*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

Retireready

Hahaha alright, be more positive first, never say never. Regardless Jia you! We are all in this rat race together :)

i agree but for me now, i prefer a non-sales job. I'm not one who can be very outspoken yet pleasing to the other party. Instead of a sale, i think will end up bad.

Takodoro

I am considering signing up for one and to learn how to prepare a resume that fits the job. I do agree that my strategy is wrong, I will look to change it.

Contrary to what fellow SSI said. Mass sending resume is the right way to go. It is the way you conduct yourself with interviewers that matter most.

This may sounds cliche, but think deeply about how you want to answer these questions:

1) Tell me more about yourself.
2) What are you looking for in the job?
3) Where do you see yourself in 3/5 years time.
4) Why do you choose us as the company.

Lastly, your capabilities and experience do matter. Try to learn fast, work smart and PLP well.

Retireready

Ya Lor, in this harsh environment. Ren Yuan is very important, if your performance good but your Ren Yuan Chui most probably u also stucked

lewissac

No la bro, now fresh grad starting pay 1.8k really can Jiak Sai Sia. 10years ago and 10years now diff, inflation lol.

Seriously, can't survive with $1440 (after CPF)?
Parents allowance: $500
Meal: $300
Utilities (Gas, electricity): $250
Telco: $100
Invest/ Personal Expenses: $290

Just a rough estimate.

MasterLeong

Contrary to what fellow SSI said. Mass sending resume is the right way to go. It is the way you conduct yourself with interviewers that matter most.

This may sounds cliche, but think deeply about how you want to answer these questions:

Lastly, your capabilities and experience do matter. Try to learn fast, work smart and PLP well.

I guess at the end of the day no right no wrong, really see your style ba

some people want job asap, mass send and fast fast get, not picky, its fine

for me I was very specific... when i graduated with my degree I knew my passion was for stocks... i die die only wanted a job related to stocks... end up I snipe and only apply narrowing and managed to get a position as an equities dealer, signing a 2 year bond

my starting salary at that time was 2.5k... even if they offered me 1.5k or 2k I would had taken it too... I just wanted to learn more about the market and get as close to the market as possible... i wanted the experience, not the money

cheers

thenakedshades

My first job I was requesting for $1600.00 as lab. tech with a Degree back 10 years ago. I slowly climb up as together with experience.

For now, I believe starting very basic pay should be $1800.00. So it's doable. It's a matter of expenses and understanding the differences between "want" and "need".

hahaha bro, 10 years ago leh!! now times are different uh. if starting pay is $1800, means take home is about $1500 there about? Basic expenses and also saving will be very difficult to achieve. I don't usually spend alot when I go out to eat or with gf. But we are currently saving for house now.

lewissac

hahaha bro, 10 years ago leh!! now times are different uh. if starting pay is $1800, means take home is about $1500 there about? Basic expenses and also saving will be very difficult to achieve. I don't usually spend alot when I go out to eat or with gf. But we are currently saving for house now.

There's your major expenses. LOL. :s13:

Anyway, it saves alot if you cook yourself. Healthier sum more.

thenakedshades

see how u do it lor

for me, i try to keep my expenses very low at 1k per month

i started off as a full time investor in 2012 with 200k portfolio

average one year make around 10% returns which is 20k

12k goes to cover my expenses, 8k balance used to re invest and grow my portfolio

basically in short I was self employed but making and spending 1k per month nia

eat bread eat maggie mee... follow my dream to become a full time investor

I dont spend alot as well, but also because now I am still living under my parents' roof so like living expense can be controlled.

But bro, how do you assemble $200k size to invest? I am sure you shared alot of times but ps, the thread move too fast, no time to catch up.

but bro, follow your dream is right, but cannot be at the expense of your health. Later got alot of money but no life to enjoy eh.

MasterLeong

if can, try to stay with parents... you can save a lot more by staying with parents

see what u want in life

apply hdb, get married, wedding , honey moon, take photo, renovation etc... financial freedom becomes far away

many who marry early like 25ish get into a lot of debt, but if that is happiness to you then go for it

I choose to get financial freedom first then try get married at around 40 if I can

no right no wrong, see what you want

but if take my path, many will shoot me and say I am wrong... have to ignore the noise all the years

thenakedshades

There's your major expenses. LOL. :s13:

Anyway, it saves alot if you cook yourself. Healthier sum more.

no eh, we are the kind that don't like to spend alot. When we go out, we usually eat hawker and mostly window shopping. Even if we wanna watch movies, we will go JB to watch or online uh.

Nowadays people my age (20+) can afford to go eat cafe/restaurants every week. Drink starbucks till gold card, i cannot sia. To me, is a waste of money.

MasterLeong

I dont spend alot as well, but also because now I am still living under my parents' roof so like living expense can be controlled.

But bro, how do you assemble $200k size to invest? I am sure you shared alot of times but ps, the thread move too fast, no time to catch up.

but bro, follow your dream is right, but cannot be at the expense of your health. Later got alot of money but no life to enjoy eh.

been a competitive card gamer and national representive since age 13

from magic card move on to online poker then to stocks

magic my life time winnings around 20k
online poker my life time winnings around 300k over 8 years

magic paid for my degree and online poker helped build up the capital for my stock portfolio

be it magic poker or stocks, their basic is very similar... all about maths and psychology

thats about it, cheers

thenakedshades

Seriously, can't survive with $1440 (after CPF)?
Parents allowance: $500
Meal: $300
Utilities (Gas, electricity): $250
Telco: $100
Invest/ Personal Expenses: $290

Just a rough estimate.

I'm thinking for a start, parents allowance about 10-15% of my net pay.

Meals - there about.
Telco - currently i'm on $30/month plan and in the years to come, i think prices will be the same with higher data plan.

lewissac

if can, try to stay with parents... you can save a lot more by staying with parents

see what u want in life

apply hdb, get married, wedding , honey moon, take photo, renovation etc... financial freedom becomes far away

many who marry early like 25ish get into a lot of debt, but if that is happiness to you then go for it

I choose to get financial freedom first then try get married at around 40 if I can

but if take my path, many will shoot me and say I am wrong... have to ignore the noise all the years

No wonder I still single. Chio bu reject me maybe because I nv show my bank/CPF/CDP account? :(

thenakedshades

True, but alot of times right, how many of them actually got back to us for even an interview.

I'm not expecting the resume to get me a job, just a chance to be invited down for an interview.

MasterLeong

no eh, we are the kind that don't like to spend alot. When we go out, we usually eat hawker and mostly window shopping. Even if we wanna watch movies, we will go JB to watch or online uh.

Nowadays people my age (20+) can afford to go eat cafe/restaurants every week. Drink starbucks till gold card, i cannot sia. To me, is a waste of money.

nowadays many youngsters living the flashy rich life / yolo life

holidays, hippy resturants, branded goods... all post gao gao on social media

inside bank zero dollars, some even with a lot of credit card debt

cold hard truths

lewissac

I'm thinking for a start, parents allowance about 10-15% of my net pay.

Meals - there about.
Telco - currently i'm on $30/month plan and in the years to come, i think prices will be the same with higher data plan.

If you stay with parents, just combine the meal and the parents allowance. Parents usually don't mind cook for their kids (in fact they love it). Looking at that I believe you can save at least 400-450 per mth if you're decently ok with expenses.

thenakedshades

see what u want in life

Luckily my future wife to be is very frugal, she is currently working and she spends very little. We are not the kind that will spend thousands on wedding photos/ wedding dinner. We both think is a waste of money and time.

We do however, wish to get a hdb asap, because of family reasons.

Thats right, there is no right or no wrong. At the end of the day, as long as the person is comfortable with his/her decision and that is all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.