*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

orhanzi

few thousand o

but now slowly clear off le due to the portflio i having now

everyday jiak roti those red bean 1 6 pcs :( ai ki siao liao i feed meow meow also dont wan to eat

i see my friends always jiak ho liao moi cannot bring myself to do it

i think die also bo 300k+ at most 50k when i die lol

I also on paper loss at 20k + on pennies , some even halted for quite some time, only hope one day bb will ki siao and pump to new high. Recently shifted to blue chips last year end and luckily i did. Earned back few k so far xD.

I also bth always see my frens post good nice food on fb instagram. Usually i will go jb for my craving. Cheaper and better food. You will realise that it's really ridiculous to spent so much on the food in singapore.

DamienK

My job require me to deal with lots of strawberry generation. Feel like slapping them most of the time. :vijayadmin:

They should read this... pruss huan to you :s12:

I grew up from a poor family. When young, my dad can only buy 1 packet of chicken rice to share with my bro and this went on till I was 12 years old. In order to save more money, I worked in stationery shop during school holidays since I was 13.

On and off, I worked in many fast food restaurants to earn more. MC Donald, KFC, Burger King, you name it, all I done before. Because I was young, I got all the weird hours like closing which nobody wants to work because by the time we are ready to go home, there's no more public transport.

I remembered walking 7 bus stop to get home in order to save taxi fares on numerous occasions. It wasn't easy to get back to sleep after all the sweating and a hard day's work but there's not much choice for me then.

I paid through university on my own and save whatever I can. I did have the occasional drinks with friends but it was always someone's birthday celebration. I always celebrate with my family as I don't believe on splurging to be glamorous when I'm still not financially free. A small cake and mum's home cook dinner is enough to make me happy.

Fast forward, I managed to get a small apartment and rent out for passive income. Together with a small side business, my stock portfolio, and the rental income, I now have close to $5k passive monthly income. However, I'm still working as I would like to grow more income for the future. Maybe I will retire when I reach 50.

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for. 😁😁

Asphodeli

lol slowly lor

maybe in future remember that portfolio management is like building a house

should always make the base solid first with some blue chips... after that maybe can put mid caps and lastly if really too much money then hoot penny stocks lol , just kidding

golden post!

madtari

Fully agreed! By stroke of luck, my current pay at age 35 is triple that when I just started working as a fresh grad at 27! This has certainly helped a lot in enabling me to slowly accumulate my war chest! :s12::)
Again, at the risk of sounding like a broken record: developing yourself and your career is more important than squeezing yield from your portfolio.

Unless you have a pile of cash given to you by someone else, you need to earn your own pile of cash. You need a career and paycheck to build that pile of cash. The stock market won't.

I don't know what your personal circumstances are, but I think you ought to look into how you can improve your "hireability" through some if not all of the following: a) qualifications, b) skill sets, c) work experience, d) network within the industry that you want to build a career in.

Asphodeli

not really yolo. But nv really tot abt managing $ for retirement, etc

Can see them go holiday more than 1 a yr. Splurge on friend birthday. jsk

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

holiday on occasion 1 or 2 times a year still ok, depending on whether you enjoy travelling or find SG stressful or not. Splurging on a friend's birthday is quite silly, though.

Genosis

Again, at the risk of sounding like a broken record: developing yourself and your career is more important than squeezing yield from your portfolio.

Unless you have a pile of cash given to you by someone else, you need to earn your own pile of cash. You need a career and paycheck to build that pile of cash. The stock market won't.

I don't know what your personal circumstances are, but I think you ought to look into how you can improve your "hireability" through some if not all of the following: a) qualifications, b) skill sets, c) work experience, d) network within the industry that you want to build a career in.

Well said...

Work. Save. Invest.

Rinse and repeat!!!:D

The higher ur salary, the more u can save, the more u can invest and the faster u can accumulate wealth...

madtari

Usually school should be subsidizing part of it... and the rest is funded by parents... these kind of exchange is beneficial in beefing up your CV as you have exposure to foreign country and culture. I did my 6mth IA in Brisbane University of Queensland when I was in Poly... this certainly boosted my chance in getting myself a place in Uni later on... partly also bcos the selection process is stringent, only those with good grades & qualities such as independence & mature mindset will be selected. So this really helps a lot in beefing your CV for higher studies or your 1st job. :)
I see my friends go exchange to other places each sem 5 digit sums fly away wtf that one dunno how they get the money one all so yolo satki

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

lewissac

Usually school should be subsidizing part of it... and the rest is funded by parents... these kind of exchange is beneficial in beefing up your CV as you have exposure to foreign country and culture. I did my 6mth IA in Brisbane University of Queensland when I was in Poly... this certainly boosted my chance in getting myself a place in Uni later on... partly also bcos the selection process is stringent, only those with good grades & qualities such as independence & mature mindset will be selected. So this really helps a lot in beefing your CV for higher studies or your 1st job. :)

exchange 5-digit sum just to get a placement in good uni; which then fork out another 5-digit sum to study in the uni? :eek:

Pesantkie

I grew up from a poor family. When young, my dad can only buy 1 packet of chicken rice to share with my bro and this went on till I was 12 years old. In order to save more money, I worked in stationery shop during school holidays since I was 13.

On and off, I worked in many fast food restaurants to earn more. MC Donald, KFC, Burger King, you name it, all I done before. Because I was young, I got all the weird hours like closing which nobody wants to work because by the time we are ready to go home, there's no more public transport.

I remembered walking 7 bus stop to get home in order to save taxi fares on numerous occasions. It wasn't easy to get back to sleep after all the sweating and a hard day's work but there's not much choice for me then.

I paid through university on my own and save whatever I can. I did have the occasional drinks with friends but it was always someone's birthday celebration. I always celebrate with my family as I don't believe on splurging to be glamorous when I'm still not financially free. A small cake and mum's home cook dinner is enough to make me happy.

Fast forward, I managed to get a small apartment and rent out for passive income. Together with a small side business, my stock portfolio, and the rental income, I now have close to $5k passive monthly income. However, I'm still working as I would like to grow more income for the future. Maybe I will retire when I reach 50.

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for. 😁😁

respect 👍🏻. if you compare your story to what teens are doing. I really have no face to look (because I am a teen too)

Layers

Eh, going holiday while you are young is definitely gonna be different to when you are old and have a family etc...

There are things you can't do when you are older or with a family. :o

If time were to rewind, I would still go to Iceland in a heartbeat.
:s12:

$$ only means so much.

But yes, make sure you are not risking your retirement plans to yolo.
but holiday cost alot. Take up 1/3 of a yr savings

The damage. Unless go Malaysia haha

neolaw

SH boat gone
Reits telco banks boat all gone

Only boat left at port is CDG

I got friend tell me that he use grabcar
First 7 rides all discount $7
Take $9 ride pay $2 nia... is it true?

Pay $2 to grab.

Gtab pay $9 to driver.

Driver pay $100+ to cdg.

lol slowly lor

maybe in future remember that portfolio management is like building a house

should always make the base solid first with some blue chips... after that maybe can put mid caps and lastly if really too much money then hoot penny stocks lol , just kidding

Buy blue chips with dividends. 10-20 yrs all freehold and just in time for retirement. AWESOME!!!:D:D:D

Layers

Every year I usually go holiday once every 3 mths; short getaway like 3D2N or 4D3N. There's nothing wrong to splurge on those though I won't spend more than $400 per getaway inclusive flight and hotel.
so cheap. Sic place. Just go resort relax only?
I also on paper loss at 20k + on pennies , some even halted for quite some time, only hope one day bb will ki siao and pump to new high. Recently shifted to blue chips last year end and luckily i did. Earned back few k so far xD.

I also bth always see my frens post good nice food on fb instagram. Usually i will go jb for my craving. Cheaper and better food. You will realise that it's really ridiculous to spent so much on the food in singapore.
Sometimes it's hard to save when gather with friends often. And every now n then eat good food haha.

Once a while ok la but also ex ex
I see my friends go exchange to other places each sem 5 digit sums fly away wtf that one dunno how they get the money one all so yolo satki

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT
Exchange is gd cos stay in uni hostel 5wks cost me only <600. That's less than 20 a night.

And u can stay over a mnth. Plus hk not that ex la. Uni food is cheaper also.

But 5digit is too much. I can go Japan x times

akwl88

Our parents - Baby boomers scrimp and save to accumulate wealth in the golden era.

Our current yolo generation spend and spend but can afford to because of the wealth inheritance from their parents.

Guess what happen to our children if the current yolo generation are unable to leave a large inheritance behind because of their massive spending?

Insurance agents are preaching payout from insurance as a form of legacy planning ( not those accidental deaths or illness)

Encouraging the yolo gen to spend their wealth away because they have insurance payout to depend on? Just like buffet syndrome in isp with riders?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.