I don't believe on splurging to be glamorous when I'm still not financially free. A small cake and mum's home cook dinner is enough to make me happy.

Fast forward, I managed to get a small apartment and rent out for passive income. Together with a small side business, my stock portfolio, and the rental income, I now have close to $5k passive monthly income. However, I'm still working as I would like to grow more income for the future. Maybe I will retire when I reach 50.

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for. 😁😁

RESPECT MAX!!!!

SALUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MasterLeong

But wondering, is it still possible to get REITs? :/

yup I feel that CMT at $2 or less still decent, current yield is like 5.5% still normal

FCT yield is around 5.9% still decent

both of them I would say $2 or lower is okay to jiak if u can hold for long term, bet on shopping malls to continue doing well

Maeda_Toshiie

I don't rmb paying so much even for my 6 mth IA in Aust.

When you were doing your industrial attachment (before or after graduation?), shouldn't you be paid a a small sum of money? That should help offset part of your living expenses.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.