*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

How come warren buffett can buy stocks at 11 but Singaporean cannot? Is it government hindering our progress to wealth? :D :D :D

Note: this is a joke post.

yihao93

How come warren buffett can buy stocks at 11 but Singaporean cannot? Is it government hindering our progress to wealth? :D :D :D

Note: this is a joke post.

Ur kid also can buy at 11
Thru u Loh :s13:

When there's a will, there's a way !!

Maeda_Toshiie

i dun think i can retired sia :(

Again, at the risk of sounding like a broken record: developing yourself and your career is more important than squeezing yield from your portfolio.

Unless you have a pile of cash given to you by someone else, you need to earn your own pile of cash. You need a career and paycheck to build that pile of cash. The stock market won't.

I don't know what your personal circumstances are, but I think you ought to look into how you can improve your "hireability" through some if not all of the following: a) qualifications, b) skill sets, c) work experience, d) network within the industry that you want to build a career in.

Smallboy96

Again, at the risk of sounding like a broken record: developing yourself and your career is more important than squeezing yield from your portfolio.

Unless you have a pile of cash given to you by someone else, you need to earn your own pile of cash. You need a career and paycheck to build that pile of cash. The stock market won't.

I don't know what your personal circumstances are, but I think you ought to look into how you can improve your "hireability" through some if not all of the following: a) qualifications, b) skill sets, c) work experience, d) network within the industry that you want to build a career in.

I cannot agree with this more. I took up a few jobs just to learn skills. Like it show promoter, learning how to talk as I'm a huge introvert. Also got free time, work different jobs chiong $$ can easily save up with minimal spending. Still young start now dam good. Little things that really need to spend on.

EvilPaladin

lol slowly lor

maybe in future remember that portfolio management is like building a house

should always make the base solid first with some blue chips... after that maybe can put mid caps and lastly if really too much money then hoot penny stocks lol , just kidding

Actually this is good advice. I like this

I cannot agree with this more. I took up a few jobs just to learn skills. Like it show promoter, learning how to talk as I'm a huge introvert. Also got free time, work different jobs chiong $$ can easily save up with minimal spending. Still young start now dam good. Little things that really need to spend on.

I grew up from a poor family. When young, my dad can only buy 1 packet of chicken rice to share with my bro and this went on till I was 12 years old. In order to save more money, I worked in stationery shop during school holidays since I was 13.

On and off, I worked in many fast food restaurants to earn more. MC Donald, KFC, Burger King, you name it, all I done before. Because I was young, I got all the weird hours like closing which nobody wants to work because by the time we are ready to go home, there's no more public transport.

I remembered walking 7 bus stop to get home in order to save taxi fares on numerous occasions. It wasn't easy to get back to sleep after all the sweating and a hard day's work but there's not much choice for me then.

I paid through university on my own and save whatever I can. I did have the occasional drinks with friends but it was always someone's birthday celebration. I always celebrate with my family as I don't believe on splurging to be glamorous when I'm still not financially free. A small cake and mum's home cook dinner is enough to make me happy.

Fast forward, I managed to get a small apartment and rent out for passive income. Together with a small side business, my stock portfolio, and the rental income, I now have close to $5k passive monthly income. However, I'm still working as I would like to grow more income for the future. Maybe I will retire when I reach 50.

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for. 😁😁

Perisher

I grew up from a poor family. When young, my dad can only buy 1 packet of chicken rice to share with my bro and this went on till I was 12 years old. In order to save more money, I worked in stationery shop during school holidays since I was 13.

On and off, I worked in many fast food restaurants to earn more. MC Donald, KFC, Burger King, you name it, all I done before. Because I was young, I got all the weird hours like closing which nobody wants to work because by the time we are ready to go home, there's no more public transport.

I remembered walking 7 bus stop to get home in order to save on taxi fares on numerous occasions. It wasn't easy to get back to sleep after all the sweating and a hard day's work but there's not much choice for me then.

I paid through university on my own and save whatever I can. I did have the occasional drinks with friends but it was always someone's birthday celebration. I always celebrate with my family as I don't believe on splurging to be glamorous when I'm still not financially free. A small cake and mum's home cook dinner is enough to make me happy.

Fast forward, I managed to get a small apartment and rent out for passive income. Together with a small side business, my stock portfolio, and the rental income, I now have close to $5k passive monthly income. However, I'm still working as I would like to grow more income for the future. Maybe I will retire when I reach 50.

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for. 😁😁

We have similar beginnings. ;)
Hope I can have as much passive income as you.

We have similar beginnings. ;)
Hope I can have as much passive income as you.

I'm sure you will be able to do it. I always drew inspiration from AK71 when the going get tough. If I'm not wrong, he was a MOE teacher and teach tuition to get extra income.

Mr.Canberra

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for.

Thank you for sharing your life story. Very inspiring.

These days the younger generation look for instant gratification. Not many will have the suffer first, enjoy later (先苦后甜) mentality. :s13:

Thank you for sharing your life story. Very inspiring.

These days the younger generation look for instant gratification. Not many will have the suffer first, enjoy later (先苦后甜) mentality. :s13:

Yes, partly because everything was provided for them by over protective parents and they never learn how to fish. Last time where got such thing; if you can't study, out you go to work. If want to study more must ownself pay for it. Time really change. For good or worse, nobody knows.

Perisher

not really yolo. But nv really tot abt managing $ for retirement, etc

Can see them go holiday more than 1 a yr. Splurge on friend birthday. jsk

Eh, going holiday while you are young is definitely gonna be different to when you are old and have a family etc...

There are things you can't do when you are older or with a family. :o

If time were to rewind, I would still go to Iceland in a heartbeat.
:s12:

$$ only means so much.

But yes, make sure you are not risking your retirement plans to yolo.

Mr.Canberra

Yes, partly because everything was provided for them by over protective parents and they never learn how to fish. Last time where got such thing; if you can't study, out you go to work. If want to study more must ownself pay for it. Time really change. For good or worse, nobody knows.

Let these youngsters try working in fast food restaurants with S$1.90/Hour slave wages and see if they value every dollar they earn or not. :s13:

Eh, going holiday while you are young is definitely gonna be different to when you are old and have a family etc...

There are things you can't do when you are older or with a family. :o

If time were to rewind, I would still go to Iceland in a heartbeat.
:s12:

$$ only means so much.

But yes, make sure you are not risking your retirement plans to yolo.

Yes it is true that the experience is priceless when traveling during younger years as compared to when you are tied down with kids.

You can still go for a nice annual vacation without affecting retirement and investment plans by setting a round no for big ticket expenses. Which means you need to adjust daily lifestyle habits for cost control.

If one prefers to carry on with free spending YOLO lifestyle plus expensive vacations annually then can forget about retiring early and soundly.

Anyway want to YOLO or plan early for retirement is up to individual. Whichever way they choose only they themselves can answer this question when they are old whether they have made the right or wrong choice.

Frankly speaking I never plan for any retirement funds. My CPF not much money inside also hahaha. It is just that I get a kick when I accumulate wealth. Just like a drug addict chasing the next high! Turns out this is a good habit in disguise. :D

lewissac

I every yr holiday 1 big 1 small leh..u lidat say i jin sad

Every year I usually go holiday once every 3 mths; short getaway like 3D2N or 4D3N. There's nothing wrong to splurge on those though I won't spend more than $400 per getaway inclusive flight and hotel.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.