So buy REITS better, be a landlord

CMT here I come !

Genosis

Reality of SME trying to earn a living

CMT here I come !

Ya.....really admire the management of REITs who are still able to eke out positive rental reversions in challenging 2016....:D Hope 2017 consumer sentiments will improve

MasterLeong

Reality of SME trying to earn a living

CMT here I come !

yeah... that's why I prefer to be a landlord now.. no more do business riao

POWER OF CD is the way to go

huat ah $$$$$$$$$$

Layers

MasterLeong

Anyway starting to be very doubtful
Since genosis never mentioned about owning or managing any property before
Why would the mentor entrust him to manage everything including stocks and property
Makes no sense ba

Asphodeli

hard to find good workers for sure, most of the things have to ownself do

like my one is considered retail/events, weekdays quiet but weekends most busy... where got singaporeans want to work on weekends

weekends often have to ownself do everything, cannot find manpower.. as our company too small, cannot hire FT... to be honest.. if can hire FT i sure will hire... because no choice... locals do not want to work for us

rentals previous few years kept going up until cannot tahan sia... had one store at macpherson AZ building... we use to take 1st floor, rents were around 6k+ per month... but unsustainable so we moved up to 10th floor, rentals much lower at 3.3k but the traffic slower down a lot, revenues drop big big....

this year 2016 can really feel the weak economy... thankfully the landlord was understanding and we managed to negioate rents down 10% to 3k per month... nowadays brick and motar businesses really harder and harder to do sia

speaking of contracts and black/white... even our rental contracts... all put black and white, we even defaulted before... due to cash flow issue.. in the end the landlord still believe in us, its all about trust and relationships

if follow black and white, tenant miss payment u go put chain and lock the place... seize the deposit and find new tenant... can la.. u become paper warrior and never succeed

also when dealing with supplier... sometimes give and take, not say die die I pass u cash the u pass me goods... sometimes I owe you or you owe me one... its a long term relationship between supplier and shops

most ppl reading this post will not understanding what i saying, but those who do before own business will know

cheers

wtf $6k for level 1 and its not even a prominent location...landlord really dunno what they doing :s22: luckily they got EQ at least.

MasterLeong

wtf $6k for level 1 and its not even a prominent location...

lol its already very cheap liao... AZ building is consider industrial office and not managed by reit one... LOL LOL LOL

if take shopping mall.. example at bugis.. at least 30k per month, sell 1 magic booster pack.. cost $3, sale price $4... one month sell 30,000 packs just to cover rentals.. how to do? lol lol lol

Asphodeli

lol its already very cheap liao... AZ building is consider industrial office and not managed by reit one... LOL LOL LOL

if take shopping mall.. example at bugis.. at least 30k per month, sell 1 magic booster pack.. cost $3, sale price $4... one month sell 30,000 packs just to cover rentals.. how to do? lol lol lol

hobby shop confirm cannot survive in a REIT property...would make more sense if it were at a HDB or strata shophouse...tiagong Alexandra Central got many empty strata retail shops, owners jiak $200k loss since TOP. LOL!

madtari

according to ML lv 1 is a good location. they shifted up to 10th floor then is not good location. BTW my cousin previously jointly open an eatery at East Village lv1 also, monthly rental is 10k or 12k lor... rental is really not cheap nowadays.
wtf $6k for level 1 and its not even a prominent location...landlord really dunno what they doing :s22: luckily they got EQ at least.

mazatsushi

according to ML lv 1 is a good location. they shifted up to 10th floor then is not good location. BTW my cousin previously jointly open an eatery at East Village lv1 also, monthly rental is 10k or 12k lor... rental is really not cheap nowadays.

Maybe that is why anchor tenants for REIT managed malls are always those same players.

Because no one else can afford the extortionate rents :s22:

MasterLeong

hobby shop confirm cannot survive in a REIT property...would make more sense if it were at a HDB or strata shophouse...tiagong Alexandra Central got many empty strata retail shops, owners jiak $200k loss since TOP. LOL!

wow that place so jialat ah... lose so much $$$

Asphodeli

you pay more for prime location ma, can't complain. but $6k for an industrial building next to an MRT at a busy construction junction? sorry man, max I would take is $5k, take it or leave it

MasterLeong

wah.... 10k a month how to earn sia, daily rents already $300+

even if u sell one set meal $6, earn $3... everyday your first 100 sale is just to cover rental nia... gg max sia

MasterLeong

you pay more for prime location ma, can't complain. but $6k for an industrial building next to an MRT at a busy construction junction? sorry man, max I would take is $5k, take it or leave it

if go down a bit to tai seng got cheaper ones.. but like too wu lu liao

all got pros and cons one... really damn hard to do

just be landlord sua.. collect rents hard to go wrong hahahaha

Asphodeli

wow that place so jialat ah... lose so much $$$

TBH the location is GOOD, but because STRATA, the entire mall is empty...can't find good tenants, need to fight with Anchorpoint and HDB shophouses nearby! So I think mostly niche and essential services can survive in that mall, like clinic, banks (surprised that no bank have moved in, many old people living near there, and IIRC THERE ARE NO BANK BRANCHES THERE). of course not to forget, got seedy stuff also now la like spa and massage, LOL.

Only bad thing is not accessible by MRT, but not a big problem la, it's an old estate, quite near town, and bus accessibility is high.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.