*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

MasterLeong

few thousand o

but now slowly clear off le due to the portflio i having now

everyday jiak roti those red bean 1 6 pcs :( ai ki siao liao i feed meow meow also dont wan to eat

i see my friends always jiak ho liao moi cannot bring myself to do it

i think die also bo 300k+ at most 50k when i die lol

what is your target portfolio? I think to hit 300k in 10 years is very possible if u save and invest enough

your few k trading losses, just write it off ba... learn from the past mistake...

MasterLeong

well i had warned many times
the dangers of playing speculative stocks with NO TRACK RECORD

TOP STORIES
CNMC Goldmine says expects to post net loss in 4Q
By Jude Chan / theedgemarkets.com.sg | January 13, 2017 : 5:33 PM MYT
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Translated by Google Translator:
Select Language*▼
SINGAPORE (Jan 13): CNMC Goldmine Holdings on Friday announced it expects to report a net loss for the quarter ended Dec 31, 2016.

In a profit guidance filing on SGX, CNMC says this is mainly due to unrealised foreign exchange losses due to the depreciation of the ringgit against the US dollar, as well as a decline in revenue as a result of lower ore grades.

Despite the 4Q loss, CNMC expects to be profitable for FY2016.

CNMC Goldmine closed half a cent lower at 44.5 cents on Friday.

Retireready

MasterLeong, is MapleTree Logistics trust under your radar? They are tied up with Amazon for office rental in 2017. Good to hold?

MasterLeong

example of trap, even for a blue chip... I think that within 5 years time HPH, SPH and YZJ will all be kicked out of STI 30

TOP STORIES
Results
SPH 1Q earnings down 44% to $46 mil
By Jude Chan / theedgemarkets.com.sg | January 13, 2017 : 7:02 PM MYT
Select Language*▼
SINGAPORE (Jan 13): Media and property group Singapore Press Holdings posted earnings of $45.8 million in 1Q17 ended Nov 30, 2016, a decline of 43.8% from earnings of $81.3 million a year ago.

This was mainly attributed to a 28.5% drop in operating profit to $70.8 million.

In an SGX filing on Friday, SPH says this was due to charges of $15.9 million arising from the media business review and impairment of an associate. Excluding the charges, operating profit would have declined by 12.4%.

The charges incurred include $7.2 million of retrenchment and outplacement benefits as part of an ongoing group-wide right-sizing exercise involving a staff reduction of up to 10% over two years.

SPH’s 1Q operating revenue fell 6% to $278.3 million, led by a 9.5% decline in profits of its media business, which fell to $201.9 million from $223.0 million a year ago.

The decline in revenue from its media business was mainly due to a 13.5% drop in advertising revenue, and partly mitigated by a 1.8% increase in circulation revenue in 1Q.

SPH’s property segment held steady, with revenue up 1.3% to $60.5 million, while the group’s other businesses grew 17.9% to $15.9 million on the back of higher contributed from the exhibitions business.

In addition, SPH in 1Q saw a net loss from investments of $1.8 million, compared to a net gain of $10.3 million a year ago. This was mainly due to a fair value loss on forward hedges for portfolio investments.

Cash and cash equivalents stood at $405.4 million as at Nov 30, 2016.

“Having completed our comprehensive business review in October 2016, we are forging ahead with our transformative agenda to strengthen the group’s position in an increasingly tough economic and media environment,” says SPH CEO Alan Chan.

“We will focus on continued innovation and investment in the media business to stay ahead and stay relevant, improve cost efficiency with a leaner organisation and wage restraint measures, and grow business adjacencies to diversify revenue streams,” Chan adds.

SPH closed 4 cents higher at $3.69 on Friday.

MasterLeong

MasterLeong, is MapleTree Logistics trust under your radar? They are tied up with Amazon for office rental in 2017. Good to hold?

well... I am currently bearish on industrial/logistical assets as singapore is moving away from industrial economy already

I prefer to put my $$$ in the 4 core segments of singapore's future
Banking
Technology
Healthcare/Medical
Tourism

Retireready

Ok, listen to you

well... I am currently bearish on industrial/logistical assets as singapore is moving away from industrial economy already

I prefer to put my $$$ in the 4 core segments of singapore's future
Banking
Technology
Healthcare/Medical
Tourism

Maeda_Toshiie

I grew up from a poor family. When young, my dad can only buy 1 packet of chicken rice to share with my bro and this went on till I was 12 years old. In order to save more money, I worked in stationery shop during school holidays since I was 13.

On and off, I worked in many fast food restaurants to earn more. MC Donald, KFC, Burger King, you name it, all I done before. Because I was young, I got all the weird hours like closing which nobody wants to work because by the time we are ready to go home, there's no more public transport.

I remembered walking 7 bus stop to get home in order to save taxi fares on numerous occasions. It wasn't easy to get back to sleep after all the sweating and a hard day's work but there's not much choice for me then.

I paid through university on my own and save whatever I can. I did have the occasional drinks with friends but it was always someone's birthday celebration. I always celebrate with my family as I don't believe on splurging to be glamorous when I'm still not financially free. A small cake and mum's home cook dinner is enough to make me happy.

Fast forward, I managed to get a small apartment and rent out for passive income. Together with a small side business, my stock portfolio, and the rental income, I now have close to $5k passive monthly income. However, I'm still working as I would like to grow more income for the future. Maybe I will retire when I reach 50.

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for. 😁😁

That is really good. Hard earned money will be treasured.

One thing though, the next 50 years for SG may not be as bright as the last 50 years. Many were carried upwards by the rapid development in the yesteryears. Life will be more uncertain for at least the near term, if not longer. The rich poor gap is large and may grow even larger. Social mobility can worsen (there are signs*). Those higher up the economic ladder will be better off, while those who aspire to climb higher will find the rungs getting more and more slippery.

* One way to fight social mobility is through public education. However, how would it help when the wealthy can pump in resources to ensure that their children go to the best schools and get all the tuition that lower income families cannot afford?

MasterLeong

http://www.mapletreelogisticstrust.com/Asset-Portfolio/Portfolio-Overview.aspx

on the positive note is that MLT is very diversified as they have asset from many countries, their sponsor is also very reputable and has a good track record

http://www.sharesinv.com/M44U/

at 15% discount to book, along with a 7% dividend yield I certainly feel MLT is a good buy for sure if u want exposure to this segment

in short I am positive on the stock, but negative on the segment... if u get what I mean

currently if you look at my 5 tiger general picks... I tend to focus on top quality retail and office assets that are mainly based in singapore... as the economy is growing very slowly.. I just holding these assets to receive around 6% dividends on cost...with an expectation of 3% long term growth in NAV and DPU

yihao93

example of trap, even for a blue chip... I think that within 5 years time HPH, SPH and YZJ will all be kicked out of STI 30

TOP STORIES
Results
SPH 1Q earnings down 44% to $46 mil
By Jude Chan / theedgemarkets.com.sg | January 13, 2017 : 7:02 PM MYT
Select Language*▼
SINGAPORE (Jan 13): Media and property group Singapore Press Holdings posted earnings of $45.8 million in 1Q17 ended Nov 30, 2016, a decline of 43.8% from earnings of $81.3 million a year ago.

This was mainly attributed to a 28.5% drop in operating profit to $70.8 million.

In an SGX filing on Friday, SPH says this was due to charges of $15.9 million arising from the media business review and impairment of an associate. Excluding the charges, operating profit would have declined by 12.4%.

The charges incurred include $7.2 million of retrenchment and outplacement benefits as part of an ongoing group-wide right-sizing exercise involving a staff reduction of up to 10% over two years.

SPH’s 1Q operating revenue fell 6% to $278.3 million, led by a 9.5% decline in profits of its media business, which fell to $201.9 million from $223.0 million a year ago.

The decline in revenue from its media business was mainly due to a 13.5% drop in advertising revenue, and partly mitigated by a 1.8% increase in circulation revenue in 1Q.

SPH’s property segment held steady, with revenue up 1.3% to $60.5 million, while the group’s other businesses grew 17.9% to $15.9 million on the back of higher contributed from the exhibitions business.

In addition, SPH in 1Q saw a net loss from investments of $1.8 million, compared to a net gain of $10.3 million a year ago. This was mainly due to a fair value loss on forward hedges for portfolio investments.

Cash and cash equivalents stood at $405.4 million as at Nov 30, 2016.

“Having completed our comprehensive business review in October 2016, we are forging ahead with our transformative agenda to strengthen the group’s position in an increasingly tough economic and media environment,” says SPH CEO Alan Chan.

“We will focus on continued innovation and investment in the media business to stay ahead and stay relevant, improve cost efficiency with a leaner organisation and wage restraint measures, and grow business adjacencies to diversify revenue streams,” Chan adds.

SPH closed 4 cents higher at $3.69 on Friday.

Earning down still close higher
Jsk

Maeda_Toshiie

That time is YOLO backpack 3D2N to BKK. Booked tix 9 mths ago, stay in hostel shared with 3 other backpackers. Explored Maekhlong, Ampawa by minibus and songthaew. Best time of my life. :s12:

I thought backpack and stay at Sai Yok Camp. :D

dolph001

very sad to say, i think some newbies lost like 4 figures on mining stock haizzzz gg max

but the cold hard truth is, sometimes after kanna burn from penny stock liao then they learn more appreciate blue chips more

newbies don't know which are penny stocks.

eg When Blumont at $2; price is not penny, market cap also no penny.

MasterLeong

newbies don't know which are penny stocks.

eg When Blumont at $2; price is not penny, market cap also no penny.

Yup, newbies a lot blur blur one
But good thing now got many threads
Got penny speculative thread also
So they choose the path they wanna take hahaha

Layers

Hahaha ya I just apply all and go in chit chat with them. But lucky got IE Singapore sponsor abit also. Actually the uni got give stipend, last min say not enuf budget 1000 pound fly away :(.
Come here good for the experience, but wallet prepare kena shoot afew holes.
Kk time to sleep 2am here...
wa u at exchange now?
+1, Have Faith. never Give up!
0.01% chance is still a chance. :s12::s12:
Hoot toto ahh

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

iiGoldfish

yup I feel that CMT at $2 or less still decent, current yield is like 5.5% still normal

FCT yield is around 5.9% still decent

both of them I would say $2 or lower is okay to jiak if u can hold for long term, bet on shopping malls to continue doing well

But considering Singapore's economy not really doing so well now, why do you think that they will do well? Sorry if I ask too much but I wish to understand some of your thinking. :)

Retireready

👍 thank you for your time! If this forum got something that can add your points or what I sure spam 😂

http://www.mapletreelogisticstrust.com/Asset-Portfolio/Portfolio-Overview.aspx

on the positive note is that MLT is very diversified as they have asset from many countries, their sponsor is also very reputable and has a good track record

http://www.sharesinv.com/M44U/

at 15% discount to book, along with a 7% dividend yield I certainly feel MLT is a good buy for sure if u want exposure to this segment

in short I am positive on the stock, but negative on the segment... if u get what I mean

currently if you look at my 5 tiger general picks... I tend to focus on top quality retail and office assets that are mainly based in singapore... as the economy is growing very slowly.. I just holding these assets to receive around 6% dividends on cost...with an expectation of 3% long term growth in NAV and DPU

Pesantkie

But considering Singapore's economy not really doing so well now, why do you think that they will do well? Sorry if I ask too much but I wish to understand some of your thinking. :)

auntie needs to go shopping mall to eat and shop at ntuc/giant

teens need to go shoppin mall to shop for clothes (example H&M, uniqlo, cotton on, zara, forever 21). they also need to eat at high class restaurant (famous korean sushi, din tai fung, fast food restaurants)

if management brings in more clothing shops that are popular among teens, then shopping mall won't die ahh

not all aunties or uncles know how to do online shopping

for example like my mom, use iphone for a year still need to ask for help on how to delete sms.

they really dont trust online shopping as they think that one will be cheated

ray1987

Wow you are an inspiration!!

I grew up from a poor family. When young, my dad can only buy 1 packet of chicken rice to share with my bro and this went on till I was 12 years old. In order to save more money, I worked in stationery shop during school holidays since I was 13.

On and off, I worked in many fast food restaurants to earn more. MC Donald, KFC, Burger King, you name it, all I done before. Because I was young, I got all the weird hours like closing which nobody wants to work because by the time we are ready to go home, there's no more public transport.

I remembered walking 7 bus stop to get home in order to save taxi fares on numerous occasions. It wasn't easy to get back to sleep after all the sweating and a hard day's work but there's not much choice for me then.

I paid through university on my own and save whatever I can. I did have the occasional drinks with friends but it was always someone's birthday celebration. I always celebrate with my family as I don't believe on splurging to be glamorous when I'm still not financially free. A small cake and mum's home cook dinner is enough to make me happy.

Fast forward, I managed to get a small apartment and rent out for passive income. Together with a small side business, my stock portfolio, and the rental income, I now have close to $5k passive monthly income. However, I'm still working as I would like to grow more income for the future. Maybe I will retire when I reach 50.

Always remember, nobody owns you a living and as long as you put your mind and heart into it, it will pay off. Always believe in delay gratification and the day will come for you to enjoy the lifestyle that you yearning for. 😁😁

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.